We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Breakfast at Grumpy's

Breakfast at Grumpy's
11 Apple Ln, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-4424
207-244-1082
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Always great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We had another breakfast here and it was great as always. I had eggs Benedict and they were excellent, the ham different and tasty and the English muffin just right. We've never had a problem here over the years.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    30
    10
    9
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“To Be Avoided”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The location on the harbor drew us into the restaurant for breakfast -- that was the only good part of the experience. The service was impossibly slow -- I don't think it was the waitstaff as I heard one of them saying there was only one cook and a small grill. The food was mediocre. My husband's hash was burned and he said it was not good. Everything was "extra", including his toast, so the hash with toast and coffee was nearly $20.00. I had french toast - two pieces were served -- at $8.50, this was $4.25 for each piece of bread!

The breakfast meals we had in Bar Harbor, where we were staying, were outstanding and we were put mift with ourselves for driving so far to have such a bad meal. We would never, ever go to this place again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bass Harbor, Maine
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Enjoy a pleasent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

A great little hidden away restaurant serving breakfast and lunch. All meals are prepared per order by the owner/chef not coming out of a steam table so sometimes the order might take a little longer but definitely worth it. My wife loved the Eggs Benedict so re-ordered them the next time we returned and found them just as delicious. Be careful in ordering the pancakes, they come dinner plate size. Oh, by the way the restaurant has an amazing view of the harbor.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Grumpy's--A New Favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I'm a frequent traveler to Acadia National Park and usually stay at the Seawall Campground. SO GLAD I found this breakfast place. Great location; nice scenery and view from the picnic tables near the dock. Breakfast was fast, filling, hot and pretty yummy. (One suggestion--how about providing real maple syrup for your homemade pancakes?) Our waitress was an incredibly friendly and efficient soul--nothing Grumpy about her! I hope to happily return every year.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“It's called Grumpy's for a reason...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We finally wrote this place off for good this year after trying to be patient with them for years now. The only thing they've got going for them is location. Sometimes the food isn't bad, but the service is almost always terrible. Seeing the kitchen staff outside smoking cigarettes and ranting was the final straw for us. Bye bye, Grumpy's!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Breakfast at Grumpy's also viewed

Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Breakfast at Grumpy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breakfast at Grumpy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.