We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great B&B in the making” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captain A. V. Nickels Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Captain A. V. Nickels Inn to your Saves list
Captain A. V. Nickels Inn
127 East Main St., Searsport, ME 04974   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Searsport B&B and Inns
Sherman Oaks
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A great B&B in the making”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

I stayed for one night in this B&B. The couple who own this just bought the mansion last year and have been hard at work renovating it ever since. The downstairs has a number of beautiful public rooms including a restaurant and a tapas wine bar (which were closed the night I stayed there). About 2/3rds of the rooms were ready for guests. All have enormous antique beds and are well-furnished. I stayed in the Captain's suite which has the best bathroom in the place (shower and jacuzzi), a private entrance, private balcony looking out to the water, and a small kitchenette. The other rooms are absolutely gorgeous but the ones with private bathrooms have, in keeping with an old historic home, very small bathrooms with tiny stall showers. The shared hall bathroom was large and beautiful.

I was given a great glass of wine and a pretty impressive cheese and fruit plate on arrival.

They were building a porch outside the breakfast room that should make the lovely public spaces even better. Breakfast was HUGE and excellent: yogurt with berries & granola, eggs with bacon, then a french vanilla small souffle with maple syrup in the bottom.

There's another B&B starting up next door that has a pub making the area seem on the cusp of being quite convivial. This is an area geared for tourists with a lot to do and see.

The only reason I've given four stars instead of five was that I was staying in what still amounted to an on-going construction site, albeit one that feels very much on the road to being a spectacular and elegant B&B

Room Tip: The Captains Suite had the best view and the best bathroom but the other rooms were a bit better app...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Captain A. V. Nickels Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Friends, as the review "A great B&B in the making" says, we are finalizing our last 3 guest rooms and should be done by the first of July. The outside dining deck was completed in time for our beautiful weather and has been full the last few weekends. It has been a great journey and we appreciate all your comments and wishes for our success. Brenda Liston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    11
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
42
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

This was my first time staying at a Bed & Breakfast and I’'m a convert! Jim and Brenda Liston, owners and proprietors of The Captain Nickels Inn, introduced a high standard and raised my expectations for any B&B I’ll be staying at in the future. The rooms were lovely, the food was incredible and they were perfect hosts. I was in heaven with three-course breakfasts that started with wonderful creations such as berry yogurt crunch or peaches & cream and followed with sunny side-up eggs, fresh bacon and tomatoes, crème Brule French toast, drunken
berries apple pie, and vegetable quiche served with mimosas, tea, coffee and music that relaxes and prepares you for the day. After these kinds of meals to start the day, you don'’t need lunch! I also had one of the best lobster dinners at this Inn in my entire life. They are such great cooks! The beds are comfortable and tasteful details in each differently decorated sleeping room enhance the beauty of the entire Inn. The Inn is near the shore and the grounds
are lovely to wander around and take pictures. Or you can just relax and stay inside the house sipping wine with an interesting novel borrowed from their library. On the days I went sightseeing in nearby towns or cities, I looked forward to coming back to the Inn and relaxing with wine and a delicious assortment of wine, cheeses and fruit. This was one of the best vacations I'’ve ever had!

Room Tip: Request a room with an attached bath room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampden, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

This was a first visit for a new friend and myself we stayed in the Captains Suite to kick of the new year, it was excellant great atmosphere and Brenda and Mike are very gracious hosts and make you feel right at home. The breakfast was fabulous almost to pretty to eat. The Inn itself is beautiful and each room is special, every one should treat themself to this special place and go for dinner often. I cant wait ot return. Kris

Room Tip: The Captains suite is the awesome! Lots of room, big balcony, big tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searsport, Maine
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

My family and some dear friends were visiting from Ohio and I wanted a very special place to take them for dinner. Brenda and Mike have the magic touch when it comes to making people feel pampered and special. The food was delicious, beautifully presented, everything was impeccable. Brenda and Mike have done an amazing job restoring the A.V. Nickels Inn to its former glory. It has to be experienced!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickelsinnkeeper, Owner at Captain A. V. Nickels Inn, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
To all our guests who've made comments on Trip Advisor since we opened this year,
Thanks to each of you for the wonderful support you've given Mike and me as we launched our concept for the Captain A.V. Nickels Inn. Your generous comments on Trip Advisor and wonderful conversations while you were our guests have been much appreciated. We've met such wonderful, interesting people (all of you). Our commitment to this wonderful way of life has increased with getting to know each of you. Thanks so much! Hope your Holidays have been lovely. Brenda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

We were staying at Elm Cottage and went to the Inn for dinner. Our whole party enjoyed the food, service and surroundings! The restoration on this property is amazing and we were treated to a guided tour of the first floor reception rooms by the proprietor. I can't wait to return.

Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallsville, Texas
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed at this magnificant inn on Oct. 11 & 12, 2011. Upon arrival we received a grand tour of the mansion and enjoyed taking a delicious picnic of wine, cheeses, figs, grapes, strawberries, etc. to the end of the property at the bay inlet. We chose to stay in Port of Call Paris. The room was furnished in wonderful antiques and decorated with great detail. The bed was fantastic, the spa amenities were perfect. The 3 course breakfast was the best we have ever enjoyed with each course served by either Mike or Brenda while lovely music completed the experience; and this was just breakfast!! Their restaurant opened the evening we had to leave; I'm sure the food, service and atmosphere is equally exceptional. Can't wait for our next Maine adventure to bring us back for a visit with these gracious inn keepers.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011 via mobile

This is an amazing place, owned and operated by an amazing couple, Brenda and Mike Liston, who have taken this grand, old property to a new height of elegant hospitality. We were warmly greeted upon arrival, shown to our rooms and presented with a glass of wine and a delicious cheese platter.

Brenda and Mike had just opened their restaurant a few days before we arrived, and what a treat it was! One culinary delight after another was served by talented staff in the remarkable ballroom. If you have the pleasure of staying at this inn, you MUST have dinner here as well - not to be missed.

Each bedroom is uniquely decorated and appointed with gorgeous antiques. We stayed in the suite and a friend chose the Dublin room. Both were perfect, and the suite had the added attraction of a large porch looking out to the ocean and beyond.

All of the common areas of the inn are equally well appointed with Brenda and Mike's collection of antiques from around the globe. One room flows into the next with comfortable seating, fireplaces, perfect lighting and fine art.

The complimentary breakfast was as amazing as dinner - course after course of deliciousness!

If you are traveling to or through the area, this is THE place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Captain A. V. Nickels Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain A. V. Nickels Inn

Address: 127 East Main St., Searsport, ME 04974
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Searsport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Searsport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Captain A.V. Nickels Inn offers luxury accommodations in an historic setting. The Inn, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, was built in 1874 by Captain Nickels as a gift to his bride. It is a breathtaking building sitting on 3 meandering acres directly on the island-studded Penobscot Bay about halfway between the beautiful towns of Camden and Bar Harbor. The Inn is often cited as one of the most photographed inns on the Maine coast and "creates a memory" for each guest who is treated to a level of luxury and attention to detail usually only seen in exclusive small hotels or inns in Europe. All rooms are furnished with European and American antiques, art, china and decorative touches creating the sophisticated air of a fine country home. Roaring fires on cool evenings, wicker on the lovely front porch, and lawn furniture by the water adds ambiance that invites guests to relax a while and enjoy the beautiful views from expansive windows or from the large decks overlooking the property. Two restaurants on site serve guests well by offering a large selection of locally sourced food (some grown right in our own gardens) expertly prepared by our chef. The bar is well stocked with a large selection of wines and our bartender is always ready to mix our signature cocktails. Common areas include two sitting rooms, a library, a lounge, a dining room, a breakfast conservatory, a ballroom, and a loggia with views to the Bay. Evening wine and cheese is served to all guests. After having slept in spacious suites beautifully furnished with antiques and sumptuous beds, overnight guests awake to the site of the sunrise across the bay and will enjoy a gourmet mimosa breakfast in the Inn's sunlit breakfast conservatory. The murmur of waves from the Bay and wonderful sea air enhance the restful atmosphere. All rooms have private baths, flat screen TVs, wireless internet capabilities, coffee/tea service, and luxurious bath amenities. Some have electric fire places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Captain A. V. Nickels Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain a. v. Nickels Hotel Searsport
Captain A. V. Nickels Inn Searsport, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain A. V. Nickels Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.