We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good but pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gifford's Famous Ice Cream

Gifford's Famous Ice Cream
307 Madison Avenue, Skowhegan, ME
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 36 Restaurants in Skowhegan
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Palmyra Maine USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“good but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great ice cream and shakes, but very pricey. We used to take our kids mini golfing in back when they were little (in the late 80s and early 90s, then have a treat. With the prices nowadays, we can't afford both.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Skowhegan
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

What can I say, the ice cream is the best around. A lot of great flavors. If you are passing through the area, I would recommend stopping. They have shakes, sundaes and parfaits as well.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Maine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best ice cream ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Gifford's ice cream is absolutely the best ice cream out there/ It is more expensive, but you know the old saying - you get what you pay for!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson ,Me
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Ice Cream in the State.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have sampled Giffords Ice Cream in Bangor ,Skowhegan And Waterville . It is always a treat . Full flavored ,fat free or sugar free or
frozen yogurt it is always delicious.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skowhegan, Maine
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We do not even bother to make our own anymore - why compete with what is the world's best ice cream? And they have once again won the world's best competition this year. Those Wisconin dairies had no idea about an ice creamery in Skowhegan, Maine until they started losing to Giffords year after year, just to prove it is not a fluke.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gifford's Famous Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Gifford's Famous Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gifford's Famous Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.