We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Inn and Lake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Mountain Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Waterford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bear Mountain Inn
364 Waterford Rd, South Waterford, ME 04081   |  
Hotel amenities
Woodmere, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Lovely Inn and Lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

A wondeful place. Jim is a great host. Our room (The Fuzzy Bear Room) was lovely, clean, a/c,
nice tv with nice amenities. It's on a lovely lake with kayaks, also good for swimming. By far the nicest place in that part of Miane. Enjoy.

A & D

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    19
    0
    3
    4
See reviews for
39
118
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sabattus, Maine, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I stumbled across Bear Mountain Inn on the internet during my research for the perfect getaway weekend. After an exhausting search I decided that Bear Mountain Inn was my choice. Me and my Fiance just got back from Bear Mountain Inn today and it was everything we expected and more. The amenities are numerous and the area is breath taking. Being a Maine resident myself I am familiar with many parts of Maine and I am in love with its natural beauty and small town charm. The owner (Jim) was AMAZING and so was his staff of about 3-4. They were all very friendly and wanted to ensure that our stay there was very pleasant and relaxing, and it was! Upon arrival, the Inn was very quaint and well maintained. It had an old country feel to it and looked like the perfect place for relaxing even before stepping out of the vehicle. Once we decided to walk into the Inn we were immediately introduced to Jim and he gave us a tour of his property as well as recommendations for other activities and dining in the area. The property has a beautiful deck sitting on top of a hill that over looks Bear Pond that was amazing to say the least. The pond was beautiful and very quite which made canoeing and kayaking very pleasant and almost dream like. My and my Fiance stayed in the Brown Bear room which was very cozy and exactly what we were hoping it would be. Breakfast in the morning was amazing and served exactly on time and it was nice to see so many happy smiling faces gathered in the breakfast/dining room enjoying there wonderful breakfast and stay at the Inn. The 3 day stay went by much too quick and the weekend getaway was over before we knew it but we left feeling very refreshed and humbled by our short stay with Bear Mountain Inn. I recommend Bear Mountain Inn for anyone who is looking for the perfect getaway from the city where you can sit and enjoy a cup of coffee on a beautiful farmers porch or in some nice Adirondack chairs sitting around the property, and even enjoy some s'mores at night by the beautiful fire! Thank you Jim and staff for the wonderful experience and we plan to stay again in the future!

Room Tip: Every room is beautiful but some rooms have attached bathrooms and tv's while other do not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albion, Maine, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

The accomadations were very comfortable, clean and very tasteful. The complimentary breakfast both days we were there, was super delicious, with great service in a relaxed setting. The trails and the grounds were well laid out and maintained. The staff was very helpful in directing us to places in the surrounding area to visit or to dine out. I would reccomend this to anyone who needs a peaceful place to relax that is also near hiking trails, lakes and the White mnts for scenic drives.

Room Tip: The website shows each and every room and describes what each one offers. Rooms in the front have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

On the shores of Bear Pond, this cozy lakeside inn delivers in every way. Bear Pond is the perfect setting for this jewel of an inn. The ametities are numerous. On site nature trails, private beach, canoes, kayaks, outdoor fireplace and wide open fields are just a few of the activities that can be enjoyed by all all guests. It was our first real relaxing vacation in years. Try chilling in a chair under the huge maples out front. We stayed in the Sugar Bear Cottage overlooking Bear Pond. This converted sugar shack served as a cozy home for my wife and our young lab pup. Rustic pine planks, fireplace and full kitchen made this space feel like home. Jim and his staff were ideal hosts. Jim was very friendly and warm. We were made to feel like family. Each morning Jim created a tasty country breakfast. What a way to start the day. We shall return to this country retreat in the fall. Do you need to "re-charge" head for the Bear Mountain Inn!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowdoin Center, Maine, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

My husband Nate and I stayed at Bear Mountain Inn the weekend of June 8th, 2012 for our private wedding ceremony with close family. We had our wedding on the deck overlooking beautiful Bear Pond on Friday afternoon as thunder sounded in the background and it was gorgeous! Nate and I stayed in the Sugar Bear Cottage for two nights and it met all of our expectations! There is definitely an attention to detail at Bear Mountain Inn that made it feel like home, from popcorn and cookies in our room to snack on and hot cocoa, tea and coffee amenities with all the condiments to a wonderful clawfoot tub complete with bath grains and bubble bath. There is a diary in the cottage to record your thoughts as well as read those of past visitors that I found charming, there are books to read and even bug spray provided for outdoor activities, all right in your room. It was a very sweet place to stay and we were very comfortable! The property is stunning and roomy, and we had the luck of being the only guests there that weekend (along with our relatives)! Jim was attentive and fulfilled all of our requests, breakfast was yummy and he even set up the function room with television, wine glasses and ice bucket for us to hang out together one evening. We felt completely comfortable and are already planning return trips! Would love to go in the winter time and use the beautiful fireplace in the Sugar Bear Cottage! I hope that Jim always keeps up the high standards, cleanliness and attention to the little things as this truly makes all the difference.

