We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full Service Hotel in Portland, ME Area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks

Save Saved
You added Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Sable Oaks Drive, South Portland, ME 04106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in South Portland
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Full Service Hotel in Portland, ME Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Few full service hotels are available in the Portland, Maine area, however the Marriott at Sable Oaks is one of the better ones! The property is conveniently located near the Airport as well as just off the Maine Turnpike. It is a older Marriott property, however the lobby and restaurant area are all new. The rooms are comfortable and housekeeping staff really keeps them super clean~!! The furniture is dated/ old and some cases worn thus perhaps the rooms are the next to remodeled ? The Club Lounge is very well run, and well equipped with breakfast and evening foods/drinks. I also appreciate the personal touches the Club Lounge Attendant shows in making sure each guest is cared for. The whole staff actually at the property is customer focused, and wants to make sure your visit is a very good one! As a Platinum Marriott Rewards Member I sometimes get upgraded here to the club floor, but always have access to the Club Lounge when I stay here. If your looking for full service in a clean and comfortable hotel with outstanding customer service this property is for you!

Room Tip: Recommend rooms facing pool area not back side as you will be facing delivery /waste removal docks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    121
    55
    28
    12
See reviews for
80
97
20
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cave Creek, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The room was comfortable & had nice amenities such as a magnified make-up mirror. We had a wonderful dinner on-site as well. Parking was free as was 4 hours of Internet. You can hear planes at the airport, but that was not major.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed here about a month ago. The hallways echo and walls are thin. My room was far away from the elevators and I could still hear all the noise from that area. The rooms are also tiny so if there's noise next door, you really have no place to move to, no couch, no other rooms, etc. This is really bad when there's a group of noisy people. And hotel staff and management from my experience are not helpful. They send up housekeeping staff to handle noise complaints who barely speak English. At night, their staff seems to be teenage kids on party mode at the front desk across from the bar. If you are in the partying spirit, you'll get along fine. If you're there for business, they might treat you like a party pooper, especially if you have a noise complaint. They will probably find you funny, and get even a bigger laugh if you complain to management. Management seems to always back the staff. Whatever you do, don't stay there for anything high stakes.

The rooms are small, unimpressive, greasy tables, bad lighting, and some of my pillows smelled.

Sable Oaks is an ideal place for a hotel. Even the Marriott books to 100 percent capacity in the summer, probably based on location alone. If another developer where to build a decent quality hotel at Sable Oaks, I'm sure it would do well.

Room Tip: 659 is the best room. It is in the quietest corner on the top floor (concierge level) farthest away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Connecticut
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

For sure this is a business oriented hotel, however my wife daughter and I recently spent a nice 1 night stay. We stayed on the 6th floor in a good sized room.

Breakfast was excellent, the pool, sauna, jacuzzi were fine, but our beds were extremely hard. My daughter slept well, but neither my wife or I did.

The bar also has a surprisingly great beer selection on draft.

Staff was very helpful and friendly, ample parking, I even got in a great run. You can run through the industrial park and on an abandoned road that cut the golf course in half.

We would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

For many many years I have had the opportunity to stay here and It is just as good as ever. Of course we carry a Marriotts Rewards card but that doesn't matter. this is thEE most comfortable, friendly, conveniently located, peaceful, and on an on hotel. Beds are....Aaahhhhhhh.

Room Tip: Sixth floor #612 (concierge floor). Overlooks a lovely courtyard and indoor pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed here for 9 days for a convention that was being held there. Room rates for the convention were reasonable and overall we were pleased with the hotel.
Pluses:
Location - easy to find, quiet setting, close to shopping, not far from touristy Old Port in Portland
Room was comfortable, very quiet, standard Marriott amenities
Staff were excellent. Friendly, helpful but not overly so.... just right
Ample free parking
Help with your bags if you need it
Apples and cookies available by the elevators if you want. We always seemed to be too late for the cookies, but nice anyway.

Minuses:
restaurant is right at the main front entrance. When you walk in later in the day your senses are assaulted with strong fishy odor. I love fish and the food at the restaurant was good...but the odor rather unpleasant.
Pillows - We had a king sized bed and so had 4 superlong king sized pillows. Nice. Except they are soooo long and a bit firm. Would have liked to have had a bit smaller pillows and as HIE does, some firm, some soft, so we could choose.
No microwave or refrigerator. You can get fridge if you want one for addtl nominal fee. We did'n't.
Breakfast is NOT included unless you get a special package deal. They do however have Starbucks coffee and some rolls available in the bar for a couple hrs in the a.m.

Room Tips:
Previous reviews complain that sunlight seeps in early in the morning and wakes them. We actually started in room 440 and then were transferred to 416 (440 smelled of cig. smoke**). Notice, both rooms were even numbered. Both faced the back/ pool side of the bldg. Both were fine as far as light and noise were concerned. I suspect if you think this could be a problem you should request an even numbered room.

** Our first room had a tell tale odor. The next morning, the maid came in and commented that we should not have been put in this room because it still had a cig. smell. she had used an ozonator to remove the odor, but there was still a bit of odor. Management was great. They immediately moved us to another room on the same floor. Much better. ****word to smokers: per the maid they do indeed charge you $200 if you smoke in the room. so PLEASE don't smoke in the room!!! Kudos to staff for helping us with this issue.

Room Tip: Select room with an even number. e.g. 420, 422, 424.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
121 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
437 helpful votes 437 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I was somewhat concerned about this property, especially given the mixed reviews on Tripadvisor. We were very pleased with every aspect of property. Staff were helpful and friendly. Parking very convenient. Value for rate paid was excellent. Restaurant (breakfast) had great buffet. Room was decorated well, with only exception being light fixture in bath. Not sure about that, but it had a strangely Victorian feel to it. Previous reviewers mentioned that hotel is inconvenient to everything. I considered staying in downtown Portland, wanting to be closer to many things, but rates at Residence Inn, Hampton properties downtown were 3 times what I paid here. I'll stay here at Sable Oaks anytime!

Room Tip: We were on 6th floor. Room overlooked loading dock. It was less-than-attractive seeing dumpsters...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks

Also Known As:
Portland Marriott At Sable Oaks Hotel
Portland Marriott At Sable Oaks Hotel South Portland
Marriott Hotel South Portland
Marriott South Portland
South Portland Marriott
Portland Marriott At Sable Oaks South Portland, Maine
Address: 200 Sable Oaks Drive, South Portland, ME 04106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in South Portland
#5 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NEWLY RENOVATED Portland Marriott is complete! Improvements include, newly renovated lobby complete with a business center, contemporary designed guest rooms with plush bedding and new high speed in-room technology. Enjoy swimming in our new heated indoor pool, whirl pool. Indulge all of your senses in our new restaurant and lounge. Meet, greet and entertain in our spectacular grand ballrooms. The Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks is nestled on the hill of the scenic, yet modern, Sable Oaks community and just minutes from Portland Airport and historic downtown Portland. Enjoy fine-dining and boutique shopping in the Old Port. Bring the family to the legendary Old Orchard Beach, sight see at Portland Headlight historic lighthouse, enjoy a sunset cruise on Casco Bay or visit Portland's own Museum of Art. Offering dynamic meeting space, business center, golf course, indoor pool, fitness center and more Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks is the perfect location to exceed your expectations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.