We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its not a drive by” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge South Portland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge South Portland to your Saves list
Econo Lodge South Portland
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   80 John Roberts Rd., South Portland, ME 04106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in South Portland
Plymouth, Minnesota
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Its not a drive by”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We were on a 8 day vacation and decided to 'wing' the last couple of nights without reservations because we were not exactly sure where we wanted to go. The Econo Lodge was convenient and cheap so we made last minute reservations. Driving up, it looked pretty bleak--los of pealing paint and junk in the parking lot.

But room was fine-clean and comfortable.

Get there early for the 'continental breakfast' it goes fast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    21
    29
    13
    31
See reviews for
24
30
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chilhowie, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a couple nights on business, and I was nervous about an Econo Lodge, but upon entering my room I was surprised. The room was better than I expected. It was pretty clean and comfortable. Bathroom was a little small. Biggest complaint was with the bed...it was older and I could feel the springs.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Upon arrival and seeing the reception area, I was quite leery of this hotel. Though the receptionist was friendly and helpful, the appearance of the lobby was off putting. I was taken by surprise when we entered our room. Nowadays many establishments are chintzy with the pillows and towels, so imagine my surprise that here was an Econo Lodge with FOUR PILLOWS on the bed! And big, fluffy pillows at that!! This may sound trivial, but for me a good night's sleep is directly related to lots of comfortable pillows!! I highly recommend this place for a comfortable yet cheap place to crash.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

As the hotel's name suggests, the Econo Lodge is one of the more value oriented hotels in the Portland area. We stayed here for 3 nights earlier this month; it was our second stay at this hotel in the past 15 months. Both experiences were pretty decent. The room was clean, well maintained, and stocked with fresh linens and toiletries each day. The bed was comfortable enough for sleeping. There were no disruptive guests or incedents to interfere with a good night's sleep

The front staff was pleasant and efficient. The wi-fi worked well enough. The complimentary breakfast was good, but each morning it lacked fresh fruit. I imagine that is what they do at this hotel, but I did suggest to Choice Hotels that this Econo Lodge should make that breakfast offering, as well as extend the breakfast hours beyond 9am - especially on week-end mornings.

Another consideration is the "ancient" TV in our room. It is an older tube model (as opposed to a contemporary flat screen). I was a little surprised to see that, thinking this hotel must be the last hotel in the country to have a tube TV. Not that watching TV in a hotel room is my priority; I just found it an oddity.

When we travel to Portland again, I imagine we'll consider the Econo Lodge for our hoteling needs. We really have no reason not to.

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the west side of the hotel (if possible); I believe those would be odd-numbered rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor Locks, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Econo Lodge is located right behind Maine Mall, close access to many restaurants, most importantly close to bus stop because I had to go to Portland everyday and I do not have a car, bus stop is right across the street which solved my purpose and I got a good value stay. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LILLE, MAINE
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Last stayed here in May 2007 and the hotel then was tired and in need of extensive renovations. so I have been lodging at other Portland hotels these past few years. I decided to try this place again because of the great rate that was being offered during this time of year.

I was able to park right outside my bedroom door which meant less distance to carry luggage. The room was quite comfortable, clean, and the beds were firm. The refrigerator and microwave were welcomed and put to good use. As a tall person I would have preferred the toilet to be the customary height rather than the one in the room that was very low. I did not make use of the room safe. My only negative is that there is a rather high step to take while enterring the room. One could easily trip if they're not careful.

The included breakfast was the customary fare for this class of property. There is no restaurant onsite but there are numerous in the Maine Mall across the road. A supermarket is a couple minutes down the road.

I was really impressed by the cleanliness and general condition of this Econo Lodge since my last stay. I have already booked another room here for next month.

Room Tip: Summer and fall rates tend to be higher at this and all other hotels in Portland due to Old Orchard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Portland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Location was great - next to the Maine Mall in South Portland. Room was clean - however, the maids need to clean thoroughly -- behind furniture - found paper wrappings behind the bed table when looking for a plug. It was moderately quiet after everyone settled down for the night. Staff was pleasant and friendly.


  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge South Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge South Portland

Address: 80 John Roberts Rd., South Portland, ME 04106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge South Portland 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge South Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge South Portland Hotel South Portland
Econolodge South Portland
South Portland Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge South Portland Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge South Portland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.