We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great campground on the Maine Coast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Searsport Shores Oceanfront Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Searsport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Searsport Shores Oceanfront Campground
Save
You added Searsport Shores Oceanfront Campground to your Saves list
Rt. 1, 216 West Main St., Searsport, ME 04974   |  
Hotel amenities
Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great campground on the Maine Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed here for five nights in our motor home. It was our first trip to Maine and it couldn't have been better. Astrig and Steve go above and beyond to help make your visit special. They are always around and willing to help any way they can.

If you're looking for a place to hook up to cable TV or dial up your satellite dish this isn't the one. If you want a quiet, well maintained, ocean side camping experience this is it.

The lobster dinner was excellent. We got to meet several other campers and experience a real Maine on the beach lobster feast.

Astrig always had tips on places to visit that are really cool but not in every tour book. She sent us to several local restaurants and all were reasonably priced with very good food.

The beach comes and goes with the tide but there are chairs on the sea wall for relaxing and watching it come and go.

There are lots of things to do at the campground from the kids playground to the artist in residence program. You can even just grab a coffee at the office and sit in a chair on the porch and watch the activities around you.

We read some of the 'other' reviews and after staying here can't imagine having a bad experience. Astrig & Steve simply would do whatever needed to be done to make it right. We are looking forward to our next visit to Searsport and will be sure to stay here again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    10
    6
    6
    3
See reviews for
34
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I stopped in here 13 years ago and have been coming here every year. The staff is always willing to help and the owners go out of there way to make sure you enjoy your stay. The Kayaking is excellent and so is the view of the Ocean. Every Saturday night they have a Lobster/ Clam Bake. It is to die for. You are on the ocean with all the trimmings and home made Desert. I look forward to it every year and the price is very reasonable for all the great food you get.

If I had more time I would spend a month here. Looking forward to coming here for many more years.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

2012 started just like last year ended....perfect. Just a amazing view and listening to the waves makes it very relaxing..12 hours of driving is so worth it. The new kids play area is awesome as my 6 yr old said.
The number 1 spot again on our list of 50 campgrounds we have been to from maine to PEI.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We had a great site with a view of the ocean. We had problems with our pop up trailer and Steve, Astrig, and a maintenance fellow went out of their way to help. The place is artsy, clean, and wide open. The bathroom was clean and they encourage you to clean up after yourself for the next person which I appreciated and didn't mind doing. The Lobster Clam Bake was a very steep price compared to others. You can eat out for cheaper. Nice access to the ocean. I did not feel the site were small as previously reported by others perhaps the RV was too big for this location. Infact on our arrival we were given a choice of sites which were open.

Room Tip: Sites one and two are the best the ones along the ocean puts nothing between you and your neighbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vassalboro, Maine
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Me and my family went to Searsport shores campground the weekend of July 13th -15th. After we got a listing of the 20 plus rules and regulations we were told to have a good time ..lol after that i found out why they have valet parking -wich was an old man on a golf cart. The space was so tight he had one person on the other side of us move his vehicle although two more would needed moving while backing up i was trying to avoid hitting a vehicle that should have been moved or not parked there at all and getting yelled at by the old man in back because i was not cutting it hard enough. Once that frustration was done the only ocean view i had was looking at the camper in front of me. The next day wich was 95 and humid i went to take our trash to the dumpster it was all the way by the entrance.Being on the ocean is the only benefit to this place . sites are too small -all about the money

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We had planned to stay for 2 weeks, but we were having such a good time, we stayed another week. Our 1st location overlooked the stream that runs down to Penobscot Bay. I wished I was a painter, but photos will have to suffice. The 3rd week we had to move to another location right on the waterside, since someone else has reserved our spot. We have enjoyed meeting friendly people and having good conversation and exchanging emails & photos. This location is a good one for taking day trips. We have enjoyed driving down to Rockland, Boothbay, Camden, and up to Acadia National Park as well as several scenic state parks nearby. The owners here, Astrid and Steve, are kind, thoughtful and hardworking. We certainly hope to come back here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is a nice campground with a 4-H camp feel about it. There are crafts, a recreation/lounging room, a small beach and group lobster dinners offered. Moose Point State Park, a day park with trails and ocean, is just one mile down the road.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Searsport Shores Oceanfront Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Searsport Shores Oceanfront Campground

Address: Rt. 1, 216 West Main St., Searsport, ME 04974
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Searsport
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Searsport
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Searsport Shores Oceanfront Campground is our home, passion and livelihood. We enjoy 40 acres of ocean gardens with 1/4 mile private beach. There are 125 sites...Some just for huge RVs, others for backpacking tents and most for else...Lobsters too. The campground also offers another 120 acres of wooded area with trails for hiking or mountain biking. Fishing and kayaking are also available from the campground. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Searsport Shores Oceanfront Campground Hotel Searsport
Searsport Shores Oceanfront Campground Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Searsport Shores Oceanfront Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.