We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great as a bakery” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Little Notch Cafe

Little Notch Cafe
340 Main Street, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679
(207) 244-3357
Improve this listing
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Bass Harbor, Maine
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great as a bakery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Little Notch bakes a great variety of breads every morning. This is our choice for bread. There is one downside to this bakery, however. The breads are placed on a rack in the store window and the customer is supposed to use a deli wrap to pick up the bread. However I often see customers rifling through the bread with bare hands, yuck. The food and coffee are very good but slow. No table service, pick up at the counter.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    37
    10
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adirondack Mountains, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Hearty Sandwiches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Healthy, hearty unusual sandwiches and home-made soups make this a great place for a quick meal with a convenient location on Southwest harbor's main street. The toasted broccoli sandwich was a treat.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingswood, New Jersey
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Grab a yummy snack and some coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Got some Bolivian coffee for the car ride before a hike and it was delicious. Muffins, bear claws, and Maine's traditional whoopie pies tempted. Seating in the back, friendly service, and a world map display where you can add a pin indicating where you're from.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Terribly disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We called at 2:35 on Sunday afternoon to place our order (totaled $85) the staff gave us a hard time, stated that they closed at 3, hmmmmm. We are locals, not very impressed. One of the items we ordered was a pizza that we have had quite often in the past few years, their #1 chicken, peppers, ricotta, etc. It was absolutely terrible, very little chicken, no peppers, sauce was skimpy at best. Arthur, what is going on?

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best accidental find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We went in to the Little Notch Bakery as it was recommended to us for their good bread. We did purchase a loaf of the raisin walnut bread... then the scones and then their oatmeal cookies (raisin, apple cranberry, and chocolate chip)... We ended up staying and having a pizza and Caesar salad. It was simply delicious! The pizza crust is so fresh, light and thin -- our preference. And, the cookies did not make it to the next day! The scones reminded us of the scones we had in Ireland -- they were delicious. We are planning to go back so we can take some things home (if they make it that far!)! Definitely recommend a visit to this spot.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Notch Cafe also viewed

Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Little Notch Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Notch Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.