We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive Portland motel near exit 4, I-295” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn South Portland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Knights Inn South Portland to your Saves list
Knights Inn South Portland
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   634 Main Street, South Portland, ME 04106   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in South Portland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Inexpensive Portland motel near exit 4, I-295”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We've been prisoners of motel franchises in Portland ever since our son and his family moved here a few years ago. We found Knights Inn when the franchises were all sold out on a busy weekend. Knights Inn was a pleasant surprise: clean, no evidence of smoker contamination, and windows that actually open! It was basic, but the room was clean and quite adequate, and a lot cheaper than those franchises. Very close to beautiful downtown Portland, too. We didn't have any contact with the management, but that's okay by me.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    15
    13
    5
    14
See reviews for
11
14
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Room was very clean and spacious with excellent value for your money rates! Hotel managers very friendly and eager to make sure your stay is just right. Would definitely stay again and recommend to other travelers.

Room Tip: Right on Route 1 in Maine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The cleaning lady is loosing her hair everywhere in the room.
If you are drunk and don't care about weird sperm spots on the blanket, maybe it is a good motel for you, but other than that you should definitively pay more for a better quality room. Bring your Lysols and Febreeze!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed in the yellow building and was very happy. The room was clean, had a fridge and microwave, the bed was comfortable and the price was great for what we got. would stay here again. Great for the money. As others said, was a bit wary and it looks like nothing special from the outside but the room was good and they had free coffee and donuts in the lobby.

Room Tip: King size bed, yellow building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

My second time here. Hotel is clean with new carpet and painting. Bathroom is a new one piece. Will book again and any time I am in Portland. It is close to shopping and all amentities. They have a fridge and microwave that is a bonus if you don't want to spend a lot on eating out.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Portland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Beware the little signs in the supposed non-smoking rooms that smell of smoke and then being accused of smoking in the non-smoking room. Little signs read $150 charge for smoking in room. Also this site booked me for the wrong date with no way to refund or change. I attempted several times to call the overseas number without an answer.



  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I was a little wary of this property based on some of the reviews I'd read, however, I was pleasantly surprised. The outside of the Knights Inn isn't much to look at but our rooms were quite nice. We stayed in the "yellow" building and we were pleased to see that our rooms were a good size, equipped with a fridge and microwave.

Some reviewers have commented on the smell or cleanliness but my experience was that the room was free of any unusual odours and it was extremely clean. Clearly, someone had taken great care in the upkeep of the rooms.

This isn't a 4 star property. But the rooms were larger than average, very clean, ample parking, just minutes from restaurants and shopping, oh and the fella that checked us in was very very friendly and warm.

I would definitely stay here again. Excellent value for the money spent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knights Inn South Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn South Portland

Address: 634 Main Street, South Portland, ME 04106
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Knights Inn South Portland 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Knights Inn South Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn South Portland Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knights Inn South Portland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.