We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Priced Right” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Main Street, South Portland, ME 04106   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in South Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Priced Right”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My mom and I stayed here on a recent trip to Portland. Our room was comfortable and clean, but could use a remodel. The staff was friendly. The breakfast offered in the restaurant was very good and had a lot of choices. You could choose the buffet or order from a menu. The price paid for the room made it a good value and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank for taking a few minutes and letting others know how much you enjoyed your stay with the Best Western Merry Manor Inn. We truly appreciate your business. Breakfast is complimentary at our restaurant with qualifying rates. The breakfast includes a choice of 4 sit down meals that includes everything from homefries, eggs, blueberry pancakes, sausage and seasonal fruit. On certain days a buffet is offered. The Restaurant is also open from 5PM-9PM and offers a selection of burgers, sandwiches and fries. Beer and wine are also served.
We do continuously remodel and upgrade our rooms and have plans to continue this winter. It is a never ending process that we gladly do. We want our guests to be comfortable and enjoy their stay. I hope you had a chance to try our year round outdoor heated pool and fitness center. May I suggest you try the pool this winter? Swimming outside during a Maine snow squall or under the winter night sky is amazing.
Thank you again for staying with us. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    221
    105
    36
    20
See reviews for
229
218
33
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Groveton, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I needed a quick getaway, and chose the Merry Manor for a two night stay. Upon arriving we were greeted warmly by the two people at the front desk. Our room was wonderful, good sized, with fridge, micro, coffeemaker, and large TV. As we had gotten in pretty late, we did not have time to check out the pool. We weren't tired, so we wandered to the front desk and spoke with the night auditor. He went out of his way to show us the pool and spa area, and we couldn't wait for morning. The pool area entrance goes into a room set up with chairs, table, and a mini library, then into a larger room with 3 or 4 tables and chairs, and plenty of windows to not only look out, but also at the pool / water area. This water area has a kiddie pool and a large hot tub. The hot tub also has a waterfall feature that you can sit under, letting the warm water cascade over your neck, shoulders and back to wash away the pains of the day, while the rest of your body is sitting in the equally warm spa, letting the jets work on your lower back and legs. The other feature in this room is a wading area that leads through a doorway into the outdoor heated pool, so even if its cold outside, you won't have to get in or out of the pool in the cold, making it a very pleasant experience. I have been at some hotels that say they have heated pools, but I'm often left shivering. This pool, however, lives up to the word heated, and even though the night air was quite cool, it was very pleasant soaking in the warmth of the water, watching the moon as it rose in the sky. Breakfast is included in the rate, and it was delicious. Upon checking out, the two people at the desk asked to make sure our stay was great, which started our day out right. I would definitely recommend this location to my friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Great customer service, making our guests' feel relaxed, and clean comfortable rooms are what we continuosly work toward. Our indoor/outdoor heated pool is unique to the area. I know of only one other in the state. That one is up a ski resort in western Maine. Our pool and our amazing hot tub are availlable for our guests' use from 6AM until 10PM - plenty of time to enjoy and relax in the warm water. We also offer Bath & BodyWorks amenities in all of our room. Complimentary freshly brewed coffee is available 24 hours a day in our lobby and we serve cookies every day in our lobby at 4PM. We also have a fitness center on site that can be accessed with a room key.
We hope you return and try one of our specialty suites. Our Maine Lake Lodge is decorated to resemble a cozy and rustic Maine camp with all the modern conveniences and special touches. Some will bring a chuckle to you. It has its own hottub and fireplace. The Captian's Suite guarantees a luxurious night's sleep. It too has a hottub and fireplace. Its decorated to suggest that a long ago Captain of a Maine schooner brought treasures back home from far away places.
Thanks again for staying with us at the Best Western Merry Manor Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My sisters, mother and I stayed for a girls weekend away. The room overall was clean, the bathroom was very clean as well. However, the two chairs at the table in the room didn't match and were stained (we wouldn't sit on them) and the fan in the bathroom didn't work. But there was plenty of hot water and good water pressure.
The side entrance door that has a sign on it that you must use your room key to get in didn't have a lock on it and it had obviously had been some time since it had.
We received vouchers for breakfast every morning at the restaurant next door at no additional fee which was very convenient and unexpected. It was decent.
The price of the hotel was very inexpensive which allowed us to stay and additional night and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Best Western Merry Manor Inn and for taking a few minutes to leave positive comments on your stay. Please accept my apologies that not all of your expectations were met. All of our staff strives to insure that your stay is enjoyable and relaxing. If you should ever run into a problem with one of our rooms in the future, please do not hesitate to call the front desk. Our front desk staff is trained to address any issues that may arise during a guest's stay and would have gladly found chairs to your liking. We want you to be as comfortable here as in your own home. We do have electronic locks on all of our outside doors. At one time, we kept them locked 24 hours a day, but feedback from other guests suggested the need to lock them only after 9PM. Many people found them inconvenient during daylight hours, but we will take your comments into consideration.
May I suggest that Holiday shopping in the Portland area would be a great girls' weekend. The Maine Mall is nearby, but downtown Portland (10 minutes away), with its many shops and boutiques, will put you in the holiday spirit. The stores are beautifully decorated for the season. The Victorian Mansion should not be missed by anyone during the Christmas season. It is amazing. Local decorators plan for months how to dress her in her holiday regalia. After a tour of the Mansion, your group should hop on a horse drawn wagon and take a free tour of the City. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winwick, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed here on our tour of New England. The first impression was the rather overpowering smell from the pool area. However the room was fine with a comfortable bed.

