We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant surprise.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sebasco Harbor Resort

Save Saved
You added Sebasco Harbor Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sebasco Harbor Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 75, 29 Kenyon Road, Sebasco Estates, ME 04565   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sebasco Estates
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very pleasant surprise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2008

We stayed in the main lodge for 4 nights - 2 adults and 2 girls (9, 12). While the room was a little tight it was adequate and the balcony helped. Anyway, there is so much to do at Sebasco in fine weather that this is minor in the grand scheme of things.

Value-wise it helped that Sebasco had an internet offer on the accommodation so was very reasonable.

We found the "old style" lodge resort very appealing, and Sebasco's grounds and layout force you to relax. The entire staff was helpful, tried our hand at sailing, canoeing, family golf ... everything was accessible and not stressed. When we needed a fridge in the room to keep some medicine cool, that was supplied without effort.

Breakfast is adequate if basic. And the causal dining, while easy and friendly and good quality, gets monotonous. Views are excellent especially for dinner.

We were so occupied we didn't manage to get into the ocean-water pool. A real shame as it is a highlight of the resort.

We highly recommend Sebasco!

  • Liked — Fully-contained resort ready for relaxation
  • Disliked — Minimal eating options
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    69
    32
    15
    7
See reviews for
95
109
1
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

We are currently staying at the property in a family suite in the main lodge. As evidenced by my writing this review, the internet is working perfectly - wireless, excellent speeds. The room was in perfect shape when we arrived, the whole hotel is in nice shape, the few areas that were a little run down (some of the rec room's games were in tough shape) felt almost natural to be that way. I had been to this hotel years ago as a child, and it felt great to come back and bring my own kids. I didn't remember how cold the saltwater pool could get... 70° feels pretty frigid (I got used to it, but my 6 year old wants nothing to do with it). I thought the pool was in pretty good shape considering how old it is - didn't see much algae and saw staff constantly skimming the water to get rid of any stuff floating. I think the addition of a large Hot Tub would do wonders, I know my kid would have gone in knowing a hot tub was waiting for him when he got out.

The meals we have had so far have been terrific, Pilot house was yummy - best Scallops of the season. And the Grand Buffet was really great as well. Looking forward to the Lobsterbake tonight.

The Pirate Cruise is not to be missed, my kids loved it - the Pirate was fantastic!

I like the breakfast in the Cornelious room, very convenient to get to and pretty good for a buffet.

Overall, we would come back to this lovely and friendly establishment.

  • Liked — The beautiful views, and friendly staff
  • Disliked — How cold the pool was
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2008

We stayed at Sebasco from August 17th – August 20th. We are a family of 4 (2 adults / 2 kids – even though the 10 year old is considered an adult in their eyes (so they can charge some more $$$). The room was very nice for the $394 we paid for a Harbor Village Suite.

The kids (even though the 10 year old is considered an adult) went swimming shortly after we arrived in the salt water pool that looks more sea green than the blue on the sebasco web-site – (little shock / chlorine would go a long way here). The kids would dive down to the bottom of the deep end and write messages in the algae. Upon returning to the room, the room key would not open the front door. I dead bolted the back door when I left (keycard doesn’t open the deadbolt). The maid (the nicest person on site) tracked down Scott who eventually tracked down the master deadbolt key (took about 30 minutes) and told me a few times he would reprogram the front door by Monday (it was never done).
During that time, of waiting outside my door, I counted all the cigarette butts around the lawn in the near area (11 in all). A bit accessive for non smoking room(s). I mentioned this to the people at the front desk and was told it would be cleaned up / taken care of (never was as of Wednesday departure).

Diner at Ledges was good (awesome fries) but somewhat overpriced. We did the arcade that evening which was great fun – they need to spend a few bucks and fix all the broken / neglected games though. The other odd thing here was the person taking your money for bowling could not make change for a $10. You had to go to the front office to break a ten dollar bill and than feed your singles into the change machine.

Monday morning rolls around (great night sleep had by all). I try accessing email using the complimentary wifi and it is slow (I thought about how great a 300 baud modem would be about now) from our room.

Off to the pirate cruise aboard the Ruth. We had a great time on this – the person who was the pirate did a fantastic job with all the kids (even those 10 and over). After that, we went off-site to the local beach (well worth the 15 minute drive).

Upon returning, the kids went swimming again and enjoyed the algae rich sun pool. At home, my pool only looks like this when I first open it for the season - there is algae everywhere.

