We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculately kept house with lovely rooms and the best breakfast I have encountered.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Gables

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston Spa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Four Gables
Save
You added Four Gables to your Saves list
Oaks Lane, Boston Spa, Wetherby LS23 6DS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Boston Spa B&B and Inns
Devon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Immaculately kept house with lovely rooms and the best breakfast I have encountered.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

I found the Four Gables on a google search. My wife and I were in Yorkshire for a family wedding and accompanied by our daughter and son and their partners. Booking was very straightforward.This lovely house in a pleasant small town was beautifully kept. We were greeted warmly with a cup of tea. The rooms were spacious and extremely comfortable and the breakfasts were superb with local produce and a daily special not to be missed. Our host and hostess have put a huge amount into their B&B and they can be very proud of their achievement. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Four Gables and would most certainly return there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    16
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
38
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

I stayed with 3 friends after a day at the Ayurvedic spa, the Four Gables was just perfect. We thoroughly enjoyed the home made cake, coffee and delicious breakfast. Our hosts made us very welcome and the gardens were just perfect for us to practice our Tai Chi. So much nicer than staying in a larger clinical hotel and so refreshing to find a lovely place with lovely people.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

Our family had a wonderful stay at Four Gables. This is a stunning Arts and Crafts style home with interesting features everywhere you look. Our rooms were large and quiet, very comfortable. The breakfasts were easily the best we had in the UK—everything fresh and local, elegantly served. Anne and David are great hosts. We even watched a World Cup match on the big screen!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

I recently spent 3 nights at Four Gables as I was working nearby. Looking at the other local options it seemed like a good choice based on fellow TripAdvisor reviews.

I can honestly say that on reflection I could not have stayed in a more pleasant environment. The house is beautiful and spotless. My room was inkeeping with the arts and crafts style of the house and whilst traditional in make-up featured all the mod cons I'd require (LCD TV with Freeview, DVD player, Ipod dock etc). The bathroom was cleaned daily and linens were freshened each time they were used.

I don't think breakfast needs much comment as other reviewers have already re-iterated time and time again - it's fabulous! I found myself breezing through the day full of energy and forgetting lunch all together twice! Try Annes 'Eggs Calfornia' - The ideal starter to
any day!

I'd also like to mention that having forgotten my old pyjamas they were promptly mailed back to me at Four Gables expense.... Now that's service!!

The only thing that baffles me is how I got away with £55 a night (inc Breakfast). I've paid three times this in other venues and had nothing like the level of service, breakfast or room quality.... Outstanding value for money from a venue that I will surely be a return visitor!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

I couldn't have wished for a better place to stay.
It was a warm welcome, my room was very comfortable and there was paid attention to many details such as nice dvd's ,good books, coffee/tea making facilities, bathroom necessaries etc.The breakfast was the best treat !
I can highly recommend "The Four Gables ".

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hottingham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

Very welcoming. Offered tea and cake upon arrival. Our room was warm and comfortable with nice decor and a wide selection of books on the shelves. Lovely breakfast every morning with a chance to natter with the other guests. Good selection of breakfast choices! Lovely quiet village. Felt well looked after. Easy to get to from bus station in Leeds centre.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

Four gables is a beautiful house a wealth of character and charm. Rooms were spacious and comfortable, if slightly chilly, and the breakfast was lovely. The road leading to the B&B is a bit of a challenge but worth the effort.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BostonSpaWetherby, Owner at Four Gables, responded to this review, March 26, 2010
We would like to clarify that these guests visited us during the worst winter weather in some 40 years.... normally our private lane, while unpaved, is very much passable. It is also worth mentioning that they were the first guests to stay in two rooms after we had been closed for 6 weeks - and the heating had gone out due to the dire weather (but we did provide space heaters in addition to the radiators, which were already cranking at full force by that time). Very sorry that it wasn't as good an experience as we try to provide for all of our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Gables

Address: Oaks Lane, Boston Spa, Wetherby LS23 6DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wetherby > Boston Spa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Boston Spa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FOUR GABLES is a Listed Arts and Craft home and is peacefully set, yet only 1 mile from the A1 and a 3 minute walk from Boston Spa with its shops, restaurants, pubs and riverside walks. The award winning gardens are ½ an acre with ample parking Gardens opened under the NGS 400 visitors this year. There are 3 double and one twin bedroom all are ensuite. One of the bedrooms is in a self contained cottage,pets are welcome in the cottage.Breakfast is a feature of your vist with homemade jams,fruit compote, daily specials and eggs from our own hens. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Gables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.