We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly better than average” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks

Save Saved
You added Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Sable Oaks Drive, South Portland, ME 04106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in South Portland
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Slightly better than average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I recently traveled for business and stayed as part of a group during early October. I was provided a room on the conceirge level (6th floor) and had a distant view of the Maine Mall. The room was set back from the road and you could not hear any distractions.

The room was standard (2 queen beds) with a work station and a flat screen television. The maid service was generally good although they tended not to get to the room until after 3PM each day.

I was disappointed in two things with the hotel:

1) the bathroom smelled musty and like mildew. The caulk around the tub showed evidence of mildew. It could use an update and maintenance should be regularly addressing mildew issues for their travelers.

2) the conceirge service offered great food but the staffer in the evening was rude. After a long drive to get to the hotel, I went Sunday evening to get something to drink and see what they had to eat. The male staffer wanted to know what I wanted - a juice I said. A juice - all you want is a juice? The juice is warm - you know that right? No, I didn't know that and I didn't care - I just wanted a juice. I asked him if it was okay to get a plate of food and his comment was that's what it was there for. Needless to say, I didn't need to ask another thing from him my entire visit.

My experience with Marriott hotels are almost always extremely positive. This will not go down in my memory as an enjoyable place to stay or return or recommend.

Standard service all around.

Good for most but disappointed as a Marriott Gold Rewards traveler.

Room Tip: Upper floor facing towards Portland would be ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    133
    58
    28
    12
See reviews for
83
107
21
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Connecticut, United States
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I agree with reviewers who commented on the "musty smell" of their room. However, we opened our window, ran the a/c and when we returned the room was considerably fresher (perhaps the hotel should consider trying this prior to assigning rooms).

I agree with some reviewers who suggested the dark, older furnishings could truly use a "refresh." I agree with reviewers who described the property as "older" and in need of "updating."

I disagree with reviewers who suggested the staff was less than professional and cordial. Our experience with every staff member we encountered was, at a minimum, pleasant and most were warm and extremely helpful. I regret I did not get the name of the desk agent who checked us in -- she was both efficient and personable. Carl, in the Concierge Lounge, is a true asset to those guests who have lounge access.

It's a shame the property has the tough part -- customer service -- conquered and are only lacking the easy part, capital investment to improve the physical plant. This is one of many properties owned and managed by a large hospitality group which would be well-served to invest in improving this property.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Few full service hotels are available in the Portland, Maine area, however the Marriott at Sable Oaks is one of the better ones! The property is conveniently located near the Airport as well as just off the Maine Turnpike. It is a older Marriott property, however the lobby and restaurant area are all new. The rooms are comfortable and housekeeping staff really keeps them super clean~!! The furniture is dated/ old and some cases worn thus perhaps the rooms are the next to remodeled ? The Club Lounge is very well run, and well equipped with breakfast and evening foods/drinks. I also appreciate the personal touches the Club Lounge Attendant shows in making sure each guest is cared for. The whole staff actually at the property is customer focused, and wants to make sure your visit is a very good one! As a Platinum Marriott Rewards Member I sometimes get upgraded here to the club floor, but always have access to the Club Lounge when I stay here. If your looking for full service in a clean and comfortable hotel with outstanding customer service this property is for you!

Room Tip: Recommend rooms facing pool area not back side as you will be facing delivery /waste removal docks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The room was comfortable & had nice amenities such as a magnified make-up mirror. We had a wonderful dinner on-site as well. Parking was free as was 4 hours of Internet. You can hear planes at the airport, but that was not major.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed here about a month ago. The hallways echo and walls are thin. My room was far away from the elevators and I could still hear all the noise from that area. The rooms are also tiny so if there's noise next door, you really have no place to move to, no couch, no other rooms, etc. This is really bad when there's a group of noisy people. And hotel staff and management from my experience are not helpful. They send up housekeeping staff to handle noise complaints who barely speak English. At night, their staff seems to be teenage kids on party mode at the front desk across from the bar. If you are in the partying spirit, you'll get along fine. If you're there for business, they might treat you like a party pooper, especially if you have a noise complaint. They will probably find you funny, and get even a bigger laugh if you complain to management. Management seems to always back the staff. Whatever you do, don't stay there for anything high stakes.

The rooms are small, unimpressive, greasy tables, bad lighting, and some of my pillows smelled.

Sable Oaks is an ideal place for a hotel. Even the Marriott books to 100 percent capacity in the summer, probably based on location alone. If another developer where to build a decent quality hotel at Sable Oaks, I'm sure it would do well.

Room Tip: 659 is the best room. It is in the quietest corner on the top floor (concierge level) farthest away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Connecticut
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

For sure this is a business oriented hotel, however my wife daughter and I recently spent a nice 1 night stay. We stayed on the 6th floor in a good sized room.

Breakfast was excellent, the pool, sauna, jacuzzi were fine, but our beds were extremely hard. My daughter slept well, but neither my wife or I did.

The bar also has a surprisingly great beer selection on draft.

Staff was very helpful and friendly, ample parking, I even got in a great run. You can run through the industrial park and on an abandoned road that cut the golf course in half.

We would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

For many many years I have had the opportunity to stay here and It is just as good as ever. Of course we carry a Marriotts Rewards card but that doesn't matter. this is thEE most comfortable, friendly, conveniently located, peaceful, and on an on hotel. Beds are....Aaahhhhhhh.

Room Tip: Sixth floor #612 (concierge floor). Overlooks a lovely courtyard and indoor pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks

Address: 200 Sable Oaks Drive, South Portland, ME 04106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NEWLY RENOVATED Portland Marriott is complete! Improvements include, newly renovated lobby complete with a business center, contemporary designed guest rooms with plush bedding and new high speed in-room technology. Enjoy swimming in our new heated indoor pool, whirl pool. Indulge all of your senses in our new restaurant and lounge. Meet, greet and entertain in our spectacular grand ballrooms. The Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks is nestled on the hill of the scenic, yet modern, Sable Oaks community and just minutes from Portland Airport and historic downtown Portland. Enjoy fine-dining and boutique shopping in the Old Port. Bring the family to the legendary Old Orchard Beach, sight see at Portland Headlight historic lighthouse, enjoy a sunset cruise on Casco Bay or visit Portland's own Museum of Art. Offering dynamic meeting space, business center, golf course, indoor pool, fitness center and more Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks is the perfect location to exceed your expectations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Marriott At Sable Oaks Hotel South Portland
Marriott Hotel South Portland
Marriott South Portland
South Portland Marriott
Portland Marriott At Sable Oaks South Portland, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.