We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean & friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmont Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skowhegan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Belmont Motel
Save
You added Belmont Motel to your Saves list
273 Madison Avenue, Skowhegan, ME 04976   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Skowhegan
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“clean & friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

We needed to break our journey, I selected Skowhegan as I liked the name (crazy English woman!) found the Belmont phoned from England and spoke to a charming gentleman to make the booking. Arrived safely to a very friendly and helpful reception. Our room was spotless, the bed very comfortable and the breakfast doughnuts delicious!
We would not hesitate to recommend this motel

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    15
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
12
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011 via mobile

We wanted to stay in the Skowhegan area for a couple of nights and after reading the reviews decided on the Belmont. This is one of the best values for the money we have ever received. Without a doubt the cleanest, neatest motels we've stayed at. Mind you it's not a five star hotel but for an independent motel you likely won't find any better. Only one minor fault ... the air conditioner was a bit loud. Walking distance to restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

With independents it's hard to know what you're getting, but I was pleasantly surprised by the Belmont Motel. The rooms were clean, the bed comfortable, the proprietor helpful and the free high-speed internet a plus. Only slight downside was I could hear a guest in the next room, though not enough to disturb sleeping. It's on a main road and in town so not a rural woodsy location, but it was convenient for my purposes.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nb Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

this is a rare jewell in older roadside motels, it isnta crown plaza , but its clean and the staff and owners are frindly.Sometimes we arent so sure with these mom and pops motels, but when in Skowhegan ., you can feel comfortable here,

Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Orchard Beach, Maine
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011 via mobile

We stayed at the Belmont for 4 nights before our apartment was ready. Very friendly staff, we felt safe, and it was well kept. I left my pillow behind by accident, and they called us the next day to come pick it up!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

This is a privately-run place, and it shows in its meticulously cared-for grounds and spotlessly clean rooms. Rooms have a fridge, microwave, and no-frills tube-type TV. All you need for an over-night in Skowhegan, or when you are visiting the annual Fair.

You get to park right outside of your motel room door, and there's even a cleaning cloth tied to a post for cleaning your headlights.

The place is pet-friendly, with an area at the rear of the property for walking "Robbie".

If you arrive in in the evening, expect to be checked-in by Dennis. The second time you stay, he'll have your reservation card out and ready by the time you enter the office doorway. In the morning, expect to be greeted by Mr. Hearn, the proprietor, who will invite you to have a donut, juice and a coffee to get you on your way.

A well-run property at reasonable cost.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

We stayed at the Belmont for several days on the way into Western Maine. The place is consistently terrific. We've used this lovely locally-owned motel as a jumping off place for camping in western Maine for several years. I read a couple of reviews and noticed a few of the lower ratings and am frankly amazed. There IS no Ritz Carlton in Western Maine, folks! And not everyone is looking for that anyway. The Belmont is consistent for being clean, comfortable, safe, convenient to the area, and friendly. It's a throw-back to all the good things you remember about "family-style" motels from when you were a kid (if you're over 40 :-) When you factor in the cost it's unbeatable.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmont Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmont Motel

Address: 273 Madison Avenue, Skowhegan, ME 04976
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Skowhegan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Skowhegan
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Belmont Hotel Skowhegan
Belmont Motel Skowhegan, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmont Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.