We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ONLY reason we travel to Portland, Maine is The Cracker Barrel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crackerbarrel

Crackerbarrel
357 Maine Mall Road, South Portland, ME 04106
(207) 773-7530
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 141 Restaurants in South Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Armenian
Restaurant details
NewcAstle Maine
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The ONLY reason we travel to Portland, Maine is The Cracker Barrel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We shop quite frequently in Freeport, and book our hotel in Portland just so we can dine supper and breakfast at the Cracker Barrel. The food is always delicious! This time I had grilled rainbow trout, Mac n cheese, cheese grits, and fluffy warm biscuits. Did not disappoint! All for around $10. Desert? Who had room? The store is wonderful to shop while waiting for a table but this visit we did not havr to wait. The rockers on the front porch are nice to rest on while waiting for our group to shop after our meal. "we'll all come back real soon!"

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    31
    9
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
chelsea,me
Top Contributor
371 reviews 371 reviews
283 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

took friends from the Bahamas they had a ball . 3 of use had country fried steak with the grits just great. the atmosphere was wonderful like steeping back in time 50 years . try it you'll love it

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

First time at a Crackerbarrel and not the last! Huge portions and good tasting food combined with great prices. What more could we want?
I had the steak bits which I would recommend and my wife the chicken done in buttermilk which was even better. The highlight was the biscuits, though!
Service was good, but the server could have been a little friendlier.
I highly recommend this Crackerbarrel and assume the rest will be as good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good food fair price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Food was good, service was good. I ordered chicken and it was the biggest piece of chicken i have ever got at a restaurant. Very good value.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“good food, as always; server homophobic?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We always enjoy CB, and we were not disappointed. Server was even nice enough to tell me not to get the chicken livers because they are previously frozen. We love the atmosphere and the food. However, server found several ways to question us--asking our family of four if we wanted separate checks, and even when we said no we were a family, asked if we wanted separate boxes for left overs just in case we were "going separate places." It was pretty obvious she had a problem with our alternative family. If CB condones this, perhaps we and our gay-friendly friends should stay away, which they would. Hope not.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crackerbarrel also viewed

South Portland, ME
 
South Portland, ME
 

Been to Crackerbarrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crackerbarrel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.