We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quaint, laid back, and super friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yardarm Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Yardarm Motel to your Saves list
Yardarm Motel
172 East Main Street Route 1, Searsport, ME 04974   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Searsport
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“quaint, laid back, and super friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our family of three originally booked one night at the Yardarm Motel. My wife had stayed here with her family decades ago. The location was perfect for all the things we had planned to do on our trip that we extended our stay to three nights (before we arrived) After arriving, we enjoyed it so much that we extended our stay for three more nights. The owners are friendly and go out of their way to accomodate their guests needs. The beds are super comfortable (Important after a full day of hiking.) I highly recommend this hotel. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
NYC
Level Contributor
117 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Quaint, although a bit run down roadside inn. Clean and comfortable. Nice lounge chairs out front. Best part was the coffee and cereal bar for breakfast (surely a hit with the kids and a nice change from stale muffins). Price a little high, but its the high season. You can also walk to things on route 1.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. Clean, cozy room that was just what we needed to relax in for the night! Owners were very accommodating, leaving our room unlocked and with the lights on since we would be arriving late. Nice breakfast area with hot coffee and standard continental breakfast fare. Would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chickengeorge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngsville
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed here in July and it was wonderful and cozy. The room was clean, quiet, and very roomy. The window unit took a while to cool off the room, but it was a rare 90 degree day in Maine. The breakfast room was amazing. It had a lot of choices, great coffee, and it was a sunny room full of windows. Checking in was quick and easy and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Connecticut, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had a great time at this wonderful motel. The owners are very helpful, the rooms are very clean, the beds are very comfortable, and the continental breakfast in their sunroom every morning makes it a true bargain .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

we are a young couple and were looking for a place to stay on our trip up the maine coast. we stopped at a few other places and then the yardarm. the yardarm was perfect. vintage rooms equals character. very comfortable beds equaled a great night sleep. our room had flat screen tv, ac, big bright window, screen door perfect for fresh air. most important to me was the cleanliness. super clean, love that. all at a great rate. we enjoyed our stay thoroughly and highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nowaythisisridiculus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We originally planned on staying for 2 nights at the Yardarm. The excellent location, reasonable price and friendly owners made us decide to spend 2 extra nights. We received a generous discount for staying more than two days. The rooms are clean, the beds comfortable, and we loved the screen doors. It was nice to enjoy the fresh Maine air in the late afternoon/early evening. The owner was friendly, without being overbearing. We thought it was sweet that the owner came out on the morning that we were leaving to say goodbye to us. We felt like we were leaving an old friend. I will definitely be back. I have stayed in places that cost a whole lot more that don't compare to the Yardarm. If you want a room at a reasonable price that is clean and comfortable, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Searsport
4.1 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
3.7 mi away
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
3.7 mi away
Seascape Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Belfast Harbor Inn
Belfast Harbor Inn
#5 of 8 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Gull Motel
The Gull Motel
#6 of 8 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bait's Motel
Bait's Motel
#2 of 2 in Searsport
3.5 of 5 stars 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yardarm Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yardarm Motel

Address: 172 East Main Street Route 1, Searsport, ME 04974
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Searsport
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Searsport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Yardarm Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yardarm Motel Searsport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing