We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Popovers to die for!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jordan Pond House

Jordan Pond House
2928 Park Loop Road, Acadia National Park, Seal Harbor, ME 04605
+1 207-276-3316
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Popovers to die for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Friend suggested we try it, almost missed the opportunity, but soooo glad we did. Great food, popovers and the blueberry crisp dessert was so big, two with hearty appetites couldn't finish it. Wish we could have taken it "to go".

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    596
    388
    154
    81
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gorham, Maine
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Lives up to its reputation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Have been to Acadia dozens of times but this was the first time we ate at Jordan Pond. Can't say enough about the delectable popovers, served with almost every meal. We had 8 in our party and no one was disappointed with their meals. Sit outside if the weather allows, the view of Jordan Pond is beautiful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our party of two had lunch here today. We chose to dine inside. Service was great. The popovers were delicious. We both ordered the lobster quiche. I might have given this a five-star rating, except that the quiche was slightly undercooked. The crust was doughy, and the quiche was mushy. Just a tad longer, and they would have gotten it right. There was plenty of delicious lobster meat inside that quiche, though. The balsamic vinaigrette on the accompanying salad needed a little more balsamic vinegar (it was mostly olive oil), but it was good nonetheless. They have a very nice wine list. All in all, it was an enjoyable lunch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A Must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Sit outside in nice weather. Reservations a must or you'll wait forever. The popovers and jam are fantastic. The lobster rolls meaty. The blueberry cobbler with ice cream great. And the views outside incredible.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Definitely a must”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Yes, it's busy and a little overpriced. But the atmosphere and view is great! Definitely go on a nice day and eat outside on the lawn. You sit at little wooden tables with a great view of the pond. We stopped here spontaneously one afternoon and had to wait 25 minutes to be seated. If you know you're coming for a meal, definitely make a reservation! I thought the whole experience was worth the 25 minute wait though. We had excellent service. A bee flew into my ice chai and the waitress replaced it immediately. The popovers are good and most of the lunch meals come with one. I would definitely go again, even just for tea and a popover on the lawn.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jordan Pond House also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Jordan Pond House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jordan Pond House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.