We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth a stop, but try to avoid the crowds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jordan Pond House

Jordan Pond House
2928 Park Loop Road, Acadia National Park, Seal Harbor, ME 04605
+1 207-276-3316
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a stop, but try to avoid the crowds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We went here just after peak foliage season, but it was still pretty crowded around noon. The popovers, soups, and warm wood fireplaces really hit the spot though, and we wound up going back again before we left.

If you don't mind eating an early lunch, that might be the best time to go. We often went later (12.45 to 1ish) and it was only just starting to thin out.

I can imagine it's quite pleasant in the summer if you are able to sit outside as well.

As for parking, just go to the north lot if there is nothing next to the restaurant! I can't understand why people circle that lot endlessly in order to avoid walking a little bit through a beautiful national park...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    590
    385
    153
    80
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville Beach, Florida, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“world famous popovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

After a glorious hike, this is the perfect place to linger over a delicious lunch, before heading back out to the wonderous Acadia Nat'l Park. Those wonderful popovers gave me the strength to hike on Cadillac Mountain. The while experience is not to be missed when visiting Mt. Desert Island.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great popovers, but otherwise average-except for the Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We made reservations and it did help on a busy fall Sunday-- seated within 10 minuites. The view from our table outside was great and so were the popovers, but the rest of the food was only a little above average and to me a little expensive. Still it's worth the trip at least once.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east coast
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Perfect for what it is...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is a great stop after a moderate hike. It is a must visit for any first-timers to Acadia National Park. The best bet is between lunch and dinner, when the crowds tend to be a little less busy. The meal to get: lobster chowder (best ever) with pop-overs. You can get more "typical" restaurant fare, but these are the two items that are not to be missed. If the weather is good and you can sit outside and enjoy the view even better.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Spectacular views, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

How can you not love this place? The setting is great (lucky for us we arrived a day after the government shutdown ended), the food is always very good, and the servers are great. Only a limited menu (popovers and soup or salad) was served on our latest visit, but the popovers were amazing as usual, and the pumpkin crab bisque was wonderful!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jordan Pond House also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Jordan Pond House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jordan Pond House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.