We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go to the Marriott!!!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks

Save Saved
You added Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Sable Oaks Drive, South Portland, ME 04106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in South Portland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Go to the Marriott!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Not only is the Marriott a superior hotel --------/ it also has the most delicious buffet meals at conferences. The salmon was soft. !! The view from the room was looking at trees. Felt like a completely different world even though it was less than a mile away from a major mall. And the golf course is superior.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    132
    55
    28
    12
See reviews for
83
106
21
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edgartown, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

If you're a Gold Member the concierge lounge is great. If they have a suite they will upgrade you. Credible service, not a fake smile to be found from the door man to housekeeping. Very friendly Food is ok. Close to the mall. High on a hill provides great reviews.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Maine
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed the restaurant on 1/11/13. They are featuring a wine & dine package. $39.00 per person for a bread basket with different spreads, appetizer with wine, choice of four entrees with wine ( 4 oz) and choice of two desserts with wine. Everything was delicious. This restaurant is not promoted enough. This was the best meal I have had in a while, and we eat out weekly.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermonville, New York, USA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

What a nice stay! The staff is very professional. The pool was the best part! They have a wonderfully WARM pool that the kids and myself loved. A beautiful patio is attached for fresh air. The rooms were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

My wife and I stay here when we come to Portland to visit family. Room is fine, TV is fine, food in the restaurant was good. I needed and tried to use the internet in my room #538 it was horrible. Slow, 400 kb/sec max download compared to Comcast which gives you 17mb/sec download. That is a huge difference. The speed made dealing with my business needs impossible. They now offer Starbucks coffee in the lobby at 50% more than you would pay at a local Starbucks and the coffee in the room is bad. (a huge turn off). The pool is nice, the rooms are clean. Next time I come to Portland I'm looking for a hotel that has decent internet service, which was fine at Sable Oaks previously but is now very bad. Perhaps they changed their provider since you don't need a code to get wireless, but it's so bad you can't use it.

Room Tip: If you need internet access for business try it before you stay. My room was terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Ontario
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This is a great property, nicely set back from the road, and full of character. Check in staff was quick and friendly. There are quite a few choices nearby for food. It has a nice pool and my kids loved it. Concierge was nicely set up, and we enjoyed our breakfast. Overall great service I would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room if available, you get a bit more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwell, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Nice hotel, in a good location by the mall. Lobby/bar/restaurants are quite nice, with many big screen TVs to catch the game. The rooms are standard Marriott decor, which seem to be renovated, as they have the "old style" layout, but the bed (nice and firm) desk and TVs are top notch.

Only gripes:
1) Old toilet and it didn't flush without holding the handle down for at least 5 seconds. Easy fix Marriott.
2) Old header/AC unit with a wall control that ONLY allowed for temp setting. This drives me nuts because the unit rumbles to life when heat is needed, then turns off. I like to sleep with it on "FAN ONLY" mode, which many Marriott's have, but not this one.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks

Address: 200 Sable Oaks Drive, South Portland, ME 04106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in South Portland
#4 Romantic Hotel in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NEWLY RENOVATED Portland Marriott is complete! Improvements include, newly renovated lobby complete with a business center, contemporary designed guest rooms with plush bedding and new high speed in-room technology. Enjoy swimming in our new heated indoor pool, whirl pool. Indulge all of your senses in our new restaurant and lounge. Meet, greet and entertain in our spectacular grand ballrooms. The Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks is nestled on the hill of the scenic, yet modern, Sable Oaks community and just minutes from Portland Airport and historic downtown Portland. Enjoy fine-dining and boutique shopping in the Old Port. Bring the family to the legendary Old Orchard Beach, sight see at Portland Headlight historic lighthouse, enjoy a sunset cruise on Casco Bay or visit Portland's own Museum of Art. Offering dynamic meeting space, business center, golf course, indoor pool, fitness center and more Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks is the perfect location to exceed your expectations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Marriott At Sable Oaks Hotel South Portland
Marriott Hotel South Portland
Marriott South Portland
South Portland Marriott
Portland Marriott At Sable Oaks South Portland, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.