We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Customer Service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn South Portland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn South Portland to your Saves list
Days Inn South Portland
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   461 Maine Mall Road, South Portland, ME 04106   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in South Portland
maritimes
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Poor Customer Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2006

Don't book on line. When I arrived at the hotel, the rate I booked online and the rate they gave me were not the same. I questioned the gentleman at the desk and he said too bad you should have booked directly with us. I told him I had a confirmation number but it didn't matter. I found him very rude about the whole incident. We stayed anyway as we were tired and it was late. Room was clean but not worth the 100 bucks we paid. The iron didn't work and they weren't about to get me another one. Overall, for the money I was very disappointed

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — front desk workers
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    241
    254
    115
    76
See reviews for
272
247
67
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2006

Hotel is dirty, dingy, and run down looking. A foul odor hits you when you walk in the door.

It looks like they got some kids to slap paint on the walls. Place needs to be gutted. Poor lighting in hallways make for unsafe situation.

In my room the Air-conditioner was not working the way it should. It was to small for the room, and it had some sort of a leak. It had a sticker on it that said not to run it above 5 or it would stop working completely. A STICKER? How about replacing it? When I called the front desk to complain, they said they would get somebody to take a look at it the next day. No other rooms were available to switch to..

Continental breakfast was not edible. Tiny stale tasting bagels, tiny pastries that had no flavor. The cold cereal was OK.

Found out later there were other hotels in the area about the same price, but much better. Choose one of them....

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Tips/Secrets — Choose another hotel in the area.
  • Stayed July 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2006

I recently stayed at the Days Inn in South Portland, Maine. The hotel room was ok. However, I had a problem when reserving the room. There was a computer or website malfuntion and I was mistakenly booked for 3 nights instead of 1. The customer service I received was absolutelty horrible. People were rude on the phone and at not time did they appear as thought they wanted to help me solve my problem. Thus I am out of several hundred dollars due to no fault of my own. I have spend three weeks trying to explain my situation. Word of advice--do not expect quality customer service from Days Inn and beware if you reserve a room on the internet--you could inherit a lot of frustration and be out a lot of money!

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2006

My mom and i stayed for 2 nights while we dropped my bro at camp. We had a smooth check in, a spotless room, fabulous AC and easy acess to the ice machine the car parked outside and the lobby. The breakfast included fresh fruit, cereals, waffels, bagels and pastries. Coffee, milk of any type and four different types of juice. It will satisfy picky eaters and adults alike. The location is perfect; close to the mall but far away enough to not have a noise issue. I would come back. The only issue i have is they dont accept pets which kills it for me because i love traveling with my toy poodle. otherwise a great deal

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2005

Stayed here on Tues, Aug 30. Beds are lumpy but for a quick one or two night stay, it is a steal. Right across the street from the Maine Mall and surrounded by tons of restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2005

I tried this place based on a reviewer who thought it was ok. I thought it would be ok and keep me within my budget. After being there for less than an hour, I would have gladly paid an extra $100 a night to get out of there. I wouldn't say it was a complete dump, but it certainly was dumpy. The king size bed was sunken in on one side and the furniture looked like it came from a flea market. The room was generally clean and the shower was ok. However, I was there for 8 hours and I killed at least 10 files in the room and there were still more. I was supposed to stay three nights, but one night was enough. I've never been so happy to leave a place in my life. The lobby was dumpy looking too and the breakfast area looked like a bar in a bad 70's movie. The food looked pretty bad to me. Did I mention the flies?

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2005

Stayed for 10 days and it was a home away from home. All the staff were very helpful,friendly and we made friends; a waitress even cried when we were ready to leave. My daughter made a real mess everyday (see pic) and housekeeping was always prompt, efficient and polite; rooms and property were always kept clean and well mantained.
I am a real nitpicker but this time had no complaints about anything.
That says a lot about this Motel.
Ample parking, large mall and freeway (us1) right across the property.
Chilis was open till 11pm everynight.
Breakfast in a dining room with a large-screen tv.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn South Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn South Portland

Address: 461 Maine Mall Road, South Portland, ME 04106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn South Portland 2*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Days Inn South Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn South Portland Hotel South Portland
South Portland Days Inn
Days Inn South Portland Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn South Portland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.