The rooms are pricey, especially the cottage, but the peacefulness of the Inn and friendliness of staff really is wonderful. Only thing that bummed me out was the wifi signal didn't reach all the way to the cottage so we had no internet access and our cable was not working either - lucky for us we were newlyweds and were not particularly interested in these amenities anyhow! But if I was to return I would like to be able to access internet from the cottage, as well as use the television.

All in all though, it was a great escape and incredible weekend, and I would HIGHLY recommend this Inn!

Room Tip: If you want comfy cozy romance, book the Sugar Bear Cottage!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

My wife and I arrived and were greeted by one of Jim's Staff, and briefly greeted by Jim. We were quickly shown around, asked if we wanted a recommendation for a restaurant for dinner. There are no Locks for the doors from the outside, no staff to make the bed daily or to clean the room/bathroom, no safe in the room. The breakfast was not very welcoming as it was from 8:30-9:30 and someone was standing at the table at 9:30 sharp to take the plates even while you were still eating. Jim never greeted you at breakfast, and he nevre introduced the customers to each other, nor did he make any attempt to get to know any of his guests. Upon departure, he nevr asked if we enjoyed our stay, nor was he present. There is an envelope in the room for tips for service but no service was rendered in the room. Too bad, This could have been a beautiful place to stay!!

Room Tip: When offering games to play, there should be a table area to play them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I had driven past the Bear Mountain Inn many times and wanted to stay there because of the beautiful setting. The Inn is a lovely white farmhouse style building, set on the top of a hill overlooking a small lake, surrounded by tree covered hills. I had checked their web site for availability for one of our get away weekends and found their rates to be very high, so when I found a Groupon for a discount rate, I jumped at the chance. We stayed in the Bear Paw room, which has a nice, large jacuzzi tub and a tile "shower for two", which was a good size, but nothing special. The queen bed is in a separate room of fair size with a small deck outside the sliding doors. Other than the deck, there is no seating in the room, besides the bed. The deck is just a floor with a table and chairs with no privacy and completely open to the weather, so we were unable to use it that weekend. Though the room was very nice and comfortable, we were mystified by the "Southwestern" theme, which consisted of a couple of pictures on the walls. When you are surrounded by the beauty of Maine, why go with a southwestern theme? Our advice is to celebrate the nature of Maine in the rooms! This room is in a building behind the main inn, entered through a function room that they use for weddings. There were two doors to go through - one that gave access to the bathroom with a toilet and sink, and the second that gave access to the tub/shower room that leads to the bedroom. The innkeeper neglected to tell us that the key to the room only opens the second door so, when going out for the day, we locked the first door we locked ourselves out of the room. The innkeeper did not have a key to that door and I had to "break" into the room through another door that leads from the bedroom (with the innkeeper's help). An annoyance that could have been avoided with some information. Though the function room was not in use when we stayed there, the outdoor spa tub is right out side of that room and guests could access that room for towels and, techically to also use the bathroom, so I wasn't too comfortable with that.
All in all, the setting is beautiful, the rooms are nice, the amenities (lake, fireplace, etc) would be great in the nice weather, but even in the off season, the rates are higher than many places we have stayed that are just as nice. The breakfasts were good, not great. We had French Toast the first morning, then the innkeeper realized that he had a request for French Toast for the next day so we were served scrambled eggs which were edible, but nothing special. We stay at Bed and Breakfast inns almost exclusively and there are many beautiful inns serving sumptuous breakfasts at much better rates. Because of the season and weather, we were not able to use the ourdoor fireplace or lake amenities, which is certainly no fault of the inn, but off season rates should reflect this reduced potential.
We recommend this place if you are going in the summer months when you can take full advantage of its offerings, but in the off season, it's not really worth the high rates.

Room Tip: The Bear Paw room was nice, but if you are at all uncomfortable about the access to the bathroom, do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bear Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Mountain Inn

Address: 364 Waterford Rd, South Waterford, ME 04081
Location: United States > Maine > South Waterford
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in South Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Bear Mountain Inn, a spectacular four-season lakefront bed and breakfast resort. The historic homestead, surrounded by sprawling lawns and forest, overlooks a private sandy beach w canoes, kayaks, fishing poles), and a large deck with fieldstone fireplace providing splendid vistas of Bear Lake.The Inn has eleven beautifully decorated rooms including two-bedroom suites, and large luxurious suites with in-room Jacuzzi & fireplace. For those desiring greater privacy, the inn offers two options: a two-story executive post & beam home, which provides ample space and privacy for families or groups, or our dog-friendly, quaint Sugar Bear cottage, both with extraordinary views of Bear Lake and the surrounding mountains. Outdoor 5 person hot tub (great for stargazing and relaxing) and fieldstone fireplace for evening fires. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bear Mountain Hotel South Waterford
Bear Mountain Inn Maine/South Waterford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bear Mountain Inn to your Saves list