The restaurant was ok and although the menu was fairly basic, the food was good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
We are happy that you enjoyed you stay with us at the Best Western Merry Manor Inn. Our unique year round pool is outdoors and I think that keeps the chlorine smell down. We also have a fitness center on site and a hot tub area for all of our guests to enjoy. The next time you stay with us, you should try one of our suites. We have suites (for a small upgrade fee) that have 2 television sets, couch and a fireplace. Our relaxation suite has one King size bed, a fireplace, and a small fountain on the wall. Our Honeymoon Suite has a fireplace and a hottub. We also have 2 fanatasy suites. One is the Captain's Suite and the other is the Maine Lake Lodge. The upgrade for these is a little higher than the regular suites, but well worth it. Each is uniquely decorated to reflect the theme of the suite. Each has a fireplace, hot tub and many special touches. I am sure you would be pleased with either one of those. Thanks again for staying with us. I hope you will consider us again for your next stay in the Portland area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

It's a 10 minute taxi ride into Portland and it's on quite a noisy road. However, the room was big, clean and well equipped. Plenty of parking, friendly staff and good gym room. We didn't use the pool but looked nice.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Best Western Merry Manor Inn. We appreciate your business. You are correct. We are located on Route 1 in South Portland - about a 10 minute drive to the Old Port. My office is at the front of the building, yet I hear very little noise from the traffic outside. Our guest rooms are actually further back, and even less noise is evident in them. The Old Port is an exciting place with a great night life and many fine restaurants. Several of the local chefs have been mentioned on the Food Channel, and during the warmer months Foodie Tours in the Old Port are very popular. This time of year, the area is gearing up for its Christmas celebration. Portland puts on quite a celebration with carolers dressed in Victorian outfits and free hay rides through the decorated streets of Portland. There are no big box stores in the Old Port. Her small and unique stores and boutiques are perfect for browsing for that special holiday gift. Our outdoor pool is open year round. Come in swim under the stars after an afternoon of holiday shopping. Thanks again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WOLFVILLE
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The room was quite large, the bed comfortable and the shower was good. The value was very good. We enjoyed our stay, and would be happy to return there another time.

We were there with a convention and the staff were helpful, and very pleasant.

Room Tip: We had a corner room, and it was quite large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
I would like to thank you for staying with us recently at the Best Western Merry Manor Inn. All of us here want to insure that each one of our guests has a comfortable and relaxing stay. We pride ourselves in going that extra step to make certain of that goal. We do have rooms with either 2 queen sized beds or one king size bed. Many of our king size rooms have massage chairs at no extra expense to the guest. The king rooms also have refrigerators and microwaves in them. Many of our Queen rooms have them also, but we do have extras available upon request. Soon, all of our rooms will have a 32 inch flat screen television. A complimentary sit down breakfast for every guest in the room is included with qualifying rates. We have complimentary freshly brewed coffee in the lobby 24 hours a day for the night owls among us. We also have a fitness center and a unique year round outdoor heated pool. The pool is presently open from 6AM until 10PM. Thanks again for staying with us. We hope you will soon return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Booked here Oct 2012, lobby scared me. Rooms pleasantly surprised. Clean, comfortable and spacious. Twin flatscreens and massaging recliner was nice surprise. $40 cab downtown but at $100 a night not bad option.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Best Western Merry Manor Inn. We appreciate you selecting us to fulfill your lodging needs in the Portland area. We are aware that you, as the consumer, have many choices for overnight accomdations in this area. We are an older building, but we try very hard to give each and every guest who walks through our door a great experience. We are proud of our clean, comfortable rooms. We want you to come back. All of our rooms will soon have 32 inch flat screen televisions. Most of our rooms have microwaves and refrigerators. All of our rooms have coffee makers, irons and ironing boards. Many of our king rooms have massage chairs. We also have free internet access throughout the building. If you do come back to the area, you must try one of our themed suites. The Captain's suite has luxurious touches throughout, and will remind you of a sea captain from long ago bringing treasures from far away ports. The Maine Lake Lodge resembles a rustic lodge on a lake with all the modern conveniences. Both suites have a hot tub and fireplace in them for a romantic getaway. Thanks again for staying with us. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn

Address: 700 Main Street, South Portland, ME 04106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in South Portland
#2 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Merry Manor Hotel South Portland
Best Western South Portland
South Portland Best Western
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn South Portland, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.