We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend Stay with Granddaughter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks to your Saves list
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Sable Oaks Drive, South Portland, ME 04106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in South Portland
Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Weekend Stay with Granddaughter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2007

We just returned from a great weekend stay at the Portland Sable Oaks Marriott. We wanted a place to take our 4 year old granddaughter who loves staying at hotels. We requested an early check in and had no problem getting it. We arrived at 10:30 and were immediately taken care of in a professional, friendly manner by the desk. The room was furnished nicely with very nice bedding. We had a corner room which made it larger than other rooms on the hall. The room was clean and nonsmoking, as are all rooms at Marriotts.

We used the pool twice during our stay and both times it was very enjoyable. The area was clean and well maintained. There was also a fitness room, sauna and whirlpool/hot tub.

We chose the breakfast weekend and had the usual Marriott breakfast brunch which our granddaughter loved. She though the Marriott was very "fancy" and had a great time. The staff were all very friendly and pleasant to her and us.

We told our granddaughter that we will bring her back again next year.
We do recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — comfortable, friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    140
    64
    28
    12
See reviews for
87
115
22
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Warren, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
764 reviews 764 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 262 cities Reviews in 262 cities
2,204 helpful votes 2,204 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2007

I was a guest of the Portland Convention and Visitors' Bureau and the Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks for Maine Destination Day this past week. I am always happy to stay at a Marriott hotel. The hotel layout designs are often identical to other Marriotts I have stayed in and somehow the predictable decor and room design makes the place seem more like home. The design of this hotel is identical to the one in Peabody, Mass., another good hotel.

The staff at this Marriott is really friendly and made me feel welcome from the moment I entered the property. Lobby area and rooms are spotless and well kept. My room was comfortable and beds filled with an abundance of cushy pillows. Towels and amenities in bathroom plentiful. Water pressure and hot water excellent. Elevators fast and efficient. Lots of TV stations. Blow Drier, Coffee Maker, Clock Radio, Nice Amenities, Everything you need is there.

Marriott is working to keep the environment 'green'...new shower heads to save water and low lighting in bath that comes up to bright after a few minutes if lights are left on...these are only two of the features I noticed.

I had the opportunity to order room service breakfast. It arrived on time with toast still hot! I highly recommend the experience to anybody. I attended a conference in the hotel as well and found the facilities comfortable, and the lunch for 300 people good and reasonably well served.

My experience at this hotel was quite positive. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Disliked — This hotel is good for somebody who needs parking and who doesn't mind driving into town. It's a little far away from Portland downtown area.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxboro, MA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2007

We spent Sat. night (11/3) here in a king room as had a family function in the area the next day. The winds were blowing and it was raining very hard compliments of Noel. We arrived after the 4 p.m. check in and our room was ready. Check in was a breeze and off to our 3rd floor room. The hotel is situated easy off Rt.95 and is in a beautiful setting high on a hill. There are plenty of places to eat and shop at the Maine Mall just down the street. We chose Pizza Uno for a light supper as it was the closest and it was a good choice. The hotel was very busy but the lobby is spacious and laid out well. On Sunday morning they offer a buffet brunch for $12.00 and well worth it. If you need to stay in the area this Marriott is a good choice. Clean and comfortable and check out was also a breeze. Leslie at the front desk was very pleasant as were all the employees we encountered. We would definately stay here again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — limited carts for luggage
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2007

Excellent hotel, nicely set up on edge of large golf course. Easy to get to from Maine turnpike and easy to get to downtown Portland and RT295 north (Freeport ME about 25 min away). Near Portland airport.

  • Liked — Good central location
  • Disliked — room temperature hard to control
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2007

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for one night on a weekend getaway to Maine. The hotel was very nice, clean, and comfortable. The check-in was very quick. The pool, hot-tub and fitness room all looked pretty nice, but we didn't have time to use it. We used the wireless internet a lot and had no problems. The access number was given to us at the front desk upon arrival. The rooms were nice and what I would expect from a Marriott.

We would definitely have no reservations staying at this hotel again in the future.

  • Liked — Good overall service with a nice room. Fast easy internet connection.
  • Disliked — Don't have any complaints.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2007

We stayed at the Marriott for a night before our early flight out of PWI. The location, while not the most convenient to the airport, was nice and quiet. The free shuttle to the Mall and airport was great. Staff was more than nice and professional. My daughter enjoyed the indoor pool.

The room was nice, we were in a quiet end-of-the-hall room and the Marriott bedding was fantastic. WHat a comfortable bed! The hallway's could have used a vacuuming, would never consider walking barefoot.

It was a great value for the one night we stayed and I would stay again on the end of a trip. As we left so early in the morning we were not in need of a "complimentary breakfast" amenity - though the Breakfast (included) at the Embassy Suites PWI was great at the start of our trip.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Marriott in South Portland for one night. The room was clean and adequate. Unless you specifically go there to play golf or visit people nearby, I'd recommend staying downtown by the waterfront. We paid over $150/night and then had to take cabs ($20 one way plus tip) to the waterfront where we had a wonderful time and had a great lobster meal. I realized after our stay that we could have stayed at the Holiday Inn by the Old Port for about about the same price we paid for the Marriott and would could have walked everywhere. In all, it was an uneventful experience.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks

Address: 200 Sable Oaks Drive, South Portland, ME 04106
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in South Portland
#3 Romantic Hotel in South Portland
#5 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NEWLY RENOVATED Portland Marriott is complete! Improvements include, newly renovated lobby complete with a business center, contemporary designed guest rooms with plush bedding and new high speed in-room technology. Enjoy swimming in our new heated indoor pool, whirl pool. Indulge all of your senses in our new restaurant and lounge. Meet, greet and entertain in our spectacular grand ballrooms. The Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks is nestled on the hill of the scenic, yet modern, Sable Oaks community and just minutes from Portland Airport and historic downtown Portland. Enjoy fine-dining and boutique shopping in the Old Port. Bring the family to the legendary Old Orchard Beach, sight see at Portland Headlight historic lighthouse, enjoy a sunset cruise on Casco Bay or visit Portland's own Museum of Art. Offering dynamic meeting space, business center, golf course, indoor pool, fitness center and more Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks is the perfect location to exceed your expectations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Marriott At Sable Oaks Hotel South Portland
Marriott Hotel South Portland
Marriott South Portland
South Portland Marriott
Portland Marriott At Sable Oaks South Portland, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.