We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sticker Shock” 2 of 5 stars
Review of sea biscuit

sea biscuit
main st, Southwest Harbor, ME
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Description: Breakfast Only Resturant
Restaurant details
Description: Breakfast Only Resturant
Bar Harbor, Maine
1 review
“Sticker Shock”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our family of 4 dinner, including 2 kids meals was $50!! A glass of orange juice was $4. The kids got a pancake with some strawberries arranged in a smiley face and that was $7 each plus $2 each for OJ. The wife got french toast for $10 plus her $4 OJ. I got an omlette and unseasoned home fries, $12 plus $2 for coffee.
No joke, the day before we had breakfast at Denny's in Ellsworth 40 minutes away and got similar meals with twice the food and the bill was $20.
Not worth it for the food, the service was "sit where you want" and nothing special. We won't be going back, especially since we spent our breakfast budget in one sitting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    32
    17
    3
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Providence, New Jersey
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“BEST BREAKFAST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This was an absolutely AMAZING breakfast. Their homemade jam is out of this world and their breakfast combinations are very unique. My husband had eggs topped with pot roast and I had eggs with grilled veggies and black beans. Absolutely incredible. Great service, but expect a wait...this place fills up fast! Quite pricey for breakfast, but definitely worth it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Clear, AL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We love this place so much. They have the best breakfast on the island, especially the blueberry pancakes with a fried egg on top! the Strawberry Rhubarb spread they sell is wonderful. We always take the biscuits with us on our sailing cruise and without even asking the owner baked us 2 dozen biscuits which are so good we use for desert with fruit and the strawberry/rhubarb sauce on top! The oatmeal bread is the best on the island and we keep a loaf in the freezer for the trip for toast in the am. Love this place and love the fond abuse from the owner! One day soon she will add grits to her menu!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Read rave reviews so brought 3 guests for brunch. All food had disappointments. Bean Boogie was short on black beans and veggies, a pile of tortilla chips vs a tortilla. Pancakes heavy, no distinctive flavor, but the house made blueberry sauce was very good. Service average. Veggie stack had plenty of black beans with undercooked, diced veggies, though poached eggs were done just right. What are others raving about?

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Breakfast the way it should be. Like the local history pictures on the walls and tables. Nice place to start the day. Lots of locals eating there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed sea biscuit also viewed

Southwest Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Southwest Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Southwest Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Southwest Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to sea biscuit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage sea biscuit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.