We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southwest Harbor extraordinary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Cottage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Harbour Cottage Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Harbour Cottage Inn Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   9 Dirigo Rd, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sherman Oaks
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Southwest Harbor extraordinary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

My husband and I recently spent six wonderful nights at the Harbor Cottage Inn. The Inn is an extraordinary Victorian filled with wonderful antiques. The Innkeepers, Don and Xavier, designed the Inn with an artists eye for details. The breakfasts are a delight with a different entree daily, the beds are very comfortable and to my own particular delight, the Inn is immaculately clean. Needless to say the surrounding area is an incredible place to visit. When you are in the area put The Harbor Cottage Inn first on your list.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    36
    11
    0
    2
See reviews for
36
123
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Granville, IL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

We were most impressed. We would recommend this Inn to anyone. Great breakfasts and very friendly people. Was a beautiful place and a great location. Also they were very helpful in locating places of interest.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

What a lovely place! This is the place to go when you want a charming New England B&B but you also want spotless and modern facilities. Hot coffee was ready for us when we arrived on a cool Saturday afternoon. The owner greeted us and made dinner arrangements for us. Breakfast was excellent. We stayed in the Downeaster and the king bed was fantastic. Southwest Harbor is a short ride from Acadia and Bar Harbor but a world away from the tourists. We highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

This stay was our 6th in 3 years. Oviously, we love staying here. Having checked the web site prior to our first visit, I knew what to expect of our room and general inn decore; a cottage feel. That is calm colors, generally clean lines and limited "stuff", not busy, just charming and relaxing.
The location is good, just a tad beyond a quick walk into town, but if you walk to dinner (Red Sky, is the closest and EXCELLENT) you can justify dessert (again, Red Sky has "worth the calories" desserts even if you drive). Southwest Harbor is a charming, small village with most everything you might want.
The inn keepers are accommodating, helpful and friendly. They are the soul of this B&B and we truely enjoy our time with them. Javier's breakfasts are wonderful, especially his "stuffed" pancakes, and I don't even eat pancakes! If you are lucky enough to be there on a nice day breakfast is served on the lovely covered porch. Breakfast is served at 8:30, however, I am sure if this time is inconveniant they will work with you.
Kudos for the entire stay!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Djoel, Owner at Harbour Cottage Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 25, 2009
We are so grateful for guests who choose to return time after time. We realize we have to earn that loyalty and we strive to do that with each ane every guest. One of the great rewards of this business is the opportunity to meet great people and to make new friends. We've been at this for more than 8 years now and we are looking forward to the next 8.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Harbour Cottage Inn with our 4 year old son for a long weekend and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The room, the Captain's Nook, was perfect for us in that it was a very clean, charming and thoughtfully put-together room. It was small, but perfect for putting our heads on the pillows after days out adventuring on the island. The whole island is easily accessible for a weekend - even side roads. We loved the island's shorelines and the view from atop Cadillac Mountain... HCI had excellent gourmet breakfasts. Even though it was primarliy an adult environment, the innkeepers were friendly and accommodating toward our son, which we appreciated. If your child is a well-behaved traveler (cooperative, likes experiencing new things and has an adventurous diet), then we definitely recommend this Inn for very small families. For couples, no doubt, it is great. We'll be back someday, we hope.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, NH
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

Our weekend stay at the Harbour Cottage Inn was wonderful. The inn is beautifully decorated and very clean. Very cozy and relaxing. Our room (the Sloop) was small, but very lovely. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was large and clean. The inn was quiet and we slept great both nights! The owners are very friendly and helpful. Don helped us plan out a great day at Acadia, since we had never been there before. His restaurant recommendations were excellent as well. Breakfast was fabulous also - the quality of the food and service was outstanding! We will definitely be back to stay again!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland, ME
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

We have spent our wedding anniversary at Harbour Cottage Inn for the past four years and are looking forward to returning next year. The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable and the breakfasts are excellent. Hiking in Acadia National Park which is close by is a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour Cottage Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Cottage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 9 Dirigo Rd, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Southwest Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Cottage Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our premier Southwest Harbor, Maine lodging steps to Acadia National Park. Our Maine coast bed and breakfast reflects an atmosphere of sophisticated elegance and gracious service. The 11 rooms and suites at our romantic Maine inn are beautifully decorated with comfy beds, gorgeous bathrooms, and free gourmet breakfast and Wi-Fi. If you are looking for a Bar Harbor bed and breakfast, enjoy the privacy and relaxation you will find at our Mount Desert hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Harbour Cottage Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Cottage Hotel Southwest Harbor
Harbour Cottage Inn Bed And Breakfast Maine/Southwest Harbor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Cottage Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.