The room we stayed in had a small fridge and microwave so we decided to eat in for the evening. I go to the check-in area to access e-mail since you do get pretty good wifi in this area.

Tuesday morning it rained and the we decided to check the kids into Camp Merritt. It got mixed reviews from the kids - lunch was lousy according to the 10 year old adult - an egg sandwich and a drink - she asked for something else and got a ham sandwich (no chips / cookie - $8 for something that cost about 50 cents - I am guessing it was probably left over from another function - honestly, who gives kids egg salad.The 7 year old would go back but not her sister.

The sun made itself known around 4:00 and we did some canoeing / lawn games.The croquet set was probably the same one used when they first opened many years ago. At the canoe dock, there were some really big exposed nails – probably 3 inches long just waiting for someone to fall into them. We still had a nice time canoeing though.

The sea life presentation touch table was well ran (although started about 30 minutes late) – the lady that did this made sure all those involved had something in their hands. She was fun and answered all the questions the kids asked her.

Laundry was nice to have on site as well.

Awesome sunset. I enjoyed my sleep at Sebasco - probably the best rest I have gotten in a long time.

It was nice to see Sebasco going green (besides the pool) – recycling was everywhere / we had ample towels but overall I think it is overpriced for what you get. I think I would look elsewhere when we visit the area in the future.

  • Liked — Sleep - nice room
  • Disliked — lack of direction
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

We stayed at this resort on August 2,2008 for one night. The resort management cannot seem to decide what this resort is or which clients they wish to attract. There is a rather poorly equiped conference center, cabins with housekeeping for families, a lodge which serves as a hotel, a mediocre golf course and a marina for boaters to moor for the night.
The single restaurant on site suggested reservations but the staff did not respect the reservations. While we were seated in a nook of the restaurant with a compromised view, the food was OK. Most of the dinner guests had children and were on an American plan. The waitress was slow and completed an evening of weak service by losing the signed copy of the credit card receipt. This required a significant discussion with the manager in the morning.
The overall impression of the resort was that it was unkempt, dusty and sprawling without any plan.
The room for $341 was to have a harbor view. It actually had a view of the pond next to the harbor. The room itself was clean and very simple. No frills for the money.
Breakfast the following morning was cafeteria style in a large room set with plain tables and a buffet line. For a family with children this is an ideal breakfast plan. For couples it is less than quiet and intemate. Couples tended to migrate to the outer areas of the large room for privacy and to get away from the noise of the children.
Unfortunately, this was to be an oustanding finale to a beautiful Maine trip. It was very disappointing and expensive.

  • Liked — The view of the ocean.
  • Disliked — The lack of value, limited choices for restaurants, lack of quality of experience
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chipbarfly, General Manager at Sebasco Harbor Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2008
Thank you for allowing my property the opportunity to respond to the review in regard to the reviewer’s recent stay with us. As always, customer feedback – positive and negative- is the basis for our customer service principles. However, please allow me to respond to the issues presented in the review - an email was sent to the reviewer with a similar response, however, I have not heard back from them:

Resort Management – Sebasco has been welcoming families, conference attendees, couples and golfers for almost 80 years. We feel fortunate and blessed that we are able to attract guests that aren’t looking for a cookie-cutter type facility. July and August are predominantly families due to our activity schedules, children’s camp and amenities.

Conference Center – We host many meetings throughout the year and recently hosted the Meeting Professionals International New England Chapter’s Board Retreat (largest meeting organization in the world). We did not have a corporate event during the reviewer’ stay so I am unaware the specifics that would relate as “poorly equipped”.

Dining – We have two full-service restaurants on-site, not one as the reviewer mentioned. We do recommend reservations in our fine dining restaurant and certainly try to accommodate the guest’s needs. After reviewing the comments, I spoke to the manager of the restaurant who informed me that all window tables were taken at their dining time. Our staff tries very hard to estimate dining times; however, on occasion the timing isn’t in our favor. The manager offered several tables to the couple and they decided on a table in a section away from some families. The table was one row away from our incredible sunset view, however, not along the windows. Service on that Saturday evening was admittedly slower than our usual pace and our apologies for that as we pride ourselves on providing timely and excellent service at all times (even a busy Saturday evening). As the reviewer correctly stated, the signed check was misplaced by our server and provided an awkward moment a
t check-out, due completely to our error the previous night.

