We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Weathervane Seafoods

Weathervane Seafoods
380 Gorham Rd, South Portland, ME 04106-2326
(207) 772-3856
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 140 Restaurants in South Portland
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Onset, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I brought a group of 30 here. We were treated well and very fast. Staff were accommodating and friendly and spent time with our patrons. Food was de-lish! Chowder was yummy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    38
    14
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Horrible across the board.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I guess we should have taken our warning from the fact that the parking lot was a virtual ghost town at dinner time on Sunday when all of the neighboring restaurants were quite full. This place was empty, except for about 10 tables on both sides of one row. It took awhile for our "waiter" to come to the table...I guess he was nice enough, but he was a horrendous server. He was clueless about the menu...I had to ask when he was wrapping up taking our order..."Uh...don't I get a choice of side?" and he struggled with that. He had taken our order...and never brought drinks until I asked about 10 minutes later. Then I had to ask for a refill...my husband never got one at all. I ordered the broiled fish and scallops. Scallops were lukewarm...fish was terrible. Dry and rubbery. The "side" of mashed potatoes must have been plopped onto the plate and microwaved. They were the worst...not to mention cold. Coleslaw...yuck. And my husband's "Admirals Platter" ....waiter said "No one can ever eat the whole thing!" Probably because it's mostly french fries ...and everything else is 75% greasy breading. This place was a complete waste of our vacation dollars. Please do yourself a favor and go elsewhere. Anywhere else.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Service great - food so-so”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stopped here after a long day flying from Florida. Staff friendly and accommodating. My husband had a fried chicken and shrimp combo and I had the lobster pie. Neither my hubby nor I cared for our meals. Wish I could remember our server's name - he was truly a bright spot. Would not return.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humboldt, SK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lobster Pie was awesome!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I visited the Weathervane restaurant three times on our visit to Portland. It was conveniently located across the street from our hotel. The first night there I had the Lobster Pie and a $5 marguerita! It was the best lobster I had ever had. The second time I had a fish sandwich which was very good and my husband had the shrimp dinner. The shrimp were huge and very tasty. The third time, I went back to the lobster pie because it was our last night in Portland and I wanted a meal to remember (we live on the prairies, so no fresh lobster available!). My husband had the seafood combo with shrimp, scallops and lobster and he agreed that the stuffing was excellent. The service was okay and the temperature was a little warm for our liking, but we survived. Would definitely go back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“The fried clams were Very good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We had a group of 10 and they put us in the back room. The service was very slow. The food was good. The fried clams were very very good! I would go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Weathervane Seafoods also viewed

 

Been to Weathervane Seafoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Weathervane Seafoods, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.