We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pier One Vacation Rentals

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southwest Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pier One Vacation Rentals
Save
You added Pier One Vacation Rentals to your Saves list
164 Clark Point Rd, PO Box 258, Southwest Harbor, ME 04679   |  
Hotel amenities
Austin, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Home Away from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Two friends and I spent two glorious weeks at Topside Cottage during the last week of August and first week of September. We are so grateful to have found such a lovely, comfortable home away from home. The owners, Don and Xavier, have created a magical place with their eye for detail. The walls of the cottage are covered with original art work, with selected pieces of antique furniture also adding to the ambience. The rooms are sun-filled with large windows framing beautiful views of Southwest Harbor. We spent hours in front of them and on the lovely shaded deck just watching the glories of the harbor unfold in front of us. We could see sailboats gliding by at all hours, the ferry coming and going to Cranberry Island, and the lobster fishermen leaving and returning from their daily trips. We couldn't stop taking picture after picture. On two cool, rainy days, the enveloping coziness of the cottage, the gas stove, the views out the windows, and cups of hot chocolate provided rest and relaxation, and we didn't even mind not being able to sightsee or hike in Acadia National Park for those two days.

While you are here, take advantage of Don's extensive knowledge of island activities. He suggested a nature cruise that we loved, conducted by a lobsterman with a passion for showing others the beauties, history, and wildlife of Bass Harbor.

Topside Cottage is a few steps away from Beal's Lobster Pound, a 10-15 minute walk down Clark Point Road to the shops and the restaurants of Southwest Harbor, and a 3-4 minute walk to the historic Claremont Hotel. Be sure to have a meal at the Red Sky Restaurant and check out the picturesque library downtown. All the villages of Mount Desert Island and all the attractions of Acadia National Park are just minutes away. Southwest Harbor is part of what is called the Quiet Side of the island, and after spending a day in Bar Harbor, we reminded ourselves how lucky we were to have found such a calm, nurturing, beautiful cottage in Southwest Harbor as our home base.

Thank you, Don and Xavier, for your warm hospitality and for sharing your love of this beautiful part of Maine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed in our favorite unit, the Topsider. The view of the harbor is superb. With lobster boats coming and going there is always something to see. Be sure to bring your binoculars. The deck is nestled among evergreen boughs, perfect for the added touch of privacy. Comfy furniture whispers Nap Attack at the end of a perfect sail or exploring the trails of Acadia. Some nights were chilly enough to light up the gas-fired stove, allowing for an extra glass of wine and late conversation. The kitchen is fully appointed, and the dining table ample for seating six. Windows open sleeping is a treat with the sounds of seabirds, breezes catching the trees outside. Southwest Harbor is called The Quiet Side of Mt Desert Island. For us, Pier One is the quiet side of the Quiet Side.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Meadow, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We recently spent a terrific week at this cozy cottage. It was wonderful to wake up and have coffee out on the deck, watching the working harbor in motion. The cottage is fully equipped with whatever you need. We enjoyed watching the lobstermen begin their day and the sound of the sea birds swooping down. The sunsets were wonderful and we even saw a full rainbow during our stay. The location in Southwest Harbor is excellent. This area is known as the quiet side of the island and that name is well deserved. The town is quaint and close to Acadia and Bar Harbor. We enjoyed fishing at the public dock and on the charter boat the Vagabond. We caught enough fish for two dinners and as a bonus the captain gave us five lobsters to bring home. Don and Javier were wonderful and charming hosts. When we requested a lobster pot to cook them in they immediately accommodated us. I would highly recommend staying at Pier One to anyone interested in enjoying a relaxing and private atmosphere in downeast Maine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Island, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My sister and I spent 4 nights at the Quata-Deck, and we couldn't have asked for more perfect accommodation! It's right on the water, and felt so secluded and special - - a lovely base from which to explore the rest of MDI. And, it was a great place to come 'home' to after a days' worth of exploring. The Quata-Deck was cozy, tidy, and well-equipped. We got a lot of use out of the gas fire place, as the weather was rainy and cool for the majority of our stay. For anyone looking for a tranquil, self-catering, Acadia/MDI vacation, I would definitely recommend staying at Pier 1. Southwest Harbor itself is a wonderful village full of history, lovely old inns and houses, and great shops and restaurants. We will definitely come back to Pier 1. Our thanks to Don and Javier for being such gracious hosts!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesville, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We spent a week at the Topside at Pier 1 rentals. It was fantastic. There were three of us, my husband, me, and my sister. Two bedrooms which was perfect. Our apartment was decorated so nicely...We had a kitchen and dining area and a living area with sliding doors going out on the beautiful deck. The seabreeze was fantastic and it was great getting up in the morning watching the boats and drinking coffee on the deck. Don an Javier were awesome, even gave us some lettuce for our sandwiches and salad. Such gracious hosts!! Hopefully, we will get to come back to Maine next year and this is where I want to stay. Thank you both for making our trip so nice!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Stayed in Fuk Sol unit for a week in late May,2012. Wonderful location, unit right on the water. Kitchen exceptionally well equiped. Easy walk in to town to some great resturants
Hosts Don and Javier were very gracious and anxious to meet every need.

Would come back again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stayed here a week in early July. Brought our boat up as well and docked it at Great Harbor Marina (they are awesome folks too!). Our unit, the Quata-Deck, was very well equipped and we even put some things we brought (like a mini-Cuisinart) back in the truck. Had a little glitch with an expansion of the deck of the unit above us while we where there but the owner Dan handled it very well. The view, the location, and the great ambience of the unit were just great. Walking distance to downtown for those so inclined. Dined at Red Sky and it was over the top. If you are a foodie you need to go to Fiore downtown Bar Harbor for the most incredible oils and vinegars (sounds weird, but just go!)

It is self-catering so don't expect room service or maid service (which we are perfectly happy with).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pier One Vacation Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier One Vacation Rentals

Address: 164 Clark Point Rd, PO Box 258, Southwest Harbor, ME 04679
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Southwest Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than a mile from Acadia National, Park Pier One combines the finest of Maine waterfront lodging with the beauty of a real working harbor location. Manicured grounds and private sundecks on a sheltered cove offer a unique Maine coastal setting. Come and enjoy the breathtaking views of Southwest Harbor from your beautifully appointed suite complete with kitchens or from our private 150-foot pier. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pier One Vacation Rentals Maine/Southwest Harbor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pier One Vacation Rentals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.