Room – The guest stayed in our Main Lodge, in our original building and booked four days prior to arrival and was given the best room available. There is a view of the pond as well as the harbor and the reviewer may have been happier with our newer accommodations. In the past three years we have spent four million dollars on the construction of three new lodging buildings with more of the frills than that of our older accommodations. The Main Lodge, however, continues to be our most popular lodging option.

Breakfast – Due to guest comments from the previous season, we moved our popular breakfast buffet back to the Cornelius Room (the original dining room). As the reviewer noted, this is a larger room, and if not full, can be less than intimate. It does however, answer the guests requests from the past season in which they wanted a fast meal to get to the activities, pool, golf or boating. Overall, the guests this season have been happy with the change back to the “old” way; however, we recognize that some of our guests would prefer a smaller room and a la carte menu. We do offer eggs to order if the guest does not prefer the buffet.

Golf Course – the review stated that we have a “mediocre” golf course. Our records indicate that they played on our three-hole practice course, not our new, nine-hole course that was built in 2001. If they had played that, I’m certain they would have appreciated the design and condition of the course.

In closing, I always feel pained when we don’t please 100% of our guests. We certainly try hard to accommodate all special requests and are sorry that we didn’t provide this reviewer with a happy ending to his Maine vacation. Thank you again for providing comments – customer feedback is vital to our property as we continue to provide our guests with a “Pure Maine” experience!

Best regards,
Michael Lynch – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington, DE
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

This is like taking a step back in time! We had so much fun with our family here! We stayed in a cabin which was a great experience if you are not looking for luxury...The cabin was adorable, clean and just right for a family of four...We wanted to go camping somewhere in maine but the weather was horrible so this is the next best thing...The resort does offer newer deluxe rooms but we wanted a rustic getaway..Our kids were able to roam the property at will on their bikes without us having to worry about them..There were a lot of planned activities for the kids, an ice cream stand and a really great family arcade complete with bowling in a cabin built in the 1940's...We ran into several guests who said they have been bring their families here for years..The staff is great and friendly..The property is beautiful as well..The spa was great too! We would love to come back here sometime !

  • Liked — the overall feel of the resort
  • Disliked — it rained everyday
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2008

Stayed at the Resort over the Independence Day weekend and had an overall great experience. It was our first time there and we took full advantage of as many activities as we could in three days (spectacular weather certainly helped). Our rooms were in the newer buildings and either met or exceeded the demanding standards of late adolescent daughters. We had contact with perhaps 15-20 of the Resort staff and nearly every one was very helpful. The only issue that arose during our stay was our dining experiences. It seemed as if the less experienced wait staff is assigned to The Ledges and it showed in both the quality and speed of service. In the Pilot House, it seemed to be the number of wait staff and not their experience. Our waitress was covering at least 6 tables with over 30 diners and with no bus boys. The quality of the food was very good but it was, in great part, offset by the slowness of the service.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2008

I had the opportunity to be part of a group having a business retreat at Sebasco this past week. What an amazing spot.....a variety of accomodaions from quaint and cottagy to high end spa rooms. Comfortable and well appointed all around. The location is unique and breathtaking - and a GREAT get away from the day to day grind. The staff stands out as extremely friendly, attentive andtruly glad to have you there - almost like you are part of their family. And the food was top-notch. We were there for a weekend to get away and regroup as a team and Sebasco made it all possible for us. Kudos to them for an OUTSTANDING experience.

  • Liked — Overall comfortability of the Property and the FOOD!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sebasco Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sebasco Harbor Resort

Address: P.O. Box 75, 29 Kenyon Road, Sebasco Estates, ME 04565
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Sebasco Estates
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sebasco Estates
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sebasco Harbor Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among whispering pines on the rugged coast lies a retreat of quiet comfort and rejuvenation, where beauty and tradition abound. Tucked away on 550 acres on Maine's Midcoast, Sebasco Harbor Resort is an authentic Maine destination resort with breathtaking views and a wealth of activities the entire family can enjoy including golf, fishing, boating, swimming, hiking, scavenger hunts, pirate cruises, tennis, spa services and more. Experience Pure Maine, where memories last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Sebasco Harbor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebasco Harbor Hotel Sebasco Estates
Sebasco Harbor Estates
Sebasco Harbor Resort Sebasco Estates, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sebasco Harbor Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.