We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Docks has 2 listings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dock's Seafood

Dock's Seafood
Corner of Broadway and Evans, 15 Evans Street, South Portland, ME
(207) 899-4433
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Springfield, Missouri
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Docks has 2 listings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Found two listings for Docks (one used an apostrophe.) Found this to be similar to other seafood restaurants in the northeast. You can eat in or outside on picnic tables, or take out. They did not sell beer or wine but suggested I was welcome to buy across street and bring inside. We had whole belly clams and crab crakes, both were excellent. The place was spotless. This is walk-up service, but lunch was $28 for 2, not counting the wine. Amazing how good food tastes good even on paper plates with wine in a plastic cup to accompany it.. This is a go back place, only wish it was in Springfield, MO. Bon appetite!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    23
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Lobster in a Casual Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My wife and I are in South Portland on a convention and went to Dock's because of the Trip Advisor rating. It was a short and simple drive from our hotel. It is extremely simple. You pick a table inside or out, go to the counter to get a menu, and return to order, pay for your food, and take a number (in that order). While you are waiting, you can go across te street to the Italian restaurant/package store to pick your wine or beer from a limited selection (Luckily, they had one bottle of Savignon Blanc). When your number is called, you pick up your tray and enjoy. The "Signature dish" is two lobsters at a very reasonable price. When we were there, it was one lb lobsters for $18.95. Good cole slaw and a large mound of thick french fries complete the order. On our two visits the kitchen service was prompt. The boiled lobster is a little messy, so we had lobster pie the second time. They also have a variety of fried and baked seafood and daily specials, if your taste doeesn't extend to lobster. A very satisfyinng meal at a reasonable price..

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow, this place is a gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We recently travled to Maine for family business and was advised to try Docks. Wow, it was amazing! We ate there twice. Having grown up in South Portland, a few streets from Docks, I am very familiar with the location. Not waterfront but who cares when you can get a twin lobster dinner for only $18.95! We had that both times as well as the steamers, which are half price for happy hour! The decor is so cute and the restaurant is very clean. The menu mostly consists of fried food, but all the seafood is very fresh and cooked to perfection! We were even able to bring our own beer and wine. Casual, well priced and fresh! We will visit here everytime we go to Maine for sure!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killingworth, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great lobster prices!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Five of us from Chicago, Connecticut, and Boston stopped here Monday night after a wake and were immediately impressed with the friendly owner, the cleanliness of the restaurant (which is a fish market too), and the competitive lobster prices. It's a small place with only about 8 tables inside, but we opted for one of the large picnic tables outside. It's BYOB, so the owner told us where to get beer and wine (across the street) and provided the wine opener. We started with fried zucchini, fried mushrooms, and scallops wrapped in bacon -- the zucchini was the best by far -- and then moved on to the delicious main meal: whole fried clams, fried scallops, and fried onion rings. Unlike the nasty cornmeal-coated food found in southern New England, this was the real deal with a light and tasty batter. YUM! Then three in our group topped off the evening with twin boiled lobsters apiece ($29 for two compared to $24 for one elsewhere). The restaurant closes at 8pm but the owner told us to stay and eat, drink, and relax as long as we wanted. The wine and food came to $40 per person. I'd definitely go back but next time I'll skip the appetizers and double up on the onion rings!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“quick seafood lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Needed a place for a quick lunch and the hotel clerk suggested Dock's. Pleasant and clean. Food was pretty good. We had chowder and lobster roll. The lobster roll was rather small. If I had more time I would have headed to the water front area.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dock's Seafood also viewed

South Portland, ME
 

Been to Dock's Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dock's Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.