We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing - Don't Bother” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Seal Cruises

Atlantic Seal Cruises
Freeport Town Wharf (PO Box 146), South Freeport, ME 04078
207-865-6112
Improve this listing
Summerfield, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing - Don't Bother”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Atlantic Cruises travels from Bailey Island to Eagle Island on Tuesdays and Fridays at 9:30 and 1:30. We called on Monday to confirm and verify the location for a Tuesday morning at 9:30. We asked if we needed to make a reservation - no. So, we arrived at the Bailey Island location around 9:00 and saw several people milling around. Shortly thereafter, the boat pulled in, and we walked down to be greeted by the captain/owner. We politely asked about the Eagle Island cruise and were abruptly told that this morning he had a charter group and would not be taking the cruise. When we told him that we had called yesterday to confirm, we were NOT told about a cancellation (if so, we would have arranged to go on the 1:30). He said that he did not supervise the person who answered the phone and had no responsibility for what we were told.

In fact, there was a family who had chartered the boat to scatter their father's/grandfather's ashes at sea. This, of course, is a lovely tribute, but we are confident that the captain/owner realized a greater profit on the charter than we would pay for the cruise to Eagle Island.

We traveled all the way from Florida and were looking forward to this cruise, and had previous plans that would not let us take the 1:30. But the issue is larger than that. Why were we told that we could go on the 9:30 less than 24 hours earlier. We think that the owner is not a good business person - therefore, we question the safety of his vessel.

Look for another boat operator...now we see other reviews of people who have also been burned by this operator.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    0
    0
    0
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Osterville, MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Magical day with Atlantic Seal Cruises to Eagle Island...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Captain Ring absolutely made our trip to Eagle Island. We just loved spending time with this salt of the earth that is 100% made in America. Saw some seals, hauled in some lobster pots, and learned some interesting local history on route. Eagle Island, Admiral Peary's home and the fun-loving, informative volunteer guides topped off the trip. Our kids loved the haunted closet, the cool peep hole, enchanted walking paths, and the player piano that rocked the house with spirited tunes from the past. Get away from the material world of Freeport and have a down-east adventure!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Terrible experience, terrible people!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Do not book a trip with the company!! We made a reservation for our family (2 adults and 2 small kids) to go from Cook's Lobster to Eagel Island. We made an actual reservation 3 days in advance. We got up early and travelled 45 minutes only to be turned away. There was a large group charter for the 9:30 cruise (even though we made a reservation....) The kicker is that not only we were turned away, there was no appology. The captain said "well I can not be blamed for that..." At this point, we wanted an appology. (The appropiate business thing to do would be to offer a free or discounted trip later, but we did not even get an appology!) Outragious! I am stunned by the lack of any sort of business-sense or even compassion of any sort. We were really looking forward to exploring the island now we are all upset, sad, and angry!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saco, Maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“irresponsible outfit”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

called two days in advance for reservation.Arrived early and waited after paying $10.00 for parking(no free parking).I sat on an empty boat until half hour before trip start time,no one around so called office and was told the trip was cancelled and that they called my home at 8:00 AM and left a message to let me know.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fun, Interesting, Relaxed and Memorable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

My husband, teenage son and I enjoyed taking a boat with Tom Ring and his assistant, Carter, out to Eagle Island in Casco Bay on Saturday, August 20. Blessed with smooth weather, sunshine and mild temperatures, we enjoyed the boat ride, commentary by Tom Ring and very interesting visit of Admiral Robert Peary's family summer home. Peary was the first man to pinpoint the location of the North Pole and took several other Arctic expeditions. Eagle Island is a place and attraction that many people don't know about, but is definitely worth a visit. The boat trip out takes 45 mins and we had an hour 1/2 to visit the house and walk the trails. It's also possible to take your own boat out to the island.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atlantic Seal Cruises also viewed

Been to Atlantic Seal Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Seal Cruises, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.