We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Provided the quaint Maine experience I was looking for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Cottage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Harbour Cottage Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbour Cottage Inn Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   9 Dirigo Rd, Southwest Harbor, ME 04679   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$60 off for 3 Night Stay
New York
1 review
“Provided the quaint Maine experience I was looking for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

Staff were friendly and informative. Loved the guests and breakfast experience. Provided excellent recommendations each day for how to maximize our plans for seeing local scenery and places to eat.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    34
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
31
109
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ct
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

The Inn is so relaxing and welcoming. I loved that the Inn was located a bit away from Bar Harbor which made the trip very peaceful and quiet but yet close enough to all the action. The room was very comfortable and the Breakfast very tasty. Thank you for a great vacation.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smyrna, tn
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

The Harbour Cottage Inn is just as pictured on the website. It is a very beautiful inn, tastefully decorated and the location is great. Our room was rather small, but we knew this on the front end, plus since the weather was great, we did not spend that much time in the room other than sleeping. Even though the inn was full when we were there, it was very quiet and we rarely heard any of the other guest. The breakfast were not only delicious but beautiful. Unlike other guest, we did not feel they were "fancy" but just something different than what we could get elsewhere. Afterall, we can have bacon and eggs at home. The staff was very polite and helpful. Don even printed our boarding passes for us for our flight even though technically we had already checked out. Our only complaint, and it really is more of a suggestion, is that the bathroom door in our room would not shut due to the wood swelling from humidity. We would suggest that maybe the door be shaved so that it would. Also, even though it did not bother us, there is no air conditioning. However I understand that this is not unusual since it is rarely needed in Maine. We would without a doubt recommend the Harbour Cottage Inn to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

We stayed in the southwestern cottage - 3 rooms - perfect for a family of 5 - ( 3 kids under 8) . The price was the best for a large family - not to feel cramped -as we often are. I was a bit apprehensive having small children at a B&B - but it was fine - although we rarely hung out at the main inn - ( our cottage had its own sitting room, kitchen, porch) - We ate breakfasts there and always saw other families with children. The only downside - was a factor of location, (not the inn itself, for which i have no complaints whatsoever )- being a good drive from bar harbor - where we did most of our eating, boat tours, and Acadia hikes.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

We would highly reccomend the Harbour Inn! This was our first trip to Maine and we found the accomodations so relaxing and the location was perfect for daily trips to the Acadia National Park . Don saw us planning our day and asked us if we needed any suggestions...after speaking with him about the activiities that we were considering he helped us make the most of our 3 days at the Inn. We were very sad to leave and we will definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

We enjoyed a pleasant, lovely stay at Harbour Cottage Inn. The rooms and common areas are very pretty, and true to what you see on the website. The house is set back from the street—there is a nice big lawn out in front. The porch is a nice place to enjoy breakfast. The house doesn’t sit on the harbor—you can glimpse a water view through the trees and lawns of the houses across the street. There is one house across the street that isn’t very well maintained and is unfortunately a bit of an eyesore but it’s still very pleasant and peaceful to sit on the porch.

The main drawbacks of the inn are the room sizes and the thin walls/floor boards. We stayed in the Dory (king bed) and the Yawl (queen bed). We could hear every footstep of the people in the rooms above us. It sounded like they were stomping around even though they probably weren’t. We could also hear people hanging out and talking in the common area at night after dinner and kept hoping they would go up to their rooms. But I’m guessing the reason why they were spending so much time in the common area is because the rooms are so small. In the Yawl, there was not enough room for 2 rolling suitcases and 2 people to walk around comfortably. The Dory was a bit better. Even though it was tight, we could at least walk around the room without bumping into each other or furniture. Both rooms had tiny little TVs which we thought unnecessarily took up valuable real estate in the small rooms. We were never tempted to turn them on and couldn’t imagine anyone would enjoy such tiny screens—better to not have them at all!

The breakfasts were good. We didn’t have a problem with the assigned seating times. We were assigned the 8am slot, which we preferred so we could start our day early. Note to people with food allergies: they don’t make special accommodations for you. But we were prepared for this as they state it up front in their communications with you when you make the reservation. It’s up to you to work around what they’re serving.

One odd thing about the inn was they did not provide conditioner. They had Gilchrist & Soames soap and shampoo but no conditioner. A cost-saving measure, perhaps?

The owners, Don and Javier, clearly care about their business but they could stand to keep a tighter eye on their ship. For example, one of the window blinds in the Yawl was too short for the window. So there was a big gap of about 10 inches between the bottom of the blinds and the bottom of the window—not very private! When we told Don about this the next morning, I believe he was genuinely surprised and embarrassed. I’m sure they changed the blinds right away but why did we have to point it out in the first place? The bed sheets in the Dory were also rather worn and in need of replacement.

The young staff from Macedonia are very pleasant and eager to please and seem to be hard-working.

Overall, this is a very nice, very pretty inn and we preferred Southwest Harbor’s less frenzied, less overtly touristy/commercial atmosphere when compared to Bar Harbor. While you’re in Southwest Harbor, be sure to go to dinner at Fiddler’s Green. The food and service were excellent! For lobster, you can walk down to Beal’s Lobster Pound, conveniently located just down the street from the inn on the harbor.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge,Mass.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

Would be delighted to recommend this inn and to return. Couldn't have been better. Thanks, Anna Wolff

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harbour Cottage Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Cottage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 9 Dirigo Rd, Southwest Harbor, ME 04679
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Southwest Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Cottage Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our premier Southwest Harbor, Maine lodging steps to Acadia National Park. Our Maine coast bed and breakfast reflects an atmosphere of sophisticated elegance and gracious service. The 11 rooms and suites at our romantic Maine inn are beautifully decorated with comfy beds, gorgeous bathrooms, and free gourmet breakfast and Wi-Fi. If you are looking for a Bar Harbor bed and breakfast, enjoy the privacy and relaxation you will find at our Mount Desert hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, T4B, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Expedia so you can book your Harbour Cottage Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Cottage Hotel Southwest Harbor
Harbour Cottage Inn Bed And Breakfast Maine/Southwest Harbor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Cottage Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.