We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent concierge service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks to your Saves list
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Sable Oaks Drive, South Portland, ME 04106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in South Portland
NC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent concierge service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I ended up staying at Marriott Sable Oaks because of a flight cancellation and I'll definitely use the same hotel next time in the area. Being a Marriott Gold member I floor and had access to concierge and had an excellent relaxing tome with complimentary buffet and drinks. It was well above the basic concierge food and service I encountered at some other hotels. Next morning breakfast was excellent as well. Personnel were very polite and courteous. Overall a good experience. The only reason I'm not giving excellent is I ended up in a room next to vending machines and there was some loud noise coming trough once in a while.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    140
    64
    28
    12
See reviews for
87
115
22
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

A great location across from the Maine Mall with many nearby restaurants. There was ample free parking and the grounds were nicely maintained. It was an easy drive to dowtown Portland. The front desk employees were courteous. The rooms were large and clean, and the beds were very comfortable. We enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to book this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAST WEYMOUTH
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Perfect location for a business stay while my wife can come along. While working in my suite, my wife can take my car and visit Old Port, Freeport and local antique shops. My luncheon in the bar was perfect.

Room Tip: Higher Rooms have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

No matter where no matter which...seems Marriott is consistent. This one I would say from the staff point of few is exceptional. Bell hops were some of the best. Front desk great too! So when you have a template that is the same everywhere the one way to differentiate yourself is your staff. They had even planted blooming bulbs around for Easter that were still blooming. Even thought snow was still a possibility.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
384 reviews 384 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
327 helpful votes 327 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This hotel on a hill overlooked the 18-hole Sable Oaks Country Club on one side and the Maine Mall in the distance on the other. Despite its high-season rates this hotel filled up fast — so book early! There was free onsite parking and a free shuttle to the nearby airport. Inside there was a big beautiful heated indoor pool and a whirlpool, which we enjoyed, and a small fitness center, which we didn’t use. Front desk service was cordial and efficient. Our room faced the Mall, which wasn’t scenic at all. Our bathroom, closet, bureau, and linens were all clean. Drapes pulled snugly to block out ambient light. Our flat screen TV and our free en suite Internet access both worked. Our king-sized bed was too firm and our pillows too soft to suit us. We dined and drank elsewhere due to time constraints. We printed our boarding passes at the business center without a hitch. We got our wake-up call to get to the airport just when we’d asked for it. We chose this hotel for its quality and convenience and we got pretty nearly what we’d hoped. Only next time we’ll try a room with a golf course view.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
153 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in May 2013 in 4th Floor during the weekend (FR-SU). First impressions of the hotel quite positive, huge parking space, and swift and early check in. Room average, with strange placed refrigerator in the middle of the room (?). As Gold Rewards Member got two vouchers for breakfast, but only after asking specifically. But the main disadvantage of the hotel is noises comming from other rooms; I realise that hotel cannot do a lot about that, but is should be clearly said that this room has one of the most thin walls ever seen by a human being, and you can literally hear persons in a next room go to the toilet and else. Breakfast good, but service a bit slowish.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Not a bad property for a town the size of Portland. Just about 10 minutes from the airport and only 15 minutes from downtown Portland.

Has a nice bar with multiple flat screen TV s for sports and has a full service restaurant (I went downtown for dinner).

Would recommend for business or pleasure.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks

Address: 200 Sable Oaks Drive, South Portland, ME 04106
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in South Portland
#5 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NEWLY RENOVATED Portland Marriott is complete! Improvements include, newly renovated lobby complete with a business center, contemporary designed guest rooms with plush bedding and new high speed in-room technology. Enjoy swimming in our new heated indoor pool, whirl pool. Indulge all of your senses in our new restaurant and lounge. Meet, greet and entertain in our spectacular grand ballrooms. The Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks is nestled on the hill of the scenic, yet modern, Sable Oaks community and just minutes from Portland Airport and historic downtown Portland. Enjoy fine-dining and boutique shopping in the Old Port. Bring the family to the legendary Old Orchard Beach, sight see at Portland Headlight historic lighthouse, enjoy a sunset cruise on Casco Bay or visit Portland's own Museum of Art. Offering dynamic meeting space, business center, golf course, indoor pool, fitness center and more Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks is the perfect location to exceed your expectations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Marriott At Sable Oaks Hotel South Portland
Marriott Hotel South Portland
Marriott South Portland
South Portland Marriott
Portland Marriott At Sable Oaks South Portland, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.