We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge South Portland

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge South Portland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge South Portland
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   80 John Roberts Rd., South Portland, ME 04106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in South Portland
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not too bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

There was a weird guy keeping yelling to everyone downstairs of our first room, we talked with front desk, they let us change the rooms to other side of the lodge. The room was not too bad, but had a smell of smoke. 2 points for rooms, 1 point for the friendly staff.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    20
    24
    12
    26
See reviews for
24
24
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The hotel was definitely not sketchy in the "someone will steal my stuff" way. The hotel room was clean (the mattresses looked new), but everything looked like maintenance stopped in 1989. The behind the front desk was missing moulding, the light over our sink had a short, one chair had a tear in it, and the other chair broke when an average sized person sat in it. The location is excellent. Almost anything you want is within 10 minutes of the hotel. The staff was very polite and professional. The property was generally very tidy. For the price it was worked well (we had a special coupon), but full price would be way too much.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackstone
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We were headed to the northern part of Maine on vacation and stopped in South Portlamd overnight. It was adequate for one night. The room was clean. The front office was Spartan and the continental breakfast was skimpy. It was value priced so we didn't have unrealistic expectations.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Our flight left somewhat early so we decided to stay near the Portland airport instead of downtown. only vacancy we could find near airport was this econo lodge. the rate was $160 so we assumed it was a somewhat upscale Econo Lodge. well you know what assume stands for. this motel had dirty, small room, thin sheets and towels. the front door had a 3/4" gap underneath it. it was just a run of the mill Econo Lodge or worse. the customers that gave this place a favorable rate must have had a different room than we had.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I took a last-minute weekend trip to Portland, Maine, mid-August. We needed a dog-friendly room, not difficult to find in the area, but waiting until the day of our start definitely limited our options. Calling around and checking online, we found the Econolodge in South Portland To have the only available room. The motel is located just across the street from a mall, so it's fairly quiet at night. The room was cooled and smelled fresh, nothing too dirty or off-putting. The worst aspect of the stay was the price -- over $200 (after the $10 pet fee, taxes, etc.) -- but we shouldn't have waited until the last minute. I'm sure there are better hotels in the area for around the same price with a little planning... Overall satisfied with the stay (but upset with ourselves). :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our stay for four nights was the worst hotel experience we've had over our many years of traveling with our children, or otherwise. Within minutes of checking in at 3:00 pm we found a box of garbage just outside our room door, clearly a leftover from housekeeping duties for the day. We reported it right away and were told it would be taken care of immediately, however, when we could still see the garbage through our room window still sitting there two hours later, we decided to dispose of it ourselves. A few hours later my 9 year old child who was looking for a pen to draw with opened the bedside table drawer and discovered a used opened leftover condom wrapper inside. We reported it right away yet found the young man at the front desk to be less than surprised and only slightly apologetic. He promised a manager would be in touch by telephone soon. We did not receive a call until the next day by a man who left a message but did not identify himself as a manager. We returned the call only to have to ask the man's name and title, as again he did not identify himself. The man was very difficult to understand due to a heavy accent, and eventually, when pressed, communicated he is the "Asst. General Manager" and his name is "Tavan Paimi." When we communicated to him that we've had great disappointment so far in his hotel, with the garbage outside our door, condom in our bedside table drawer, 2 broken lamps in our room, and a broken telephone that was essentially unusable, therefore forcing us to use our cell phone to place all calls, even to the front desk...etc., etc., HIS ONLY REPLY was "sorry." It was evident he was prepared to hang up and make no offer whatsoever to make our stay more comfortable, however, just before he hung up our call, we asked him "are you sure this is ALL you have to say?" A single "sorry" does not FIX our discomfort, however, it was clearly evident this man wanted to get off very, very easy. When we pressed him again on whether there was anything he would like to offer us he begrudgingly offered a $50.00 discount off the final bill. We did not ask for a discount. We were NOT looking for a discount, only a human being that truly cared about being in the hospitality business. NO ONE at this hotel understands the hospitality business. If you cannot at the very least keep your rooms clean and in good working order, something is very wrong. Needless to say, our four nights felt dirty and creepy - it would be difficult not to feel this way when you can 'see' and 'feel' the dirt everywhere. After our first night there, we desperately tried to find another hotel to book, but found it a fruitless task to the high season in Portland, Maine and the Lobster Festival in full swing. This hotel is NOT a good place for anyone, especially families with children. Stay away. The claim this hotel company makes: "We promise you'll always enjoy an inviting room and friendly staff that will go above and beyond your expectations" is deceit at its very finest. If you're curious, our final bill for 4 nights @129.00 per night plus taxes: $553.00. This is still quite a good amount of money to spend on a hotel room, and especially for a so-called budget hotel, wouldn't you agree? Don't be fooled by the so-called low rate of $129.00 and ALL of the false promises that come along with it, unless you don't mind paying your hard-earned money to feel dirty.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caribou, Maine
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had to be in the area for a overnight stay. This place is horrible. The sheets were soiled , we took them down to the desk to have more sheets handed to us. They need to update there mattress pads as one corner didn't have a anchor on it and the other three the elastic were stretched out to it didn't fit and sheets they gave us, the bottom fitted didn't fit. They need some new linens. Went to breakfast the next morning and there are 4 tine tables. The breakfast is in a little entrance to the motel. People were standing waiting for tables. There was no fans or air conditioning for air to circulate. Wanted to have a chat with the manager 8:30 AM and was told he wouldn't be there until noon. This is a place to stay away from.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge South Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge South Portland

Address: 80 John Roberts Rd., South Portland, ME 04106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge South Portland 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Econo Lodge South Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge South Portland Hotel South Portland
Econolodge South Portland
South Portland Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge South Portland Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge South Portland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.