We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third time staying here...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Main Street, South Portland, ME 04106   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in South Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Third time staying here...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

We often travel at the last minute, and happened upon this Best Western on a spontaneous drive to Maine for the first time last year.
The location is very convenient (quick drive off i95), the rooms are clean, breakfast at Governor's is surprisingly delicious (get the blueberry pancakes! and homemade raisin bread!), and the hotel staff is always friendly.
Last-minute reservations are quick and easy, with nice rates to boot. As New Yorker foodies who travel up here for fresh air and great eats, this Best Western balances out our trip perfectly. And the massage chairs - totally unexpected bonus :)

Room Tip: Book online prior to stay for best rates - join Best Western frequency program, and milk those AAA r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWmgr, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2011
We are so pleased that you have discovered our hotel on your trips to Portland, Maine. As you noted we are conveniently located directly off Exit 45 of I95. We are centrally located to the Greater Portland area and are just a short drive to many fine restaurants and attractions. We are proud of our affiliation with Governor's Restaurant and are pleased you enjoyed your blueberry pancakes and raisin bread. Don't forget Maine in winter. We are the only hotel in the area that has a year round outdoor heated pool. Our friendly staff will be awaiting your next visit to Vacationland. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    221
    105
    36
    20
See reviews for
229
218
33
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Rooms were clean and comfortable but somewhat outdated. Breakfast is complimentary at a restaurant attached to this hotel, but although we stayed five days, we only used the vouchers once. The food selection was fine, but we do not eat heavy fried foods early in the morning, so it was not for us.
The pool was quite nice and we enjoyed spending a hot afternoon there. Lots of lounge chairs and few other people around.
We would probably stay here again as we visit Portland quite alot, and this place was fairly central for shopping.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWmgr, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Thank you for staying with us at the Best Western Merry Manor Inn. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and plan on using us again. Our complimentary breakfast vouchers for qualified rates do include other options besides a large meal. We offer an assortment of cereals, bagels, and seasonal fruit. Be sure to try out our lighter breakfast fare the next time you stay with us. I am sure you will enjoy it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

This hotel is huge, and rambling and oddly put-together, kind of crazy quilt architecture. I, too, noticed the musty smell by the elevators. The decor is dated and anyplace you go within the hotel is a long walk. I traveled with my father, who is pushing ninety and doesn't walk well.

However, we enjoyed ourselves very much. The hotel is very clean, and the smell doesn't extend to the rooms. I never expect much from giant chains near freeway off-ramps so I was surprised. The beds were comfortable. The room had a coffee maker (and the maid replaced the coffee daily, no charge) and a fridge. The remote was a flat button kind that can actually be cleaned (I've tested remotes for bacteria ~ you don't want to know) which is a very pleasant surprise.

The staff was superb. We had a defective air conditioner which they replaced! They keep spares in the basement so you don't have a mechanic in your room for three hours, they swap units and fix it out of sight. How cool is that? The front desk staff were all very friendly and helpful. Whenever I wanted to know where to find something (drugstore, liquor store, whatever) they had directions and hours for me. And there's woods right behind the hotel! The view from the front is suburbia but from the back is rural.

The property is so-so, but the staff so much more than makes up for that. Did I mention it's ten minutes from the airport? We never heard a plane.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWmgr, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Thank you for staying with us at the Best Western Merry Manor Inn recently. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and in particular, our friendly and caring associates. We pride ourselves in giving each and every guest the best customer service we can. We do have long corriders, but we hope our elevator help to alleviate some of your father's walking issues. We are also constantly updating our public areas and guest rooms. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorham, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We've stayed here before; it just gets better and better. The staff takes time to say hello: seems like they are glad to have you here. The outdoor pool is sparkling clear. The rooms very clean, and with extra pillows on the beds (no yardsale flat pancake pillows in this hotel). There's a free sit down hot breakfast, computer in the lobby, newspapers...even a bookshelf with books to take with you onto your next destination. Love it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWmgr, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Best Western Merry Manor Inn. Be sure to bring your family back this winter and try our year round outdoor heated pool when the snow is falling. You will not believe it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

My wife, 2 kids and I arrived in Portland around 7 pm and when went online to look for a hotel. Surprisingly there were very few rooms available in the entire city. We took the highest rated hotel available which was the Best Western. For $200+ we got a room with 2 doubles and a free breakfast. Our first impression of this hotel / motel is that it is old. The carpets / decor are very dated and the room just felt unclean. I'm not saying it was unclean as we did not see anything but it just felt that way because of the carpet, drapes and heavy old bedcovers and blankets. We ate dinner at the restaurant attached to the hotel. Dinner was cheap but decent. The decor in the restaurant matched the room. The full breakfast was at the same restaurant. You could either get bacon / sausage and eggs or eat at the buffet. We had the buffet and were quite satisfied with the food.
In conclusion, I had no complaints about this hotel, just that I felt I paid 4 star pricing for a 2 star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWmgr, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment on the Best Western Merry Manor Inn. We are sorry that you felt the price was a little high at the time of your stay. We are continuously updating our carpeting and deor. In the summer we are at the peak of the travel season and our rates, along with other hotels in the area, reflect the demand. The fall, winter and spring are also great times to visit Portland, Maine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Very nice outdoor pool. very good location near the interstate. very good complimentary breakfast. Shopping center nearby. Beach (state park)also not too far from the hotel. Family enjoyed. Good desk service. we'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWmgr, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Our location is perfect as a base for many nearby day adventures. Our outdoor pool is open year round - even in a snowstorm. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, New Brunswick
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Merry Manor quite by chance, booked through a loyalty program redemption. Our experience was kind of hit and miss. The building is dated, but in good repair. The room's amenities were very good, with a fridge, microwave, new a/c, wifi, cable with HBO and even a leather power massage chair. The mattress looked old and the pillows were cheap, but not bad. A made-to-order (limited) breakfast was also included at the attached Governor's restaurant - a welcome addition.

So why can't I give this a 4/5 rating? Well... the property smells. Upon walking into the lobby, it smelled like a musty basement. After parking, we went in the entrance nearest our room and the smell was actually worse. It was hot, humid and musty. We almost turned around and left. However, we went on to the room and it was actually fine. The next morning we went to the restaurant and it smelled musty all the way. Even by the ballrooms (which looked nice) was the same. I couldn't imagine paying to hold a function there. If they could just air the common areas out or something, this place would be a real gem.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWmgr, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
We are glad that you stayed recently with us. We have recently replaced the carpeting in the hallways and are continuously updating our hotel. The restaurant next door, Governor's Restaurant, is a popular place for many functions, such as wedding receptions, military reunions, class reunions and holiday parties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn

Address: 700 Main Street, South Portland, ME 04106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in South Portland
#2 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Merry Manor Hotel South Portland
Best Western South Portland
South Portland Best Western
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn South Portland, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.