We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Accommodations! Affordable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Main Street, South Portland, ME 04106   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in South Portland
Enfield, Connecticut
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very Nice Accommodations! Affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I've been commuting for work for several weeks and just happened to find this place on line. In an effort to keep my costs down I chose this hotel blind because of the price. It's about 15 minutes from the downtown port area, right off the highway, it has a heated outdoor pool, hot tub, restaurant on site with a pub, microwave and mini fridge in the room.
When I arrived I found that it's a hidden gem. The staff is attentive and polite. The area is safe. The free parking is close to the entry doors for the rooms. The rooms are very neat and clean and everything is in working order. Big new TV, free internet, well working heating/cooling units. New beds. The cleaning staff is great!
Check in was a breeze with a special note to Laura who was extremely helpful both with my very first check in and my subsequent check ins.
This hotel is half the price of the ones downtown and frankly much nicer. The free breakfast is a fully cooked have it your way breakfast. Not the rubber eggs breakfast. Way more bang for your buck.
And as an added bonus....a massage chair in the rooms. Way to nail it Best Western.
I'll be back next week.

Donna R.

Room Tip: Parking level rooms near the door if you want easy in and easy out. Upper level rooms if you want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Donna, we are so glad you discovered our hidden gem. We are an older hotel, but we are definitely a favorite among families and business travelers. I am delighted that you found everything to your satisfaction from the heated outdoor pool, massage chair to the breakfast. We look forward to your many return visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    175
    93
    31
    19
See reviews for
187
161
28
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We had a wonderful experience here. Everyone was friendly, rooms were clean and the food was great but, I would have to say that the hit of our stay was the outdoors heated pool! What an experience to swim outside in the middle of winter. Our 9 year old had a blast!!! Thank you Best Western Inn for giving us a nice and relaxing weekend. Just what we needed. :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Charles, we are overjoyed that you and your family had a great stay! We are just one of three hotels in Maine that features a heated outdoor pool. It is an experience that is unlike any other. Your daughter can tell all her friends that she swam outside during the winter in Maine! Not many kids can say that! Thank you for your kind review. We hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermon, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We came in to the motel with aching backs and worried about getting any sleep that night. We saw the massage chair sitting next to our bed and immediately took turns using it. What a difference it made in our stay. The breakfast the next morning was a wonderful surprise too.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Barbara, thank you for your recent stay with us. We are so delighted that you enjoyed the massage chair in your room. They are only available in our King suites, so if you stay with us again be sure to mention you would like a room with a massage chair! They are a big hit among many of our weary travelers after a long journey. Of course, we also have the hot tub and heated outdoor pool to help our guests relax and unwind! We look forward to your return visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

A perfect location for our recent get-a-way weekend. We arrived Saturday and went into Portland for dinner and walked around this quaint, seaport town with wonderful local shops. Returned to take a swim in the outdoor heated swimming pool. Finished off the night with a cocktail in the newly renovated lounge which was beautiful. Enjoyed an amazing full breakfast buffet the next morning with waffles, pancakes, eggs, bacon, sausage, fruit, etc.... anything you wanted was there. The staff was friendly, caring and efficient.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
We are more than delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us! We really are perfectly located if you don't mind a few minute drive into Portland. We are conveniently located near both I-95 and I-295. We are also just a few miles from the Maine Mall and Portland area with all the attractions they have to offer. Many guests enjoy taking day trips to Freeport for a day of shopping, just 20 minutes away, or Kittery which is 40 minutes away. There is also the convenience of being just 10 minutes from Old Orchard Beach and Funtown/Splashtown in the summer! We appreciate your stay with us and hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

After a busy day of work we were pleasantly surprised with this Best Western. To have the experience of swimming in a heated outdoor swimming pool was awesome, Then on to relax in the hot tub. A great value! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed a little R & R after a long day's work. The pool and hot tub are a great amenity that all our guests enjoy. We appreciate your business and look forward to your future stays with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Not the most fancy or up-to-date hotel I've stayed in, but it does the job. The pool was great, especially because it was snowing out. Tough to get in a real swim with the air being as cold as it's been lately. Thought the hot tub looked a little dirty, but that may have been just me. The rooms themselves are a little warn down, but I found the bed very comfortable. Love that there is a gas station directly next door. Made running out for a snack easy! Really nice staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you found the beds to be comfortable. We are constantly replacing mattresses so that our guests have a comfortable night sleeping. I apologize if the hot tub appeared dirty. It is cleaned daily as well as the kiddie pool and heated outdoor pool. We are an older hotel and are constantly making changes and improvements to the hotel. We are currently in the process of changing all the bathroom counter tops to granite and recently completed renovations on 10 rooms. We work tirelessly to ensure that our facility is clean and that customer service is above standards. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakfield, United States
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

My wife and I found Best Western Merry Manor Inn to be excellent. The staff were outstanding. The rooms were very clean. The rates were very reasonable. I would heartily recommend this hotel The location and ease of access was also outstanding.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you James for the glowing recommendation! We strive to provide a great experience for all our guests, and customer satisfaction is our number one priority. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn

Address: 700 Main Street, South Portland, ME 04106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Merry Manor Hotel South Portland
Best Western South Portland
South Portland Best Western
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn South Portland, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.