We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip off” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn South Portland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Knights Inn South Portland to your Saves list
Knights Inn South Portland
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   634 Main Street, South Portland, ME 04106   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in South Portland
Easton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rip off”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Last minute check in, due to no vacancies in other are motels/hotels. Was charged $179.00 plus tax for 2 queen size bed room. Room had no closet or area for hanging clothes, no microwave or refrigerator, bathroom had no vanity or counter for toiletries such toothbrush, toothpaste or makeup, etc. Shoer fixture was broken and kept on falling off- almost hit my head. And to top it all off---there were flea like creatures flying about the room. Would never come back.

Room Tip: Ask to see room prior to accepting it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    15
    13
    5
    14
See reviews for
11
14
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Going cheap is just that, going cheap. What you have to give up is the issue. Black growth on the bottom of your bathing facilities shower curtain is not what I would consider a "quality" experience. What else is being neglected would be my next question. Overall if this were the last place left to stay it would beat sleeping in the car. Don't waste your time on what this facility calls a "continental breakfast" unless you consider a box of Dunkin Donuts and a couple of pieces of fruit a continental breakfast. Personally I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We've been prisoners of motel franchises in Portland ever since our son and his family moved here a few years ago. We found Knights Inn when the franchises were all sold out on a busy weekend. Knights Inn was a pleasant surprise: clean, no evidence of smoker contamination, and windows that actually open! It was basic, but the room was clean and quite adequate, and a lot cheaper than those franchises. Very close to beautiful downtown Portland, too. We didn't have any contact with the management, but that's okay by me.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Room was very clean and spacious with excellent value for your money rates! Hotel managers very friendly and eager to make sure your stay is just right. Would definitely stay again and recommend to other travelers.

Room Tip: Right on Route 1 in Maine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The cleaning lady is loosing her hair everywhere in the room.
If you are drunk and don't care about weird sperm spots on the blanket, maybe it is a good motel for you, but other than that you should definitively pay more for a better quality room. Bring your Lysols and Febreeze!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed in the yellow building and was very happy. The room was clean, had a fridge and microwave, the bed was comfortable and the price was great for what we got. would stay here again. Great for the money. As others said, was a bit wary and it looks like nothing special from the outside but the room was good and they had free coffee and donuts in the lobby.

Room Tip: King size bed, yellow building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

My second time here. Hotel is clean with new carpet and painting. Bathroom is a new one piece. Will book again and any time I am in Portland. It is close to shopping and all amentities. They have a fridge and microwave that is a bonus if you don't want to spend a lot on eating out.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knights Inn South Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn South Portland

Address: 634 Main Street, South Portland, ME 04106
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Knights Inn South Portland 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Knights Inn South Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn South Portland Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knights Inn South Portland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.