We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay at the Portland Marriott” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks to your Saves list
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Sable Oaks Drive, South Portland, ME 04106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in South Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Basking Ridge, NJ
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely stay at the Portland Marriott”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I wasn't expecting such a nice Marriott in Portland for the rate I received ($109 per night). Maybe it is because I am a NY/NJ girl and used to higher fares but this was a really really nice Marriott with all the amenities at a great rate.
The hotel had a lovely indoor pool which my son used for hours one day, a very good restaurant, and very friendly service. Although, the service at the front desk was a bit slow, I didn't know if this was something normal for the area or if they were just really slow in responding.
I highly recommend staying here. We spent 2-nights here and everything was just great, including the room service we tried one night.

Room Tip: I couldn't get the highest floor like normal since that was their Concierge guests floor. Howev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    143
    66
    29
    13
See reviews for
92
119
24
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Hotel is even better than the average full service Marriott. I visited during a late winter snow storm and this was a nice warm, friendly oasis. When departing just as the blizzard was winding down, I found that the doorman had brushed the snow off every car in the parking lot. Kudos to this great hotel. Restaurant, service and all other features were great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed at the Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks this past weekend (March 16-17th) . The hotel is very clean – the staff was excellent - very friendly, helpful and courteous. Pool area is well done. Had a very good burger in the hotel restaurant. Nothing to complain about. A nice solid Marriott.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stay once every year at this Marriott it's a nice getaway for a Saturday night. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The beds are comfortable this Marriott is up on a hill. It's close to all kinds of restaurants we had dinner at Longhorns and breakfast the next morning at Cracker Barrel. There are all kinds of shopping out on the Main Street. It has free WiFi and a 32" flat screen TV we were on the 5th floor. There was a party on the night that we stayed with lots of kids you would never know it the hallway was quite. The housekeeping dep't was very nice I always ask for more towels . All in all I don't have anything bad to say about this hotel. As I said we go there for a night away usually around Feb or March.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Not only is the Marriott a superior hotel --------/ it also has the most delicious buffet meals at conferences. The salmon was soft. !! The view from the room was looking at trees. Felt like a completely different world even though it was less than a mile away from a major mall. And the golf course is superior.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgartown, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you're a Gold Member the concierge lounge is great. If they have a suite they will upgrade you. Credible service, not a fake smile to be found from the door man to housekeeping. Very friendly Food is ok. Close to the mall. High on a hill provides great reviews.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Maine
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed the restaurant on 1/11/13. They are featuring a wine & dine package. $39.00 per person for a bread basket with different spreads, appetizer with wine, choice of four entrees with wine ( 4 oz) and choice of two desserts with wine. Everything was delicious. This restaurant is not promoted enough. This was the best meal I have had in a while, and we eat out weekly.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks

Address: 200 Sable Oaks Drive, South Portland, ME 04106
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in South Portland
#5 Family Hotel in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NEWLY RENOVATED Portland Marriott is complete! Improvements include, newly renovated lobby complete with a business center, contemporary designed guest rooms with plush bedding and new high speed in-room technology. Enjoy swimming in our new heated indoor pool, whirl pool. Indulge all of your senses in our new restaurant and lounge. Meet, greet and entertain in our spectacular grand ballrooms. The Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks is nestled on the hill of the scenic, yet modern, Sable Oaks community and just minutes from Portland Airport and historic downtown Portland. Enjoy fine-dining and boutique shopping in the Old Port. Bring the family to the legendary Old Orchard Beach, sight see at Portland Headlight historic lighthouse, enjoy a sunset cruise on Casco Bay or visit Portland's own Museum of Art. Offering dynamic meeting space, business center, golf course, indoor pool, fitness center and more Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks is the perfect location to exceed your expectations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, EasyToBook, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Marriott At Sable Oaks Hotel South Portland
Marriott Hotel South Portland
Marriott South Portland
South Portland Marriott
Portland Marriott At Sable Oaks South Portland, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.