We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   303 Sable Oaks Drive, South Portland, ME 04106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in South Portland
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Nice beds!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

My final night in Maine was spent here. After having a few nights on extra firm mattresses it was nice having a bed I could sink into! The staff were quite friendly. The room was clean and laid out so you could watch tv from the couch or bed. The wireless Internet service was free with a pretty strong signal. There is room service available from the Marriott across the street. I slept in late so did not try the free breakfast. The entire hotel is smoke free. The only negative thing I have to say is that there was not an ice machine on my floor, for some reason they are just on every other floor. Itt's also just under 3 miles to the airport and near a mall.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    87
    59
    41
    27
See reviews for
91
61
17
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cape breton
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

i usually stay in HIE because most have very good rooms and very clean rooms however when I checked in this one the room smelled of strong odors, but the front desk moved us right away, according to the manager it was the AC unit that emitted the offending odour, OK that was good but when we wanted to use the pool, hhmmmm some oily surface was evident i informed the desk and they would take a look at it.First impreesions play such a big part of your experience that motels should scrub and make sure it is clean.overall it was OK but clean clean clean HIE

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

We are spending the weekend in the Old Orchard / Portland area, we were booked in another hotel in Lewiston that turned out to be the hotel fron Hell!
This hotel is nice, you can tell its renovated, but its clean and looks newer. This otel is all suites, so the rooms are bigger than normal hotel rooms.

Breakfast is always consistent at HIE.

All in all exactly what you expect, nothing spectacular, just what you want when you think of booking a hotel for that price.

I woul reccomend this hitel to my friends.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stay at this hotel every time we're in town. The rooms are always clean, the service excellent and most importantly, it's close to all the stores and Maine Mall. We like that it's off Sable Oaks Drive... Just ever so much off the beaten path that it's a little more quiet and secluded.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

My family and I stayed at this hotel last summer while visiting Maine and returned again this summer while on vacation in Maine. One night, we had a room with 2 double beds; the last night before our flights, we had a room with a king bed. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Mattresses in double beds were more comfortabel than the king (a bit too hard). Staff at the desk were polite, friendly and helpful. This hotel has basic, clean comforts without the frills at a decent price. Breakfast was plentiful and coffee was good. Location of this hotel is ideal, as it is 5 minutes from the airport (and the hotel has a free shuttle), 5 minutes from shopping and/or the highway. We will probably stay here again on our next Maine visit.

Room Tip: Ask for room on high floor; quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lawn, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way from PA to Lubec, Maine. We have stayed at other HIE across the country and usually book because of their free breakfasts. The breakfast here was fine. Plenty to eat at 8am and the staff were constantly replenishing items. The location is great with it being just off 95/295. The Maine mall is very close too. Our room was large with a sitting area as well as a mini fridge. A few small dings in the bathroom tile and the hallways weren't spotless are a few of the drawbacks. Also, the elevators seemed to take forever. We got a special government rate which made it a good value. Checking the normal rate, I thought it to be a little pricey compared to other HIE. However, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

We singles are used to paying the same as couples but here you pay more. Had a room with two double beds but paid more than a couple in a king bedded room booked at the same time. So, forget thinking of laundry costs of larger sheets you don't need. Book the king.

Room nice and spacious but pillows very lumpy, reception on tv poor and clock radio did not work in sleep mode.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Ann093,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the room being nice and spacious.

However, We’re sorry about the lumpy pillow, poor television reception and the radio clock. I assure you that the review of our hotel will be looked into. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland

Address: 303 Sable Oaks Drive, South Portland, ME 04106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express South Portland Hotel at Sable Oaks. Renovated in June of 2006, we are updated to provide you with the best service!Hotel features include free local phone calls, free wireless Internet, pool and fitness center, and a complimentary Express Start Continental breakfast. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, hard boiled eggs, and yogurt. Recently we've introduced hot items such as sausage and eggs! We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Located conveniently next to the Maine Mall and only a short distance from the Freeport and Kittery outlet malls, the South Portland Holiday Inn Express is a great place to stay while you shop. Just two miles away from the Portland Jetport, our free shuttle will be there to pick you up and bring you directly to the hotel. Visit South Portland, Maine, and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites South Portland
Holiday Inn Express South Portland
Holiday Inn South Portland
South Portland Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.