We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Kayak trip although better routes in MDI” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maine State Sea Kayak

Maine State Sea Kayak
254 Main Street, PO Box 97, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679
207 244-9500
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ecological Kayak Trips on the remote "Westside" of Acadia...Half-day (4 hour) morning, afternoon and sunset tours...Professional Guides provide all equipment, instruction and van transportation... Recommended by National Geographic Adventure and Travel & Leisure Magazines... Locally owned/operated since 2000...Open late May-September... Beginners Welcome...
New Jersey
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Fun Kayak trip although better routes in MDI”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Pros
1. great guide, very informative University professor on his summer job. could have been Mike Rowe's brother (dirty job)
2. Family saw alot of seals - more than i could count, quite entertaining
3. Kayaked right under a large Bald eagle and watched it take off after giving us the evil eye - really thrilling
Cons
1. Spent a third of the trip time in the company office and the back and forth van ride and kayak setup in the water. Had more kayak time with other vendors on mdi who meet you at the water and you take off
2. We took route that passed by Rockafeller private island but overall route and landscape were pretty boring. Much better experience kayaking around the porcupine islands launching from sand bar to bar island

Overall it was fun, not great

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rindge, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Sea-Kayak Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Our Sea Kayak tour on Sept 12 was great. Our guide Fletch was fantastic, very friendly and knowledgeable about any aspect of Arcadia National Park and Mt Desert Island. We were lucky enough to have perfect weather and to see bald eagles, osprey, and seals. My wife who was somewhat reluctant to go sea kayaking even though we have our own kayaks and have kayaked many times, had a great time and also thought Fletch was a wonderful guide. After reviewing many other sea kayak guide services in the area
I am so glad that I decided to go with Maine State Sea Kayak, and would highly recommend them to anyone looking for outdoor adventure on Mt Desert Island.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Simply outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We couldn't have asked for a better outing - our guide Joel and all the staff were fantastic, the equipment was excellent, this was a top-notch operation from start to finish. (We didn't even have to haul our own boats up from the beach, what a luxury!) The level was just right - not overly strenuous so that you're struggling to keep up, but enough that you're not bored waiting around for everyone to catch up. The scenery was gorgeous but best of all was the amazing wildlife - cormorants, a glimpse of a harbor porpoise, a bald eagle high in a tree, and then all of a sudden literally dozens of seals popping up all around our boat, almost close enough to touch! And yes, we carefully stayed out of their cove well out of their way. They came out to us of their own free will, it was truly one of the most incredible experiences of my life!

I wasn't sure how well a group paddle would work for us but Maine State met and exceeded our expectations at every turn. I couldn't recommend them more!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky River Ohio
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Terrific kayaking experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

A wonderful way to spend the afternoon - lot's a sea and birdlife. Great to paddle one way - quiet and peaceful on the day we went.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful Kayak experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Went on the 4 hour Kayak tour. Our guide was Fletcher who had an amazing knowledge of the history of Acadia. He delighted us all with his many facts about the history and development of the island. He served as an excellent guide, having patience with the various skill level in the group. We saw a bald eagle, osprey, and many seals. One of the best kayaking experiences we have had!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maine State Sea Kayak also viewed

Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Maine State Sea Kayak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maine State Sea Kayak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.