We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of sea biscuit - CLOSED

sea biscuit
main st, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Description: Breakfast Only Resturant
Restaurant details
Description: Breakfast Only Resturant
MA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Delicious food and coffee. We had traditional breakfasts - one eggs and the works, the other pancakes and yogurt - fantastic! We were only the second table in there, so it felt like our own private breakfast. We found the earlier you got to a restaurant in the morning, the better - as we're early risers this worked out for us!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    17
    3
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Best Service and Ambiance For Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Had a nice breakfast here. Of all the places I tried in Southwest Harbor, Sea Biscuit had the best service -- friendly, on the spot timing and very helpful. Quite a pleasant experience. The restaurant itself was very nicely decorated -- again the best in Southwest Harbor. Each table has a unique story called "Maine Traditions" and lots of photos, a homey, comforting decor that really worked for breakfast. i started with fresh squeezed orange juice which is always a nice treat. Also got homemade oatmeal bread toast with homemade strawberry-rhubard jam. It was awesome and I was really happy to see that the jam can be purchased and taken home in jars. Ordered the lobster omelet -- it was so large and came with so many potatoes I couldn't finish (rare for me!). The omelet I would say was good but not great and nothing distinctive on the plate. Coffee was just average and could stand to be upgraded

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“"Homemade and Fresh"... Ya right.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I didn't think that it was possible to screw up breakfast but apparantly it is. We should've known better than to go an EMPTY all day breakfast place that's for sale. My husband and I ordered a sausage, egg & cheese breakfast sandwich on a croissant with a side of homefries and some coffee. The coffee was brought to our table right away and must have been made much earlier as it was very strong (tasting burnt) and cold. About 3 minutes later, our breakfast showed up. The homefries were old, very dry and microwaved. The sandwich was definitely something else... The croissant was practically dripping in butter, the sausage was the frozen store bought kind that oozed grease and fat (my dog wouldn't even eat that) and the egg was so salted that I couldn't taste it. Add cheap cheese slice and voila, a $25 breakfast at The Sea Biscuit.

Don't expect quality "homemade" food. HUGE dissapointment. Avoid this place.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Popular with many; not me”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Cheerful, bright room with lot of breakfasters on a wet morning, but the service was very slow--it took me over half an hour to get served. Coffee weak and luke warm. Looking for something not too fatty I had the breakfast sandwich with fruit. When it finally showed up it was fried in butter and accompanied by homefries, not fruit. (To be fair, they brought the fruit when asked.)

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATL
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Another great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Homemade breads and strawberry rhubarb jam were yummy. Only open 7-11 for morning meals. Worthy of a visit. Nice friendly staff.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed sea biscuit also viewed

Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage sea biscuit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.