We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Portland Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Portland Airport to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   171 Philbrook Avenue, South Portland, ME 04106   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in South Portland
1 review
“What a Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel is in great shape and the staff is absolutely superior. The pool and hot tub were kept warm and clean. We came down to breakfast near the end of serving time and everything still looked fresh and hot. This was a 5 star stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    127
    38
    27
    3
See reviews for
114
120
19
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Almost always satisfied with Hampton Inn. This was a good one, too. New, clean, everything you'd expect from a Hampton Inn. Only issue was one loud family. Kids were unruly, and parents did nothing. Not only did they monopolize the lobby, the kids ran up and down the halls, and, unfortunately they stayed in adjacent room. They made a lot of noise throughout the night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Room was very clean and tidy. Pool and hot tub were clean and well maintained. Breakfast area could use a face lift and expansion as it is a bit cramped and many customers had to take their breakfast back to their rooms as they had no room to sit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hotel is not worth the money. Parking is limited due to the snow removal (or lack of). Went out for dinner and came back to no parking on the property. Lobby was under construction. They kicked the kids out of the pool 5 minutes before it closed. When I called to make reservations I said 2 adults and 2 teens, they put us in a small room with 2 double beds which were terribly hard. I now know why I stick to a specific brand of hotel chain, and this isn't it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed here for one night because we arrived at the airport late at night. We had a few issues with the room. There was mold in the bathroom, the tv remote didn't work and when we arrived there were crumbs and a snack wrapper on the floor. My husband called about the tv remote and they did not have a replacement to give him. The breakfast was typical of the Hampton Inn. I don't think we would choose to stay here again if visiting the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a family long weekend getaway, we arrived on a Friday and stayed until Sunday. The hotel was clean and inviting, although I didn't find the staff overly friendly. There was no attempt at conversation with us during our check in but it was fast and efficient. It was a homey touch to arrive to the smell of fresh baked cookies. Our room was very clean and comfortable, as well as the bathroom. Breakfast was good, our first morning it was very busy but we didn't have to wait for long for a table, people moved along quickly. The tea biscuits were very good and moist. We also liked the omelets. We stayed with our 2 teenaged boys(13 and 14) and 6 year old granddaughter and we all enjoyed our stay very much and will stay here again for our next shopping trip to Portland. It was a very convenient location so close to the mall and to a huge Walmart.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Just back and the reception people were great, room really nice and they make note of the fact that the duvet covers are washed after each customer, breakfast really plentiful and good. My one and only complaint is the loudness of the heater in the room. I woke up every time it kicked in all night. Otherwise a great night's sleep

Room Tip: lots of kid's teams (March break) so top floor was much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Portland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portland Airport

Address: 171 Philbrook Avenue, South Portland, ME 04106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in South Portland
#4 Family Hotel in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portland Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Portland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portland Airport Hotel South Portland
Hampton Inn South Portland
South Portland Hampton Inn
Portland Airport Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Portland Airport South Portland, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Portland Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.