We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terry & Molly 2013 Just a get away trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kyes Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kyes Motel to your Saves list
Kyes Motel
137 West Front Street, Skowhegan, ME 04976   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Skowhegan
Glover, Vermont
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terry & Molly 2013 Just a get away trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed here for three night's the 12th -15 of September, and realy enjoyed our stay. The owners make you feel so welcome an a great atmosphere. The rooms arn't like the "Hilton", but very clean an comfortable. We realy enjoyed the breakfast we got in the mornings,and (couldn't beat the prices!!) sitting on the porch was so nice. I would tell anyone that I knew if they were going to go that way to be sure to stay there, you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana k, Owner at Kyes Motel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We enjoyed meeting you and hope to see you again.
Thanks for the nice card.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
6
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
afton, va
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed here in August of 2013, the rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. The pool area is very nice. The wifi was better than the branded hotel we stayed in the night before. The small breakfast cafe was very nice and the food delicious. They are akso motorcycke friendly. If you need a room in Skowhagen this would be a pleasant choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were very afraid at first glance, but glad we didn't judge a book by its cover. The room was simple but very clean, a back door opened to allow a breeze thru, and the beds were very comfortable. The pool was clean and the kids loved swimming there and in the river(jumping off the dock). The breakfasts were absolutely delicious and eating out on the porch was a delight (especially in the rain ). The motel has a great history, and was a welcome stopping point as there were no rooms in Bangor and we ended up spending an entire day at the Fair ! Quaint town, well deserving of a quaint motel. We have every intention of going back again !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Berwick, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here for three nights for a baseball tournament. The owners could not have been more accommodating in every way. The rooms were simple but clean. The Pool and river were great and the breakfast was like having your mom cook for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eliot, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Kyes Motel may not look like much, but it is worth the stay. The hospitality shown by the owner made thstay well worth it. From keeping the pool open late to use of a covered picnic area, our group felt welcomed and comfortable. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenmoore, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

A group of 6 of us on Motorcycles stopped at the Kyes during the week of August 13th and Dana and his wife couldn't have been nicer to us!! The rooms were clean and nice and to have the homemade breakfast that his wife made us the next morning was fantastic. The group of us were riding through Maine and I can say that this was one place that I would go back to again. The area behind the motel was so breathtaking it was wonderful, and to have it being owned by second generation family made it that much nicer. The lake was so pretty and we even picked wild Blackberries that were super sweet. If we ever go back there again I will not hesitate to go there again. Oh and the pool was incredible!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I stayed here with some friends this past summer. It was charming and quaint, and I loved the location. Right on the river with lovely woods and an easy walk to town. The owner, Dana, was extremely friendly and relaxed, and he even hung out with us when we made a bonfire in the back. The rooms are designed in a fairly standard way for motel rooms, and some have balconies. They have wood paneling, which give it a nice country feel, but also have the unfortunate effect of making the rooms feel very dark. The rooms are not very well stocked and somewhat unclean. When we arrived, there was only half a roll of toilet paper, and it was wet. We checked everywhere, but there wasn't any more. The shower, bathroom floor, and bathroom counter were also a bit dirty, and the carpet in the main part of the room had a grimy feel, so I kept my shoes on. The beds seemed clean and I have no complaints. They were comfortable and the pillows were nice. Some of the other furniture was worn or dirty-looking, such as the chairs in the rooms. Two bars of soap were provided, but nothing such as shampoo, coffee, etc. I did not use the T.V., but did notice that it was extremely old with a dial to change the channels. This does not bother me, but I know it would bother some people. One of the rooms that my friends stayed in had a double bed and a twin, but only two towels, which was a bit odd. The housekeeper kept walking in to my room while I was in it without knocking, during the time I had paid for (and had not checked out yet, nor was it past check-out time). I think it happened a total of 3 times. I think my final word on this motel is as follows: I personally liked it, because up-to-date facilities and amenities are less important to me than charm and personality. However, I felt that it was important to note these things because I know that they would bother some people. If you want a nice T.V., a floor you could eat off of, and enough toilet paper to make a paper mache mountain, then don't stay here. If you want a friendly owner, beautiful trails, access to the river, and an easy walk to town, then this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: The nicest rooms are the ones in the main building attached to the house and have a balcony in the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kyes Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyes Motel

Address: 137 West Front Street, Skowhegan, ME 04976
Location: United States > Maine > Skowhegan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Skowhegan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Kyes Motel, a quiet Skowhegan, Maine country motel on the river. Our motel is situated on fourteen acres of well-maintained grounds just minutes away from local shopping,restaurants, and entertainment. During your stay enjoy our trail to the Kennebec River and bring your canoe, kayak or boat to dock on our site! We pride ourselves in providing clean,comfortable, and affordable accommodations to travelers. Our rooms are all non-smoking and we have a couple of rooms for families with dogs. We also have cabin rentals with kitchenettes. Your morning breakfast is full of hot and delicious options. Starting your day with breakfast at Kyes Motel is the perfect way to start the day! Breakfast is served from 7:00 am to 10:00 am in our “Coffee Shop”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kyes Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyes Motel Skowhegan, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kyes Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.