We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks

Save Saved
You added Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Sable Oaks Drive, South Portland, ME 04106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in South Portland
Vermonville, New York, USA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“GREAT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

What a nice stay! The staff is very professional. The pool was the best part! They have a wonderfully WARM pool that the kids and myself loved. A beautiful patio is attached for fresh air. The rooms were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    133
    58
    28
    12
See reviews for
83
107
21
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

My wife and I stay here when we come to Portland to visit family. Room is fine, TV is fine, food in the restaurant was good. I needed and tried to use the internet in my room #538 it was horrible. Slow, 400 kb/sec max download compared to Comcast which gives you 17mb/sec download. That is a huge difference. The speed made dealing with my business needs impossible. They now offer Starbucks coffee in the lobby at 50% more than you would pay at a local Starbucks and the coffee in the room is bad. (a huge turn off). The pool is nice, the rooms are clean. Next time I come to Portland I'm looking for a hotel that has decent internet service, which was fine at Sable Oaks previously but is now very bad. Perhaps they changed their provider since you don't need a code to get wireless, but it's so bad you can't use it.

Room Tip: If you need internet access for business try it before you stay. My room was terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Ontario
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This is a great property, nicely set back from the road, and full of character. Check in staff was quick and friendly. There are quite a few choices nearby for food. It has a nice pool and my kids loved it. Concierge was nicely set up, and we enjoyed our breakfast. Overall great service I would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room if available, you get a bit more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwell, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Nice hotel, in a good location by the mall. Lobby/bar/restaurants are quite nice, with many big screen TVs to catch the game. The rooms are standard Marriott decor, which seem to be renovated, as they have the "old style" layout, but the bed (nice and firm) desk and TVs are top notch.

Only gripes:
1) Old toilet and it didn't flush without holding the handle down for at least 5 seconds. Easy fix Marriott.
2) Old header/AC unit with a wall control that ONLY allowed for temp setting. This drives me nuts because the unit rumbles to life when heat is needed, then turns off. I like to sleep with it on "FAN ONLY" mode, which many Marriott's have, but not this one.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Just stayed at the Marriott Sable Oaks last Saturday. We had our anniversary and wanted to make it special so we stayed at the Marriott and went downtown for dinner at Fore Steet (definitely recommend). Hotel is convenient to getting on 295 to go downtown as well as close to the Maine Mall and shopping and other restaurants. I am a Platinum member of Marriott's program and found the hotel to be nice. It has been recently renovated. Registration staff could have been friendlier, the room was good, and a good layout. We were on the Club level, it was nice as there were few people on it, though the club was not open on the weekend. Had reserved the breareakfast package and recommend it.

Only issue was we left some clothes haning in the closet and have called twice without any response as to whether or not they have been found or retrieved. Plan to call again tomorrow and ask for a Manager to talk to. The Lost and Found is only a recording and seems to be a black hole since it's been 2 days since we left the first message. Would stay there again, but be sure not to leave behind anything unless you want to call it a donation to Goodwill.

Room Tip: Recommend a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

we stay here every Thanksgiving to visit family in the area. Two years now we have had Thanksgiving dinner at the hotel. We love the location very close to the Maine Mall and the highway but no noise and traffic. The rooms are clean and love the Bath and Body Ginger line. We enjoy the convenience of the Bar and restaurant and have always have had great service from the staff and good food!! When we come back to the hotel in the evening there were wonderful sugar cookies and Hot apple cider in the lobby. This year my son and his wife brought their Corgi and they had a ground floor room with a slider to the back. I always feel like this hotel makes my visit to Portland stress free!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for three days during a conference and it's a pretty solid mid-range hotel that you would expect from Marriott. Nothing particularly bad, but also nothing especially fantastic about it either. Wait, I take that back. The toiletries (by Bath & Body Works) are really great and smell amazing. Other than that, pretty standard. The rooms are an average size and of average cleanliness, although housekeeping doesn't do a great job with making a newly made up room look "polished." Towels are hung messily, bed linens look a little haphazard, etc. Not that that's something that would detract from staying there again, but was a little disappointing. The lobby is averagely nice, and I didn't eat at the hotel restaurant but that also seemed average-ish, maybe on the good side of average. Personally I thought the bed was VERY comfortable, although I spoke to other conference-goers who thought they were too hard.

It's a bit over-priced for the location and what you get, but as other reviewers have mentioned it's easy enough to get to the Maine Mall and Old Port. In short, I would be happy enough to stay here again, but wouldn't go out of my way to do so.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor on the right-hand side of the corridor look straight out into a parking lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks

Address: 200 Sable Oaks Drive, South Portland, ME 04106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NEWLY RENOVATED Portland Marriott is complete! Improvements include, newly renovated lobby complete with a business center, contemporary designed guest rooms with plush bedding and new high speed in-room technology. Enjoy swimming in our new heated indoor pool, whirl pool. Indulge all of your senses in our new restaurant and lounge. Meet, greet and entertain in our spectacular grand ballrooms. The Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks is nestled on the hill of the scenic, yet modern, Sable Oaks community and just minutes from Portland Airport and historic downtown Portland. Enjoy fine-dining and boutique shopping in the Old Port. Bring the family to the legendary Old Orchard Beach, sight see at Portland Headlight historic lighthouse, enjoy a sunset cruise on Casco Bay or visit Portland's own Museum of Art. Offering dynamic meeting space, business center, golf course, indoor pool, fitness center and more Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks is the perfect location to exceed your expectations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Marriott At Sable Oaks Hotel South Portland
Marriott Hotel South Portland
Marriott South Portland
South Portland Marriott
Portland Marriott At Sable Oaks South Portland, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.