We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, somewhat worn” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   303 Sable Oaks Drive, South Portland, ME 04106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in South Portland
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Convenient location, somewhat worn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed here on the last night of a two week trip as it is convenient to the airport (and Maine Mall if you have some shopping to do). The staff was friendly, offered a snack but no water on check in as a part of the Priority Club program. I was first assigned a room on the 6th floor which smelled strongly of smoke; I had to ask to be moved and the next room had no smoke smell but the either the cleaning compounds or Febreeze had a strong odor as well. This seems to be a common issue with some of the older hotels and creates a fair amount of discomfort for me. The furniture was basic, comfortable enough but could use updating as could the carpeting. The breakfast was lacking fresh fruit, the choices were some kind of pre-formed scrambled eggs, sausage patties, cinnamon roles, cereals, basic HIE fare though some HIE's I've stayed at seemed to have a little more flair.
There is some freeway noise so ask for a room away from the road, there are woods on one side of the hotel.
My overall rating would be slightly below average for an HIE after having stayed at several other, newer ones this past summer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    87
    59
    41
    27
See reviews for
91
61
17
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richland, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Traveling from the west coast we booked a room (Priority Club member) one month in advance.

After an extremely tiring day (early start, many connecting flights, and a late arrival due to a aircraft mechanical problem) we were quite stressed when we landed in Portland--15 minutes before the car rental facility closed. We had even called this hotel at 9PM (from Atlanta) confirming our reservation and stating we would be arriving late. Well after all this we finally get to this hotel with a sigh of relief. We had picked this one because it was close to the the airport and we had never been to Maine before. Now imagine being told "we're sorry we don't have a room for you, we had some roof leaks on the top floor". Rather than put us up in one (of many) nearby hotels they sent us to one "only about 10 minutes away". An hour later we made it--very stressed and very pissed off. The hotel they sent us to was definitely a step down from the amenities provided at a Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: If you're told they don't have a room--even though you have a confirmed reservation, camp ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moweaqua, IL
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I had 27 rooms for one night on a tour and we LOVED it-not ONE complaint at all. The property was very clean, the breakfast great and the staff very friendly. I would highly recommend this one and we will definately visit again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Maryland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Friendly, attentive desk clerks. I knew they were good because Holiday Inn sent me the link for a survey only for this motel - not for the 3 other mediocre Holiday Inns along the east coast I had stayed at the week before.

Beautiful area right near the Maine Mall. Breakfast tasted and smelled good. Obnoxious, liberal station on the TV, but what can you do except bring earplugs. Desk clerk charged me a dollar for detergent - made me go get the money rather than just charge it to my room or let me bring it later. But he was nice about it. These are minor faults, overall I recommend this motel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Holly
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

After a 14 hour day, and 500 highway miles, this was a nive way to end the day. Although I stayed there when the hotel was filled with very young kids who were in town for soccer, basketball, etc. and they ran the halls yelling and laughing, it all stopped by 11:00pm. You certainly cannot blame the hotel for ignorant parenting skills.
Very nice place, and easily located off the main road. I would definitely return if back in the area for the night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Beware of the hotel cancellation policy...IF YOU BOOK A ROOM WITH HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS, YOU WILL PAY FOR THE ROOM NO MATTER WHEN YOU TRY TO CANCEL. It doesn't matter when you booked, how you booked, what rates you paid, and it most definitely does not matter what the agents tell you on the phone. They will lie to you and they have multiple ways of lying...third party reservation systems that cannot be changed, rules that change with each call, and the best one was "don't worry, we'll make this right and send you a check". HAHA! I am filing a suit against this hotel since my case is over $1000. Any lawyer who wants to file a class action against HIE would find many customers just like me all over the internet with the same experience.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear NHoccasionaltraveler,

Thank you for your feedback. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had with the cancellation policy. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Edward C.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed here on our trip around the New England States. The hotel was very clean and the staff very nice. We received a bottle of water and a snack upon arrival because we were Priority club members. The room was large and comfortable. The breakfast was par with all the other hotel type breakfasts. They had their signature cinnamon rolls plus a pancake machine along with the typical cereals, juice, hard boiled eggs, western omelets, etc. Overall, a very nice place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland

Address: 303 Sable Oaks Drive, South Portland, ME 04106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express South Portland Hotel at Sable Oaks. Renovated in June of 2006, we are updated to provide you with the best service!Hotel features include free local phone calls, free wireless Internet, pool and fitness center, and a complimentary Express Start Continental breakfast. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, hard boiled eggs, and yogurt. Recently we've introduced hot items such as sausage and eggs! We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Located conveniently next to the Maine Mall and only a short distance from the Freeport and Kittery outlet malls, the South Portland Holiday Inn Express is a great place to stay while you shop. Just two miles away from the Portland Jetport, our free shuttle will be there to pick you up and bring you directly to the hotel. Visit South Portland, Maine, and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites South Portland
Holiday Inn Express South Portland
Holiday Inn South Portland
South Portland Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.