We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than the typical buffee -- especially if you like seafood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super Great Wall Buffet

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Super Great Wall Buffet
198 Maine Mall Rd, South Portland, ME 04106-2305
207-775-6655
Improve this listing
Ranked #99 of 140 Restaurants in South Portland
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Peaks Island, Maine
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Much better than the typical buffee -- especially if you like seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

This is a large and well kept buffet. Food is fresh, vegetables are not overcooked, dishes are not sitting too long. The dinner buffet includes surprisingly good Sushi, and lots of other seafood (including oysters on the half shell, clams on the half shell, peal and eat shrimp). While there is a Chinese core, there are lots of other foods, including tacos, pizza, roast beef, etc. It's not a romantic dinner spot, but a good value with lots of choice.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    7
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“super bad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

we really really disliked this place and will never ever return. the service was angry and the food was old and sparse. why on earth would i pay money to scrape old dried food out of a pan?

when i politely asked our visably agitated wairess for a cracker for the crablegs--- i actually saw her tremble in anger as she turned to get them. she returned a moment later and slammed them on the table. at this point my bf decided that he lost his appetite and was ready to go. fine by me.

if i want someone to act like they hate me, i'll just call up one of my ex's. it's cheaper.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peaks Island, Maine
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Better than most buffet restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Yes, you could come here and load up on fried grease. But there is a great sushi bar, along with oysters and clams at dinner. Food is fresh, and well tended. There are plenty of vegetables, seafood dishes, and other reasonably healthy options. It's not a place for a romantic dinner, but it works well when you want a light meal of fish and vegs, while your partner wants beef, sugar, and starch.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If you like raw bars, crab legs and sushi you got to try this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

if you go there for the Chinese food you may be disappointed. If your looking to feed your whole family cheap there is something for everyone including tacos and pizza. There is nothing special about the atmosphere. But we go the for the Seafood Seafood Seafood! For like only 12 bucks you get all you can eat raw oysters, cherry stones, craw fish. peal and eat shrimp, steamed snow crab legs, and a sushi chef putting out eel, tuna, sushimi, salmon, spicy rolls, etc. If this is what you like you will eat well more than your money's worth!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Never will return to that horrid place.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

Talk about "mystery meat".....all the fried meat things tasted like maybe dog...or cat...because I have never tasted any meat so bad..so stringy...and totally disgusting...the food was inedible.....
The topper was when I went to pay my check...and voiced my complaint on how terrible the food was...no money was refunded..not even an 'i'm sorry'......
Worst place I have ever eaten at!!!! And rude staff!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Super Great Wall Buffet also viewed

 
South Portland, ME
 

Been to Super Great Wall Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super Great Wall Buffet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.