We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the luxury linens!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bait's Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bait's Motel to your Saves list
Bait's Motel
215 East Main Street, US Route 1, Searsport, ME 04974   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Searsport
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Loved the luxury linens!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

We wanted to experience some local color on our Maine vacation and the name made me giggle so I took a chance based on the positive reviews here. I'm SO glad I did! The room (including the bathroom) was immaculate. The hardwood floors and nice furniture were a unexpected plus in an economy motel but we were really surprised to discover high thread count sheets and luxury bath sheets! The bed was amazingly comfy too! Don't get me wrong; there is nothing fancy about this motel but it is squeaky clean and very comfortable and definitely a good value for the money!

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
4
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Needham, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

I wanted to stay here mainly for the great play on words and ended up having a beautiful room to stay in! Very clean and simple nice decor. The only drawback I could see is that you have to be there by 8 p.m. to check-in. I had a relaxing night there and would definitely stay there again. There is also a restaurant adjacent to the motel. I didn't eat there so can't give any comments on that.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
augusta
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Was in town for a weekend artshow and just wanted a nice clean room to unwind. The room was furnished with beautiful furniture, and a very comfortable bed. Loved the extra plush towels. They also have good taste in art. Noticed some of my work hanging in their restaurant. Despite being on a busy street, my room remained quiet.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook, Maine
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

We stayed in a deluxe King room which had a fridge and coffee maker, TV, and alarm clock. (The standard rooms do not have the fridge and coffeemaker and are a bit smaller.) All the rooms at this motel have been renovated. The one we were in was renovated three years ago and still looks great. The hardwood floors have been refinished and there were clean, decorative area rugs. The mattress and linens were excellent - pristine white and very luxurious and comfortable - comparable to a Marriott or other higher level property. The lighting was warm and more than adequate. The bathroom was smallish, but bright and clean with complimentary toiletries and plush towels. (I don't remember a hair dryer, but maybe there was one in the under-sink cabinet.) The A/C worked well. Keys are used, rather than key cards, and and the reception is at the restaurant next door. The location is right on the highway, but I didn't notice any road noise except in the morning right before we checked out. It's a very quiet area. If you want a clean, comfortable room, this is a great value. It is a basic motel, but the attention to detail in the rooms makes it a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

I just got home from a two night stay with friends at the Baits Motel. We were in Searsport for a wedding and booked a room at Baits because the hotel the rest of the wedding party was staying at was booked. We were bummed at first, but after calling around to various other motels in the area, the Baits had the cheapest rates, and so we settled on it, unsure of what to expect. What a pleasant surprise! When we arrived the staff was more than friendly and accomodating, and the room we booked was one of their 99$ suites, and couldnt have been more nicely decorated, spacious, and cute! It was way more than we had hoped for. We had a fridge, microwave, coffee, cocoa, two tv's, comfortable beds, enormous bathroom, plenty of towels, shampoo etc. My only regret is that we didnt get a chance to eat in the Anglers restaurant which is right next door literally, but it had to be great considering the parking lot was always pretty full, and the food smelled amazing! I would definitely recommend the Baits motel to anyone who is looking to save a buck while being ensured hospitality and comfort :) Thanks to the Baits Staff!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torrington ct.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2008

my mother and i stayed at the baits motel for 8 days. i have never met a nicer group of people. everyone is so kind and friendly. the rooms are fantastic and you always have everything you need, let me tell you the anglers restaurant is also owned by the same people. the meals are fantastic and very large portions. if anyone leaves the restaurant hungry something is wrong. my favorite person of all is the owners daughter amy she is a doll , so kind and friendly we havent met anyone quite like her. the stay was absolutely. fantastic. i cant wait to go back. thank you to everyone. sincerely jeffrey fieldsand mother lois fields from torrington ct.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — haveing to leave
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2007

A motel nearby recommended a stay here because of an overbooking situation. I understand some renovation has occurred in this motel recently, and there may be other rooms that have received attention, but the one occupied was awful. The bedspread was pilled and dirty, the door has glass panes and the curtain wasn't opaque. The bathroom was extremely small - no elbow room in the tin-like shower and the vinyl wasn't cut properly around the toilet base. There was a multi-outlet extension cord from the window unit to the plug. In short, this is nowhere you want be...

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bait's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bait's Motel

Address: 215 East Main Street, US Route 1, Searsport, ME 04974
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Searsport
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Searsport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Bait's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bait's Motel Searsport, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bait's Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.