We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Cottage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Harbour Cottage Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harbour Cottage Inn Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   9 Dirigo Rd, Southwest Harbor, ME 04679   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$60 off for 3 Night Stay
maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“perfect place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2007

We loved the Harbour Cottage Inn and would definitely recommend it. We stayed at The Carriage House for 3 nights and could not have been happier-very relaxing. It was adorable, spacious and clean. The inn is located in a quiet area but just a short drive to Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor. We really enjoyed eating our breakfast on the porch but the breakfast room was beautiful as well. The food was excellent. We stayed at the perfect place.

  • Liked — atmosphere
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    34
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
31
110
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
pensacola
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2007

We first had the pleasure of staying at Harbor Cottage in 2006 and enjoyed it so much that we chose to vacation there again in 2007 and brought our parents! The staff is outstanding and the atmosphere is truly awesome. You would pay three times as much in a hotel to achieve this kind of relaxation and pampering.

Pensacola, Fl

  • Liked — value for the price
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2007

We loved our stay at the Harbour Cottage Inn and wish we could have stayed longer. The room was great, and the food delicious. Hope we can come back again as it is also a beautiful area to visit.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2007

Like the tile says, another fantastic stay!

2007 marks the third year in a row we have chosen the Harbour Cottage Inn for our fall getaway. Once again the stay was wonderful. The inn is located within walking distance of pretty much everything in Southwest Harbor, and a short drive from the other major destinations on MDI.

The inn is extremely well run and maintained, all reservations can be handled via the inn's website. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. Several have views of the harbor (see attched photo). After hours check-in is also an option if you're travel runs late into the evening.

A full breakfast is provided each morning! The menu varies from day to day, during our stays we have been treated to pancakes, baked eggs, crepes, and french toast to name a few. You can dine indoors or on the inn's covered front porch.

The first floor of the inn has a sitting area with lots of information about Southwest Harbor attractions. You can find menus for virtually every restaurant on the island. Coffee and tea are available throughout the day. The inn also has a selection of regional wine and beer available a la carte.

Overall the Harbor Cottage Inn offers a wonderful experience. Relaxed, well appointed, and very professionally run.

Chris & Kendra

Louisville, KY

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2007

Harbour Cottage Inn is of the highest quality Bed and Breakfast. We have stayed in a number of these hotels, both in Europe and the US, and would defintely stay there again. The hospitality, the breakfasts, the rooms and the atmosphere are all awesome! We told them that they ruined us for all of the other ones because they had set the standard so high! The hosts are a wealth of information about the surrounding area and are very quick to help guide and give suggestions about places to see. Our stay there was really perfect and we will be back!

Nancy Long and Becky Murray

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2007

What a great spot. We stayed here for three nights in late August and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Acadia and the surrounding area. The overall inn and our room (the Schooner) were immaculate, the breakfasts were consistently delicious and unique and the location is great. It is located just a 5-10 minute walk of "downtown" in one direction - including several excellent restaurants (Fiddler's Green was our favorite), ice cream shops and other retail stores - and the harbor itself (including Beal's lobster restaurant and a marine museum) in the other direction. Also, it is a short 10 minute drive to certain trails/parts of Acadia (including the incredible seawall and Wonderland trails) and 20 minutes from the main park. Some of the downsides of the typical B&B experience, including overbearing innkeepers and overly chatty guests, do not exist here. The proprietors were helpful without being ever-present. This is not the place for you if you're looking for a more touristy location like Bar Harbor; it's very quiet here. To us, that was perfect.

  • Liked — Beautiful, clean inn; location
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2007

Harbour Cottage Inn was a delightful "find" on the Acadia Park website. We needed a room that would accommodate 3 adults and the "Captain's Nook" was perfect. The other rooms we peeked into were equally charming. Booking on the B&B's website was quick and easy. We had almost immediate confirmation.

Harbour Cottage Inn has loads of charm and is very clean and well maintained. The hosts are helpful but not smothering. One afternoon was rainy and chilly so we just veged out. I decided to read in the lobby/living room area. The host offered me a lap blanket and turned on the fireplace - in August!! It was so cozy.

The breakfasts were wonderful - fresh fruit, muffins, coffee cake, gourmet entree, as well as cereals. Coffee and tea are available 24/7.

The beds are comfy, there is plenty hot water and the room temp can be easy regulated. The only possible drawback is a steep stairway that must be climbed to the guest rooms.

  • Liked — Charm and breakfast
  • Disliked — Steep stairs
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harbour Cottage Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Cottage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 9 Dirigo Rd, Southwest Harbor, ME 04679
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Southwest Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Cottage Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our premier Southwest Harbor, Maine lodging steps to Acadia National Park. Our Maine coast bed and breakfast reflects an atmosphere of sophisticated elegance and gracious service. The 11 rooms and suites at our romantic Maine inn are beautifully decorated with comfy beds, gorgeous bathrooms, and free gourmet breakfast and Wi-Fi. If you are looking for a Bar Harbor bed and breakfast, enjoy the privacy and relaxation you will find at our Mount Desert hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, T4B, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Harbour Cottage Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Cottage Hotel Southwest Harbor
Harbour Cottage Inn Bed And Breakfast Maine/Southwest Harbor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Cottage Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.