We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great one night Stay in S. Portland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Main Street, South Portland, ME 04106   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in South Portland
Terrebonne, Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Great one night Stay in S. Portland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We were at this Hotel for one night and we really appreciated our stay. Check in was courteous and we enjoyed a clean and comfortable room on third floor. We were given complimentary coupons for the next morning breakfast at the ''Maine Table'', a restaurant contiguous to the Hotel. We were also given discount coupons for the dinner at the same restaurant. We were a little disappointed with the clam chowder we ordered. It was lukewarm going on cold, but it was late and we did not bother mentioning it to the waiter, who by the way was very polite and attentive. We are not difficult people, I admit. But honestly it should have been taken back. The complimentary buffet breakfast, the next morning, was good. They have a great heated outdoor swimming pool and a hot tub, an exercise room and other facilities for reception or meeting. It is very well located to visit the area of downtown Portland and Cape Elizabeth. We were given direction by Sam at the Reception which were valuable. Again very convenient and affordable. We would return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
We are delighted that you had a great stay. I apologize that your clam chowder was lukewarm at the Maine Table. I will be sure to let the restaurant manager know. Thank you for mentioning all of the great amenities that are included with your room, such as the 24 hour fitness center. We hope when traveling in Maine you will visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    203
    97
    33
    19
See reviews for
197
188
30
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We always try and stay at the Merry Manor in South Portland when we go to Portland for shopping or sport events. Always, Always a nice stay - very clean, friendly and everything you need....and the kids LOVE the pool and I LOVE the hot tub!!

Room Tip: I have really never had a bad room so all are good...I hear the suites are GREAT but have not stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Marcie, thank you for the great review of our property. It is wonderful to hear that your always have a great stay when visiting the Best Western Merry Manor Inn. I hope you loved all the renovations we made to the pool house and Jacuzzi tub areas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Hotel is being renovated and has the feel of a new hotel. It has a wonderful heated outdoor pool open all year round. There is easy access to downtown Portland. Breakfast at restaurant included. Staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Best Western Merry Manor. We appreciate hearing from our guests about our hotel and we love to hear that we are a good value. We think our location is great, centrally located to many nearby attractions and easily accessible. The great part is that you are not paying downtown Portland prices but are still able to enjoy all that downtown Portland has to offer by only driving 5 minutes to local attractions. We hope to see you back when all our updates to the hotel are complete!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

A real enjoyable stay, it is hard to find a bed that I can say is comfortable but the bed at the Merry Manor I rate an A+ slept as good as on my sleep number at home.The staff were wonderful the area quiet and a very good breakfast I will be staying with them on my visits to Portland Maine from now on

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
John, we are overjoyed by your great comments. It is nice to hear that our beds match the comfort of your sleep number bed. We provide our guests with many pillows to make the beds more comfy as well. We look forward to getting to know you when traveling in the Portland area. Please stop by and introduce yourself. We love making our guests feel like family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

This is my favorite hotel in the Portland area! I love this place! The staff is friendly and welcoming and the hotel is reasonably priced. The beds are super comfy. I have stayed in a regular room as well as a suite and both are excellent. The rooms are well appointed and are very clean and neat. The hotel is quiet and set back from Route 1. It is about a 5 minute drive from the Maine Mall. The complimentary breakfast is a fully served hot breakfast in the restaurant attached to the hotel--not your typical complimentary breakfast! The best part of this hotel is the indoor-outdoor pool! I was here once when it was cold outside and the pool was heated and I swam from the inside out to the outside part and watched the stars and the moon come up. The hot tub is wonderful and also has a small waterfall. This hotel is Portland's best kept secret, indeed!!!!!!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
I love that you called us the "Gem of Portland" and I totally agree! Many families recently stayed with us during April vacation and enjoyed a fun "staycation" right here at the Best Western Merry Manor. The heated outdoor pool and Jacuzzi with waterfall are what makes us a "hidden" secret. We are delighted that we are your favorite place to stay in Portland! We look forward to many more visits AND many more great memories to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Fairfield, Maine, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Food was excellent, staff very courteous and friendly. room was clean and comfortable, location ideal, right off 1-95, close to South Portland Mall, great indoor-outdoor pool, price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you Richard for your recent stay with us. We are delighted that your stay was comfortable and that you were able to enjoy many of the amenities such as the heated outdoor pool! You are correct in saying that the hotel is easily accessible to I-95, as well as Rt. 1 and I-295! We are just a short ride to Downtown Portland and many shopping outlets and the Maine Mall. Many guests love that they can stay with us when visiting the Portland area without paying the higher rates they experience when staying in Downtown Portland. Plus we have the relaxing pool that our guests enjoy all year round! We hope you will come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We have been going to the Merry Mannor in Portland Maine for the last 15 years. My kids love the outdoor heated swimming pool. We often just drive to Portland to get out of town in the winter for a few days. The staff are friendly and the rooms are extremely clean. Great improvements to the rooms and restaurant over the last 2-4 years. Great breakfast included in the price of the room. Staff are extermely kid friendly which has always made it our first choice in Portland!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Laura, thank you for your continued loyalty to our hotel! We love that families enjoy spending their free time at the Best Western Merry Manor Inn, especially when there are so many other hotels and destinations to choice from. If you like the changes that we have made in the past 2 years, you will love what we have planned in the future. This Spring we are adding a pitched roof to our King Wing as well as repaving the parking lot. This fall we will be completing renovations on 50 more rooms as well as many other design improvements. We are all excited about what is to come, especially when we have received so many compliments about the renovations to the Maine Table Restaurant and to the pool and Jacuzzi tub areas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn

Address: 700 Main Street, South Portland, ME 04106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in South Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in South Portland
#4 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Merry Manor Hotel South Portland
Best Western South Portland
South Portland Best Western
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn South Portland, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.