We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot and well run!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Searsport Shores Oceanfront Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Searsport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Searsport Shores Oceanfront Campground
Rt. 1, 216 West Main St., Searsport, ME   |  
Hotel amenities
Lyme, Connecticut
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot and well run!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We are new to the RV world and Searsport Shores has made it to our top 10 list. We will most definitely be returning. The campground is very well run - very clean - and Steve and Astrig are very welcoming.

If you can book an ocean front space - you will be a "happy camper" even second row in is great! Kids loved biking around and the playground was wonderful. Goats were a big hit - and our dog had several great playdates in the dog park!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    6
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
29
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Searsport Shores Campground is lovely to stay at for the views ....but one of the owners, Steve (Ostrig was very courteous) runs the grounds like a military camp.....NO loud noises, even earlier in the evening. No loud door slams, if you bring your pet they better not bark, & children had better keep their voices down. So if you have a special needs child you would be better to find another campground ...we will not be back!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Our quest to find that "special place" that we would want to return to year after year has been found. After 19 hours of driving we were greeted by smiling friendly faces who without hesitation placed us on a site so our R&R could begin. We were pleased with our choice of searsport shores . It was our first trip to Maine and could not of left us with better memories thanks to our hosts Astrig and Steve. We were so impressed with how things were managed at this park, the organization and cleanliness was outstanding. Their knowledge of the area made for an adventure every day thanks steve , your suggestions for our outings were right on the mark for what we were hoping to acheive for our "Maine" experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

On the surface one might think this campground is overpriced (no cable or sewer). After about 12 hours one realizes these are unnecessary amenities in comparison to the relaxing environment and concern the owners and staff have for each and every campers comfort and happiness. There is a feeling here we have never experienced in all of our years of camping. This is a relaxing haven on our list for many a return trip. Thank you Astrid and Steve

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

We travel quite frequently to campgrounds and RV parks and found this park to be very well kept and quite beautiful but very, very overpriced for what you get. The premium RV sites have water and 30 amp only with a free honey wagon that you can set up but it has to be done the night before for service the next day. Kind of a pain but atleast it's free. I can also tell you I was not happy they didn't offer cable service. I read a lot of reviews on here with other people complaining about the same thing. When you travel in a large RV you want all the amenities of home and I know we look forward to watching tv in the evenings. We were sadly disappointed we couldn't even get an antenna signal. I know some of this may sound petty but when you pay $77+ per night there are certain things you expect. No 50 amp service for this price is a sin in my opinion.

When booking we asked about the pet policy as we typically travel with our 3 dogs ( a lab and 2 papillons). We have never in 5+ years of traveling been told we couldn't bring all our dogs. Occasionally we are charged extra ( which we gladly pay in order to have all our dogs with us) however we were told there is a very strict 2 dog limit at this park. We had a lengthy conversation about this at booking and ultimately decided to leave our third dog home. This wouldn't have been so bad if it weren't for 2 things:
1: at check in we were told the dogs are not to be left unattended in the motorhome at any time ( whether you are in the park or out). This meant we had to board our dogs for the day while we went sightseeing. We were not told this at booking and when I mentioned this the respond was " it's on the confirmation email we sent you, down on the bottom". This was never mentioned during our lengthy conversation regarding the dogs at booking.
2: we saw a couple while we were here walking their 3 dogs. We confirmed with them that all 3 were theirs and were quite annoyed that we had left our dog home because of the rules that obviously were not enforced in this case.

Lastly,and probably the most disturbing... The playground is very nice however situated next to a large mound that has retaining walls with constant "water" drainage coming from it. Based on my knowledge it looked awfully similar to a leach field. We weren't the only ones who made this connection either. Other campers thought the same thing. Not too thrilled with my daughter running around on a muddy waste field.
This place has so much potential if they would just add a few more amenities to their premium sites and cut back on some of their unnecessary rules. There are too many and are mostly common sense. People who have common sense are insulted by the number and wording of them and those without it won't follow the rules anyway.




  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Searsport Shores perfectly represents the beauty of Maine and its residents in a perfect location. We took the opportunity to explore Maine to the north and south of the campground, but would have also been completely content to stay and enjoy its amenities. The atmosphere is quiet, simple, laid back and scenic. We saw many families enjoying bike rides through the campground or activities in the outdoor playground. Some took advantage of the artist-in-residence program (art is valued and seen throughout the park in a variety of forms.) Kayaking and clamming also seemed popular, as did just walking on the beach. The Saturday lobster feast put the final special touch on our trip as we enjoyed meeting and talking with other campers.

The best spots in the campground are oceanfront, but wooded sites are also available. We stayed in a motor home and had a site between the woods and the ocean and still had a lovely view. The facilities are well kept, and as it should be, campers are expected to do their share in keeping the facilities nice for all. We try to visit different places in the country each year, but this one we would definitely return to in the future.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed here for five nights in our motor home. It was our first trip to Maine and it couldn't have been better. Astrig and Steve go above and beyond to help make your visit special. They are always around and willing to help any way they can.

If you're looking for a place to hook up to cable TV or dial up your satellite dish this isn't the one. If you want a quiet, well maintained, ocean side camping experience this is it.

The lobster dinner was excellent. We got to meet several other campers and experience a real Maine on the beach lobster feast.

Astrig always had tips on places to visit that are really cool but not in every tour book. She sent us to several local restaurants and all were reasonably priced with very good food.

The beach comes and goes with the tide but there are chairs on the sea wall for relaxing and watching it come and go.

There are lots of things to do at the campground from the kids playground to the artist in residence program. You can even just grab a coffee at the office and sit in a chair on the porch and watch the activities around you.

We read some of the 'other' reviews and after staying here can't imagine having a bad experience. Astrig & Steve simply would do whatever needed to be done to make it right. We are looking forward to our next visit to Searsport and will be sure to stay here again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Searsport Shores Oceanfront Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Searsport Shores Oceanfront Campground

Address: Rt. 1, 216 West Main St., Searsport, ME
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Searsport
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Searsport
Also Known As:
Searsport Shores Oceanfront Campground Hotel Searsport
Searsport Shores Oceanfront Campground Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Searsport Shores Oceanfront Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Searsport Shores Oceanfront Campground to your Saves list