We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aussietrip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lindenwood Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lindenwood Inn to your Saves list
Lindenwood Inn
118 Clark Point Rd., Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gold Coast
2 reviews
“Aussietrip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We had this inn recommended to us by another innkeeper in Camden who told us a must stay was at Lindenwood Inn at South West Harbor. Our intention was to stay for two days but because we enjoyed the area and the company of the proprietors Jim and Fred so much we stayed an extra night.

The rooms were very clean and bright and the hosts made us extremely welcome and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Without having to ask they gave out travel tips on what to do on the island.

We would highly recommend this place and can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Penthouse with deck overlooking harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    25
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
86
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed at the property in August. We paid about $250/nt for a relatively small room with a somewhat obstructed view of the water. This might be average for what was provided and the time of year. It seemed outrageous compared to other places I have stayed elsewhere.

Some of the previous reviewers raved about the honor bar. It is a do-it-yourself bar for prices comparable to a regular bar. I guess you might be a little more generous with the pour. If I recall correctly a glass of wine was $6 as an example.

The view was not quite what I hoped but was ok. The water is a couple hundred yards away and there are several trees blocking the view. Had somehow pictured in my mind an unobstructed view with the water nearby. Was ok but I had expected a little more.

The grounds and building seemed to be well maintained and the owners were friendly and generally helpful.

I thought the $250/night was outrageously high for what we got but this may be average for the area and peak season.

The pool table is downstairs and covered with stuff typically. Had looked forward to playing but was not that inviting. The table is a quarter table so bring quarters.

The swimming pool looked nice. We never had an opportunity to use it.

We sailed on the friendship sloop nearby and thoroughly enjoyed the trip. We also rented bikes nearby and took them to Acadia which we enjoyed as well.

Town is a few blocks walk which is nice.

While my review my sound a bit negative I suspect this property rates well compared to other options in the area and we did enjoy our visit so still giving a decent rating. I suspect my comments on the value we got for the price paid would apply to most of the properties in the area in August.

Room Tip: Read other reviews on top floor. Rooms somewhat small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
münchen
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We had a very pleasant experience at the Lindenwood. We stayed in the neighboring house with a smal gas fireplace and view to the sea - beautiful! The breakfast was very nice and you can mix your own cocktails at night at the bar! The owners are very friendly and funny! The official rates are quite high but at the discounted rate of appr. 130$ per night we had a perfect stay! And don't miss the hot tub! ;-)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

From the moment we walked through the door we were treated as though we were family. A wedding reception was being held on our arrival, but we were still walked to our cottage. Each morning there were scones and fresh fruit, but also a hot breakfast served. A perfect location in Southwest Harbor !

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

The Lindenwood Inn is one of the best B&B’s that we have stayed in. Excellent location on Clark Point Road in Southwest Harbor. We really liked the quiet costal village atmosphere of Southwest Harbor compared to touristy Bar Harbor. Our room in the Inn was very comfortable, cozy, and quiet. The breakfasts were very tasty; excellent. We did not see much or our hosts Jim and Fred except in the mornings. We had a very relaxing stay. There are a few good restaurants within walking distance of the Inn. We hope to stay at the Lindenwood Inn again at some point in the future.

Room Tip: Nearby Beal's Lobster Pier was a fun and great place for a Maine Lobster dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kama'aina Wannabe in New England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Have you ever gone to a restaurant the second time after having a fabulous meal the first time and it was not nearly as good? This was not the case with our recent stay at the Lindenwood. We enjoyed it even more than last year. The breakfasts were great and varied-we stayed for 3 nights and the first morning we had blueberry pancakes, the next morning was a spinach, cheese and scallion omelet, and the third yummy french toast.
The Lindenwood is flowery with REAL flowers all over the inn and grounds, but is not flowery in it's decor, which we like. It is decorated in a funky and eclectic way. Other amenities that set the Lindenwood apart from other inns in the area are the lovely pool and jacuzzi area and the inn's location-it is located off the main road Rte. 102 and on Clark Point Road which juts out toward the harbor.
The innkeeper is not always on premises, but is always available with a quick phone call-we like this laid back style-its nice to just grab your room key off the front desk and let yourself in to your room without any paperwork, etc. after a long drive.
The only suggestions I would offer to make stays more comfortable would be to provide softer toilet paper in the rooms and have coffee available in the afternoons, perhaps with a Keurig single cup coffee maker, and a late afternoon snack (chocolate chip cookies would be good :-), which would be appreciated after a long day hiking and biking in the Park.
We had a small issue with our bill upon checkout and Jim and Fred took care of it graciously and quickly. We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nh
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We just recently tried the Inn and we very pleased. Very comfortable and inn keepers most gracious. The breakfasts were delectable. We loved the location. We are already planning to return next fall.

A& M S.

Room Tip: Would recommend #5,6,and 7. Look out onto harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lindenwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindenwood Inn

Address: 118 Clark Point Rd., Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Southwest Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former Sea Captain's Home turned into a unique harbor side Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lindenwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindenwood Hotel Southwest Harbor
Lindenwood Inn Maine/Southwest Harbor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lindenwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.