We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Kind of Homecoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Gables

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston Spa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Four Gables
Save
You added Four Gables to your Saves list
Oaks Lane, Boston Spa, Wetherby LS23 6DS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Boston Spa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pontypool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Kind of Homecoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Four Gables is an amazing house with which I have a family link. The house in the Arts & Crafts style, lovingly restored with everything from fireplace surrounds to wardrobes fitting perfectly with the style of the house. Very quiet night with just the church clock and occasional owls. The welcome cup of tea and cake were great, only surpassed by breakfast round the table. I can't recommend Four Gables, David & Anne highly enough. I'll be back and you will enjoy it too, I'm sure

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, Owner at Four Gables, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments.

Four Gables was built in 1900 for a Dr John Henry Whitham, his initials are over the front door.
We have been able to find detail of the previous 8 owners, we are the 9th. We have had 3 descendants of previous owners stay with us - (the advantage of a B&B) so only 5 more to go.

We look forward to seeing you again, I will forward as promised census details on the house.

Thank you

David & Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    18
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
42
14
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The Four Gables is an excellent B&B and Anne and David are very welcoming hosts.

My wife, 9 month old son and I stayed at the Four Gables for one night while visiting family in the area.

We were given the Elephant room (rooms are named after animals rather than numbers) which was very light, airy, well appointed (TV, DVD player, selection of up to date DVD’s, IPod docking station) and spacious despite our need for a cot. We had pre-booked the cot and Anne and David had kindly set this up prior to our arrival. The room, en-suite bathroom and bed were very comfortable and clean.

Anne and David were very welcoming and we were treated to a cafeteria and some of Anne’s exceptional home-made tea bread on arrival. This was a foretaste of what was to come at breakfast. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful with fruit from the garden and wide selection of Anne’s home-made jams.

We would definitely recommend the Four Gables and hope to be back one day. Next time without the 9 month old!

Located five minutes away from junction 45 of the A1M and approximately equidistant between York and Leeds and a 2 minute walk from the centre of charming Boston Spa, the Four Gables is very well positioned.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, Owner at Four Gables, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

For those reading the review, we offer all guests tea or coffee and a slice of Anne's homemade cake. This is usually served in the lounge where you can relax on the sofa which has feather and down cushions - very comfortable.

Thank you again and look forward to seeing you again.

David & Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I have stayed on business several times and it is always a pleasure to stay in these beautiful surroundings; Anne and David have thought of everything and the breakfast is delicious. If you are on business and want an evening meal there are several good places to eat and drink in Boston Spa, only a pleasant 5 minute walk away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, Manager at Four Gables, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We sometimes forget to point out the good eating options within walking distance. So briefly in the village we have 2 excellent restaurants - Thai & English / French, a fish & chip shop with small eating area plus 2 Chinese take-aways. If you fancy a 10 minute walk there are 2 pubs that do food.

On the garden side we are busy picking brambles 5 lbs. yesterday and the figs are starting to ripen, so you can expect to see them on the b'fast table - in a good year we get over 1,000 off a single tree.

Thank you

David & Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I went to stay at Four Gables and i spent time in 2 rooms the owners Anne and David are to be quite frank salt of the earth, their property has character and soul and is the perfect place to spend time in the Yorkshire Regions.

The rooms are exceptionally clean, homely and welcoming and could not be further from the coldness of a "hotel".

Anne and David show hospitality and kindness to all their guests and the grounds are sensational.

The choices of breakfast are endless and more than accommodating to anyone who stays with them

I would highly recommend a stay here !!

Room Tip: I stayed in 2 and both were lovely - the second floor was my favourite as the views were beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, Owner at Four Gables, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to see you again.
I am glad that you found Four Gables a restful place to stay and trust that you find the peace you were looking for

Kind regards

David & Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My sister and I had a 2 night stay at Four Gables, in order to attend a friend's wedding at nearby Hazelwood Castle. We arrived by 10.30pm and David and Anne were extremely calming, welcoming and friendly, just what was needed after motorway diversions, finishing late from work and doing 13 miles out of our way due to a slight disagreement with the Sat Nat.

My sister and I stayed in the bedroom with the whale/fish on the door, and it overlooked the garden at the front. The room was beautifully furnished with artworks, prints, tapestries and rugs, and the beds were the comfiest beds we have ever slept in. Our bedroom was clean, tidy, and the little touches that David and Anne have added, little things like flower arrangements, toiletries, trinkets and a full and varied bookshelf of books, make you forget it is a hotel. It feels like home.
Breakfast was delicious, fresh and quite obviously cooked with a passion for doing so. We opted for the full breakfast, as we would be eating quite late on at the wedding venue later. We had a choice of fruit juices and various jams for toast. Anne's homemade Strawberry Jam was extremely nice and again, little touches added that extra 'oooh wow' factor.
Overall, both my sister and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend to anyone visiting the area, either for a few days, or attending an event/wedding etc -you will most definitely not be disappointed! We would both love to stay at Four Gables again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, Owner at Four Gables, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Glad you both enjoyed your stay.

We are busy picking fruit - 23lbs of red currants &12 lbs. of gooseberries today so we should have plenty of jam & compote for when you return, which we hope you will do soon.

Thank you

David & Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I and our two friends booked in for 5 nights at Four Gables last Friday and we had a great stay. We were made very welcome by David and Anne, they have a lovely home and a beautiful garden, which we admired while sitting on the patio watching the sun go down. The breakfasts were quite special and the rooms were clean and welcoming, and we would definitely stay there again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, Owner at Four Gables, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We are glad you had a good time and enjoyed sitting out in the evening with you wine watching the sun setting. Hope to see you again - rasps are now coming on, redcurrants & figs looking good.

Thank you David & Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband and I had a brief stay at Four Gables the night before our friend's wedding at Woodhall last week. We had been driving for 5 hours when we arrived. It is such an alluring house, a place to pause, to ponder another era and lap up the beauty and serenity that ooze from its charm.
We didn't. We had to fly in drop our bags off and head to the pub for a pre-wedding supper. We crept back in, late. The bed in our room, (with the elephant on the door) was THE most comfortable, sumptuous bed I have ever slept in. The room just brought back so many memories of my early life and my grandmother's home. Even the old fashioned comfort of the bed was the same.
Breakfast was unsurpassable - nothing more to say.
We wish we'd stopped a while - make sure you do, you won't be disappointed.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, Owner at Four Gables, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again

Thank you

David & Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Gables

Address: Oaks Lane, Boston Spa, Wetherby LS23 6DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wetherby > Boston Spa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Boston Spa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FOUR GABLES is a Listed Arts and Craft home and is peacefully set, yet only 1 mile from the A1 and a 3 minute walk from Boston Spa with its shops, restaurants, pubs and riverside walks. The award winning gardens are ½ an acre with ample parking Gardens opened under the NGS 400 visitors this year. There are 3 double and one twin bedroom all are ensuite. One of the bedrooms is in a self contained cottage,pets are welcome in the cottage.Breakfast is a feature of your vist with homemade jams,fruit compote, daily specials and eggs from our own hens. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Gables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.