We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Milagro Coffee & Espresso

Milagro Coffee & Espresso
204 Main Street, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679
207-244-7344
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Orange, California
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Terrific spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Wonderful coffee & latte in a cute building with a whole lot of whimsy...Clean restroom and friendly staff. Baked goods looked amazing though I didn't have a chance to try them.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    8
    1
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Must Stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

My husband and i always look forward to our stop at Milagro!! Best cup of coffee on the island! The bagel sandwhich is awesome and the burrito is my husbands fave. Love this place

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Lakes, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“not good for breakfast...just coffee”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Good coffee, but not a place for food. We went here hoping for a quick breakfast and coffee on our way to our activities for the day. My expectations were to be able to get a cinammon roll, muffins, bagels and other baked goods for a quick light breakfast. The place is small with limited choices on the baked goods. They were out of cinammon rolls, so our sons opted for a blueberry muffin (we were in Maine after all), but the muffin was dry and you couldn't taste the blueberries. I also tried a scone and biscotti, both not that good. My husband wanted something heartier so ordered the egg/sausage breakfast burrito they had listed on the menu. It was pretty bad...very small, hardly any egg or sausage, mostly potatoes, smothered with what tasted like jarred "pace picante" salsa and too much sour cream. Coffee and cappuccino were both good though if you are just looking for some coffee.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilagrosSWH, Owner at Milagro Coffee & Espresso, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
This traveler is missing the whole point of the appeal of Mt. Desert Island. Here on MDI we pride ourselves on all of the small independently ran business. No McDonalds, no Burger King, no Walmart, etc. The facts are we have 18 seats inside our shop and several seating options outside. We would have to say this is an average size for a coffee shop (or even a bit bigger). In regards to baked goods, in August we offered 5 varieties of muffins, 5 varieties of bagels, 3 varieties of scones, 3 varieties of gluten free baked goods, granola, at least 6 varieties of sweet treats and even dog biscuits. All of this baked fresh daily in a kitchen that is roughly 5x5…pretty incredible…no? Considering Southwest Harbor has a year-round population of around 1,700 people we feel this is a pretty extensive menu.

Fact…our blueberry muffins (made with low fat yogurt) are loaded with Maine blueberries. So much so that they often “fall” after baking because they are too moist. Now, if this traveler selected our gluten free blueberry muffin then the texture would have been more like a crumb cake (yet still loaded with Maine blueberries).

Fact… our breakfast burrito is made on a 12” tortilla. In the burrito mixture you will find two scrambled eggs. It is a vegetarian burrito (keeping things healthy) and meat is optional for those who desire it. If you opt for sausage then a 1.5oz pork sausage patty is added to the burrito. According to the ADA our burrito is actually two portions. We are not sure how many more portions this traveler would require to call our burrito “regular size”.

For future travelers, we strive to provide the freshest baked goods using as little salt and sugar as possible. We also try to use local fruits and when possible organic products in our baking. If you are used to a high sugar, salt and/ or fat diet than our food might not be your cup of tea (or coffee)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Sailor's dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We always look forward to Getting off the water to good coffee and this great bakery. We've been doing it for many years and wouldn't miss it. Great place to stock up on treats and breads to take back on board.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Harbor, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great cup of joe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Great place to hang and figure out your day! Great food & coffee at a very reasonable price! It sits on the edge of town so you can't miss it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milagro Coffee & Espresso also viewed

Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Milagro Coffee & Espresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milagro Coffee & Espresso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.