We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Main Street, South Portland, ME 04106   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in South Portland
Gorham, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Forget about all the previous comments about the restaurant. It's been remodeled and re-staffed. The breakfast buffet is fabulous. It was hot, fast and plentiful. The new decor is clean and classy. No more dust! We would definately recommend this hotel to families.

Room Tip: Rooms out back are the best if traveling with a pet. They are a bit smaller than the inside rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for giving our restaurant a second chance after the remodel. This is a great example of how we listened to our guests feedback to make changes for the better. We are pleased you liked the changes we made and are very excited to offer fresh Maine dishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    202
    97
    33
    19
See reviews for
197
188
29
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Navarre, FL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

wife and i stayed here one night while traveling to a wedding in Bangor. After landing at the airport we called the motel for a shuttle service ride from the Portland airport (motel is 4 miles from the airport.) The hostess informed us they did not offer shuttle service. after reviewing their web site, we should have noted that the motel did not offer shuttle service. We called the local cab service and $20 later we were at the motel. Buyer's remorse. Otherwise, for the price,we would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback on your stay. Unfortunately we do not have a shuttle service. Many guests like our central location as we are just minutes from the airport and 5 miles to downtown Portland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We would definitely use this hotel in the future. We were very happy with our newly renovated room. Staff was very friendly. Breakfast was better than expected. Great location for shopping and eating out. Short ride to nice beaches.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you liked the renovated rooms. We are excited by the updates we have made and love to hear the positive feedback! Thank you for your business and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The hotel is old and in a poor state of repair, with worn decor. Worse, it is lacking in essentials such as proper security in the back parking lot, proper hygiene control at the breakfast buffet, and satisfactory cleanliness in the guest rooms. The pool area could be nice, but was in a poor state of repair and not as clean as I would have liked. Not up to the standards I would expect from Best Western. Not worth the price at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We are sorry we did not meet all of your expectations. We use this feedback to make improvements to our guests' stays. Recently we updated our key lock system to our exterior entrances to secure the building. We have also added many upgrades to rooms such as granite countertops, flat screen tvs, and more. Our pool is a big attractant to our guests. It is definitely a busy spot in the hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I stayed at 3 Best Westerns in Maine. Lots of similarities at all locations and I'd recommend all of them. However, the accommodations in South Portland need a face lift compared to other Best Westerns.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit to our hotel. We are always grateful for feedback from our guests. Our hotel is currently undergoing some renovations in the rooms. Our hotel is an older hotel and we are always making update and changes to better accommodate our guests. We appreciate your business and hope that you will come back to see some of the changes we are making!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Paris, Maine, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This Best Western is average price for the area. It is in the process of being renovated. The buffet breakfast is good quality but doesn't come with the room unless in a package deal. The beds and pillows are very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us recently and the feedback you have provided. We are always looking at ways to improve our hotel such as the renovations you mentioned. We recently completed renovating our on-site restaurant, The Maine Table, that now includes a lounge area. Most rooms come with breakfast for 2 included in the rate unless made through a third party site, such as Expedia and Booking.com. We hope you were able to enjoy the swimming pool that is open year-round. Please visit us this winter and come swim in the snow! It is a unique experience for the whole family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Place is getting remodeled. We stayed in a room that was not renovated yet and common areas were dirty and unkept. Would find a hotel closer to the waterfront. Free breakfast was not appealing. Room was very small.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
We are sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. We try to accommodate all our guests. We are just finishing up with renovations to 10 of our rooms to include a room with Pergo flooring for those guests with sensitive allergies. Our hotel is conveniently located off 295 and I95 and just minutes to the Maine Mall Area. Families enjoy our heated outdoor pool year-round. We hope you will give us another chance and appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn

Address: 700 Main Street, South Portland, ME 04106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in South Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in South Portland
#4 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Merry Manor Hotel South Portland
Best Western South Portland
South Portland Best Western
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn South Portland, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.